Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews

  • Comments: ↓ 54 user comments
  • Publish Date: September 13, 2010

What it is

ImageBungie goes out with a bang

The latest title in Microsoft's ongoing series of (mostly) first-person shooters, Halo: Reach 93 serves as a prequel to the events depicted in the original Halo game. Reach is also the last Halo game to be developed by Bungie, the studio that created the series.

Set in the human planetary colony of Reach during the year 2552 (just weeks before the first Halo takes place), the new game centers on an elite fighting force known as Noble Squad, of which you are a new member. You and your fellow Spartans must try to save the colony by fighting off an assault by the evil Covenant. As you might expect, things don't end well.

While Reach was easily one of the most-anticipated 2010 titles for the 360, early reviews indicate that the game appears to be living up to even the highest expectations; to put it simply, most reviewers love the game. Let's take a closer look at what critics are saying about the latest Halo installment.

How it compares

Where it ranks

The overwhelmingly positive early reviews for Reach place it near the top of all Xbox 360 titles released so far this year, though the new game is only the fourth best-reviewed release in the Halo series. However, Reach is receiving far better reviews than last year's pair of minor Halo titles.

Comparison of All Halo Releases (Microsoft Platforms Only)
  Title Year Platform Metascore User Score
1 Halo 2001 Xbox 97 8.1
2 Halo 2 2004 Xbox 95 7.9
3 Halo 3 2006 360 94 7.6
4 Halo: Reach 2010 360 93 tbd
5 Halo 3: ODST 2009 360 83 7.2
6 Halo Wars 2009 360 82 7.4
2010's Best-Reviewed Xbox 360 Releases (Through Sept. 13)
  Title Publisher Metascore User Score
1 Mass Effect 2 Electronic Arts 96 9.0
2 Red Dead Redemption Rockstar Games 95 8.9
3 Halo: Reach Microsoft 93 tbd
t.4 Super Street Fighter IV Capcom 91 7.8
t.4 NHL 11 Electronic Arts 91 8.8
t.6 Bayonetta Sega 90 7.7
t.6 LIMBO PLAYDEAD 90 8.7
8 Plants vs. Zombies PopCap 89 8.9
t.9 BioShock 2 2K Games 88 8.4
t.9 Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Electronic Arts 88 8.8

Differences and similarities

While the game is certainly similar to past Halo titles (perhaps too similar in places for some critics' tastes), there are some relatively minor changes, including:

  • No dual-wielding of weapons
  • Elimination of single-use Equipment power-ups
  • Players may now obtain special armor-based upgrades, such as jet-packs, hologram-generated decoys, and sprinting capabilities
  • Players may also customize their appearance by earning credits as they play

Reach also includes an improved version of the Forge level editor that was introduced in Halo 3. Of course, this being a prequel, one thing that the new game lacks is Master Chief, the protagonist of the three major games in the series. Not only must you play as a new, nameless soldier, you must fight as part of a larger team of six; in fact, you're never alone during the campaign, as you always have at least one fellow Noble Squad member at your side.

Of course, the change that has most people excited is that during one (too short) sequence, you'll be fighting in outer space, rather than on the planet -- a first for the Halo series.

How it advances the story

Most reviewers feel that Reach does a much better job with storytelling than its predecessors in the series.

"There's more dialogue, cutscenes and story presented than in previous titles, and Reach easily has the most character development ever seen in a Halo title -- to the point that I grew attachments to the characters and genuinely felt sad at a number of events that happened over the course of the campaign."

--Destructoid

"The Halo trilogy's story has been impeded by both inconsistency (a curious mix of either over-explaining or obfuscating dialogue), and by becoming a fan-only affair overflowing with series technobabble a la Star Trek. Reach rectifies this 'inside baseball' feel by telling a broader, more accessible story that doesn't require knowing tons of Halo terminology beforehand."

--1Up

1Up, however, also finds that having too many characters means that "doesn't leave much time for character development or interaction."

Some critics are also impressed that the game manages to pack in a lot of tension and suspense in spite of the fact that players enter the game knowing exactly how it will end.

"It’s a great surprise that a game with a not-so-secret ending manages to unspool the greatest Halo yarn yet. Despite going in knowing Reach will end with humanity on the brink of extinction, the game still consistently nudges players to the edge of their seats. This is due in no small part to a much more emotional, human-driven story than we’ve ever seen unfold in the series."

--GamePro

Yet other reviewers find the emotional aspect of the game lacking.

"All the characters in Halo: Reach are one-note Johnnies, all swagger and no depth. That’s always been the problem with the Halo games: There’s no soul beneath the helmets."

--Wired

"Unlike Halo 3: ODST, which focused heavily on character development and gave us team members with distinct personalities and motivations, here in Reach, there is very little reason to care about any of the team members. Even in death, it is difficult to care about the virtual characters on-screen. Though the game hints at some depth to the personalities, it is never revealed in-game, and that's a shame."

--Worth Playing

How it plays

Campaign mode

Though the single-player campaign (which can also be played cooperatively by up to four people) is relatively short (about 8-10 hours of gameplay), it may be Halo's best campaign yet, and it seems grand in scale. Familiarity with past games in the series is also not a prerequisite; newbies should be able to jump right in and enjoy Reach.

"Though past Halo games were filled with repetitive landscapes and circuitous, difficult to follow plots, Halo: Reach does not suffer from these problems."

--IGN

"When I look through the Reach mission list, I don't immediately groan on any of the mission names. Instead, I remember highlights both epic and amusing."

--1Up

"The Campaign is easily the series' best. ... Where the campaign does fall short is in its effort to portray ambient life on Planet Reach."

--Joystiq

"Reach’s cinematic pacing ... mak[es] you feel as though you're experiencing a true epic rather than a smaller scale ODST-style spin-off."

--GamePro

But not every reviewer found Reach's campaign to be superior to those of prior Halo titles.

"You can't escape the feeling that Reach is a sequel to ODST and not a prequel to Halo. ... Again, the story has a single, fan-servicing connection to the previous Halo trilogy and, again, everything until that point is spinoff – exciting yet ultimately non-essential to the larger saga. Again, you will miss Master Chief. ... If you're in search of an amazing single player adventure this fall, and don't plan to spend that much time competing online, then you'll probably be somewhat disappointed with Halo: Reach."

--Games Radar

"The single-player campaign feels like a rehash of old ideas rather than an exploration of something new."

--Worth Playing

Nearly every critic agrees, however, that the combat -- including "some of the most breathtaking battles in series history" in the words of GamePro -- is the high point of the new game.

"Reach distils what made Halo such a trailblazer in the first place: the combat is extraordinarily good fun. ... It's exciting, emergent stuff, fuelled by the decisions you make over your tactics."

--Telegraph

However, combat is a bit too familiar for some reviewers.

"The combat is very similar to previous Halo games, and I feel like the last level or two drag a bit when compared to the rest of the game."

--Giant Bomb

Reach is also very, very challenging. Many reviewers are finding that the game's improved AI makes for a much tougher opponent this time around.

"This game is tough. I can usually beat a Halo game at the very least on Heroic difficulty, but I found myself struggling to get through just the first major firefight."

--Game Revolution

"The AI is fierce, vicious and no longer a pushover. And no, playing four-player co-op won't help you out in Legendary, either; the game will scale difficulty based on how many people are playing. "

--Destructoid

"While I died frequently during the campaign, I was usually frustrated more with myself than the game; it reminds me of Demon's Souls of all things, in how pure player skill is usually the cause of death rather than cheapness in the game. "

--1Up

"The AI continues to astound; it may not always be believable, but it's never predictable, and it keeps you on your toes more effectively than any script could."

--Eurogamer

The latter publication, however, does have a complaint about the game's enemies, noting that "the Covenant armoury has become an unfocused, over-developed mess." Worth Playing also feels that "the game cheats with ammo" by unfairly giving your opponents more than it gives you; that publication is also one of the few to actually complain about Reach's AI:

"Reach suffers from some pretty poor AI, both on the Covenant side and on the UNSC side. Your teammates will often make some inexplicable moves during combat."

--Worth Playing

Multiplayer modes

Unsurprisingly, it is with multiplayer modes that Halo: Reach really shines. There are new multiplayer modes and new maps, and many of your favorite modes return from previous versions, with so much customization available that the game becomes, in the words of GamePro, "one of the best deals since Wendy's Dollar Menu."

"All told, the multiplayer suite is one of the best ever."

--IGN

"Reach’s online component is, frankly, an embarrassment of riches, putting even the biggest and best shooters out there to shame. ... It has resisted the temptation to include Modern Warfare-style player progression, instead relying on fun, balance and skill."

--Telegraph

"Halo: Reach lives or dies by its team battles and free-for-alls. Not surprisingly, they’re still awesome."

--Wired

The best part of multiplayer? The Firefight mode first introduced in ODST but greatly improved here.

"One of my favorite things about Reach is all the customization offered by Firefight. You can't change the environment with Forge in Firefight, but you can tweak every single setting. The first thing I did in Firefight was change the settings so that I moved super-fast, turned down the gravity all the way, and used just a Gravity Hammer against nothing but Grunts. Your custom games can be shared with others and now that there's matchmaking, Firefight is going to get so much more playtime than it did in ODST."

--Destructoid

The new "Armor Abilities" are also a welcome addition to multiplayer.

"The jetpack is the most exhilarating addition to Halo multiplayer since the man cannon, lifting you off the ground and enabling you to not only snipe (or be sniped) from hundreds of feet in the air, but also to reach useful, hard-to-find areas and weapons."

--Games Radar

Bungie will also create and post (via Xbox Live) daily and weekly challenges, giving players even more reason to return to the game again and again and demonstrate their skills.

How it looks and sounds

The game's new engine seems to be a hit with critics, who have nothing but praise for the way the game looks (aside from some minor complaints about frame rates).

"[The] eye-popping presentation ... brings a new expansiveness to the Halo universe. Sweeping vistas, waterfall-dotted cliff faces, and battlefields whose combatants look like specs from afar, continually remind you of Reach’s ambitious scope."

--GamePro

"Reach might give away some frame rate here and texture detail there to more scripted rivals, but it is a stunning-looking game, with a huge tonal range and a a great eye for dramatic staging."

--Eurogamer

IGN calls the game "gorgeous" while also finding it a delight to listen to:

"Marty O'Donnell, the lead sound guy at Bungie, has once again delivered an epic soundtrack that is so good that it elevates the entire game."

--IGN

The vocal cast, which includes a cameo from Nathan Fillion, also shines.

"Noble Team is especially full of quality voice actors."

--Giant Bomb

Final comments

"Bungie has managed to do something that eluded George Lucas years ago: create a prequel to a beloved sci-fi series that not only simply works, but is at times better than the installments it precedes."

--1Up

"This is Halo’s Greatest Hits. A blistering, breathless crescendo to a decade’s worth of work. "

--Telegraph

"The best Halo entry yet."

--GamePro

"Halo: Reach is everything a Halo fan has ever dreamed for. All that was lacking from previous Halo games is here and then some. This is Bungie's love letter to their fans and they've definitely gone out with a bang."

--Destructoid

"Even if you've grown tired of the Halo formula through the years, I'd still recommend this game to you. It's just that good."

--IGN

"What [Reach] doesn't do is redefine single-player like Halo did, multiplayer like Halo 2 did, or the network game like Halo 3 did. To be fair, it doesn't need to; that work is already done. That it can't stir or excite in the same way as those games, try as it might - and boy, does it try - is a bigger and more perplexing disappointment, but still small beer next to its accomplishments."

--Eurogamer

What do you think?

What do you think of Halo: Reach, and how do you think it compares to previous Halo titles and to other Xbox 360 games released this year? Let us know in the discussion section below.

We're sorry, but comments are closed for this article.

Comments (54)

  • Harris  

    halo reach is a good game the campaign could have been longer but the worst thing is the multiplayer maps, halo 3 maps were so much better i would choose high ground over zealot anyday

  • Greg  

    I'm a big fan of the Halo Series, so I'm glad they made a game at all. Still, when I look at the series and how slow they manage intelligent upgrades/aspects of the game... My friends and I (who are game designers) are always thinking why they leave so much stuff unfinished. Cause with a little more thought or research, they could have made H2, H3, ODST & REACH a lot better. I got a 3 page list of things that could have been better, just by playing it a lot, things keep popping up that seem logical to NOT have in the game and things that should be added...

    It is this list and the constant feeling that it could be a hell of a lot better, which makes me hope for some intelligent work on Halo 4. I hope they go done all the forums, all of the posts, all of the ratings and really try to focus on what makes the game great and gamers really happy. The should understand if the make a good game, this means an increase in business for the whole industry of gaming, so they'd better not just focus on smalltime, easy money.

    Reach feels more human, more COD like. I dislike mostly that they always feel the need to lie about the game in the trailers and stuff, that's so lame... I guess it is time for those guys to get replaced, although I honour the one that came up with the original. I'll keep having fun with all the games, but make Halo 4 better please. ASK INTELLIGENT PEOPLE HOW TO MANAGE ALL OF THE CRITICS !!

  • Ellis Buteux  

    What a great game post. I can never get enough of games. I am glad to find a site with such great information. I am playing Star Trek but am always looking other games to play.

  • jose nimo  

    People Haters Gonna Hate So just ignore those hypocrits halo rocks xbox lived thxs to halo so thx halo and bungie. THANK YOU

  • Liam  

    I think the game is great but is anybody else sick of playing snipers or SWAT on team xbox live games? Any time they are an option everybody picks them. I wish the computer just picked a random game. Not everybody wants to play SWAT everytime.

  • Dandelo310  

    ha ha, peopel actually comparing Halo to agems like Resistance? No NO NOOOO. Not even in the same league, for instance, in the first halo, first time u picked up a needler and saw the super combo, i was blown away. Resistance was just a boring PS3 shooter, I dont even own a PS£ and I beat the sh*t out of that game.
    And for your PS3 owners who complain about the Xbox controller, when u play MW2 and fire is R1, that is rubbish. Xbox pad was made for shooters, ps3 pad was made for sports game.

  • Dandelo310  

    Dont really understand why people compare Cod4 and Halo, the games are played for different reasons. Both games, clearly ahead in the FPS stakes, hwoever COD4 seems more about ur trigger finger (especially online), whereas Halo is about cunning and the battles, even in the Campaign are astounding. I brought the original Xbox solely for the first Halo, and when u play the orginal on legendary (particularly the Library) u realise why its rated so highly. I just dont think theyre comparable, what i will say tho, is that halo battles definately have more depth. i.e warthogs flipping over ur head, 6 plasma grenades going off in a corridor (Thats what I call a chain reaction!!!). Im playing through Reach on Legendary at the moment, Im at the level called Nightfall and so far I havent found it that tough. On the Omni base, the Hunters are annoying, also theres a nightclub level later on with 3 Hunters, and the Corvette level where there are about 7/8 Elites, apart from that Ive been using plasma pistol, works quite well. Overall Ive liked the game, and the parts which were similar to CE just brought back nostaligia rather than annoyance. All round not a bad game tho, well worth an investment in my eyes, and if ur Halo crazy like me then youve been waiting for this one.

  • Bazooka Britten  

    I am a massive Halo Fan, the 1st game, standing in that water looking up at the Halo stretching overhead i will never forget. The second had a tough act to follow, but boy did it! Dual wielding, awesome music and so long getting through normal to legendary lasted months. Then came Halo 3, which was brilliant, but at the time seemed a bit short. Little did i know that the shortening trend would continue through ODST and take the mickey with Reach. I only loaded it up four times (Big playing sessions i'll admit) but normal and Heroic had been completed. HOW NOBODY HAD NOTED THAT YOU ONLY GET 10 MINUTES IN THE TANK IS BEYOND ME??? Even ODST allowed you a longer duration in the scorpion!!! The vehicles were underused, no longer trying to take down the scarabs (or even the ground troops landing) you are urged to ride on by and leave them!!! Not me, i had to try and extend the game a bit longer so i did my best as a spartan warrior to kill every damn covenant scum i could, yeah! Same with the Long night of Solace, (Short night if you ask me.) with a war still going on outside, i couldn't leave the troops out there in the heat of battle and flee inside! No way, i went and cleared the covenant scum out. Basically, this game missed oppertunities to extend the action, give us more tank and warthog time, give us a cameo level playing the master chief coming saving the day,give us access to that big guys gatling gun to clear a path through a thousand angry grunts, saving civilian and wounded soldiers lives in the process. I've had a good wander round the levels, seeing so many areas left unused, obviously they must me multiplayer maps or something, it's a shame that online gaming had left the swansong woefully short of the original Halo and Halo 2, that were mere XBOX games!!! (Longer games on a lesser powered console? wierd.) I hope that money will cause one more Halo game to be made, just like this one, but with more to do, full on long Epic battles instead of a casual stroll up the beach (OK maybe a bit of an exaggeration) Mega massive tank/warthog/scarab/banshee/wraith battles with tonnes of troops fighting out a full scale war to the death (Remember Halo 3 in the desert, more of that type action please) Make your exit worthy of what the 360 has evolved into, and what Halo means to so many of us, make it big and bold, push the boundaries just like you did with the original, make it the truly worthy epic that multiplayer online, firefight, etc has taken away from us. If not for me, do it for you country?

  • Snurf  

    Yea and sorry for double posting but Scott, that's the reason halo is different from other games. The shields have always been like that, and its great. No sudden nooby tube deaths or whatever. Skill is essential. Halo can't be compared to mw2. So don't tell Bungie ta fix nuthin

  • Snurf  

    @moparful99, logicalthinker and all the other halo haters here, it seems you don't have a clue what game changed the FPS genre. You know, I'd say there wouldn't even be regenerating health in FPS games if it hadn't been introduced in halo ce. On another note, comparing halo to mw2 and bbc2 graphics-wise and saying the latter two are better because of that is, quite frankly, idiotic. Ever heard of gameplay? Multiplayer?

What Our Users Are Talking About

  1. /feature/best-new-streaming-movies-and-tv-september-2014 Image
    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV at Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, and Hulu
    September 18, 2014 - 2 comments
    1. MarcDoyle : Netflix Picks: Blue Ruin, Sling Blade, Ordinary People, School of Rock, Silver Linings Playbook, There Will Be Blood,... Read »
    2. LamontRaymond : If you've got Hulu, Bellflower is one of my all-time faves.... Great soundtrack.... Read »
  2. /feature/critics-reassess-youre-the-worst-the-leftovers-the-bridge- Image
    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows
    September 17, 2014 - 4 comments
    1. urkobg : Outlander, Penny Dreadful and the Leftovers have been the 3 stand out dramas of the summer for me. All three are... Read »
    2. NeoBasch : I came here to see Metacritic's coverage of The Leftovers after all the extremely positive reviews I've read... Read »
    3. Duke_Challenger : Masters of Sex: Season 2 is really great. I like the critics started growing tired after a bit, but the show gets... Read »
    4. JRath : What to say about The Leftovers? I initially watched the first three episodes and found myself bored with it so I... Read »
  3. /feature/music-releases-for-the-week-of-september-15-2014 Image
    Music Monday (9/15): This Week's New Albums + Videos
    September 15, 2014 - 1 comment
    1. LamontRaymond : Jeff the Brotherhood hits the road this week in support of their new album. And Bella Novela is putting the... Read »
  4. /feature/destiny-ps4-xbox-early-reviews-and-observations Image
    Destiny: Early Impressions From Critics
    September 9, 2014 - 22 comments
    1. norhavic : I completed destiny in two days, solod the story, have done various strikes, what there is of them anyway, i now have... Read »
    2. poker909 : I kept telling myself if I played more I would start to like it, but I don't. I love FPS and MMO and understand the... Read »
  5. /feature/best-new-streaming-movies-and-tv-august-2014 Image
    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV at Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, and Hulu
    August 20, 2014 - 3 comments
    1. unstrucksound : This is a great monthly topic -- very helpful to make an informed decision before viewing. I really hope you keep... Read »