Metacritic Features and Reports: 2012 Preview

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  2. Summer Music Preview: Over 40 Key Albums

    Summer Music Preview: Over 40 Key Albums Image
    Published: May 9, 2012
    We profile the most noteworthy albums scheduled to arrive between now and August, including new releases from Fiona Apple, Beach House, Hot Chip, Neil Young, Sigur Ros, Regina Spektor, The Walkmen, and more. You can also sample audio and video from each of the albums.
  3. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  4. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  5. Pilot Season: A Look at Key TV Shows in Development

    Pilot Season: A Look at Key TV Shows in Development Image
    Published: March 22, 2012
    With TV's annual pilot season heading into high gear, we take a look at the most promising shows in development by the broadcast and cable networks for next season. You can even vote on which shows you'd like to see picked up.
  6. Spring TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Spring TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: March 8, 2012
    We look at the most promising new and returning shows arriving between now and May, including new seasons of "Game of Thrones" and "Mad Men" as well as new series like "Veep" and "Missing." Plus, get a full calendar of premiere dates.
  7. Spring Movie Preview: 25 Key Films (and 75 Others)

    Spring Movie Preview: 25 Key Films (and 75 Others) Image
    Published: March 1, 2012
    We look at 25 key films arriving in theaters over the next two months, from "The Hunger Games" to "The Cabin in the Woods" to a buzz-generating action film from Indonesia. But we didn't stop there; you'll find dates and descriptions for 100 films in all.
  8. 2012 Games Preview: Console and PC Gaming

    2012 Games Preview: Console and PC Gaming Image
    Published: January 26, 2012
    Our 2012 videogame preview concludes with a look at over 60 top titles expected to arrive this year for the 360, PS3, Wii, and PCs, from "Mass Effect 3" to "Halo 4" to a few that don't even have numbers in their titles.
  9. 2012 Games Preview: Handheld Gaming

    2012 Games Preview: Handheld Gaming Image
    Published: January 24, 2012
    Our look ahead to 2012's biggest videogames begins with a preview of major titles expected for the Nintendo 3DS and new PlayStation Vita this year.
  10. 2012 Music Preview: What to Expect in the Year Ahead

    2012 Music Preview: What to Expect in the Year Ahead Image
    Published: January 19, 2012
    Our look ahead to the year's most anticipated music includes nearly 100 artists who will (or are likely to) release new albums in 2012.
Follow Metacritic on

What Our Users Are Talking About

  1. /feature/movie-trailers-and-news-for-week-ending-april-18-2014 Image
    Film Friday (4/18): This Week's New Trailers + News
    April 18, 2014 - 1 comment
    1. LamontRaymond : Sign me up for The Green Inferno. Trailer is bad-ass. Read »
  2. /feature/predict-the-summer-movie-metascores-2014 Image
    Predict the Metascores for Summer's Biggest Movies
    April 16, 2014 - 3 comments
    1. jrs71991 : Two Michael Bay films? Well that obviously will get a score lower than 40. Read »
    2. GuillermoBosque : Godzilla and Maleficent will be great! where's Into the Storm? Read »
    3. LamontRaymond : Love that you put the trailers right there - I hadn't heard of several of these. Read »
  3. /feature/movie-trailers-and-news-for-week-ending-april-11-2014 Image
    Film Friday (4/11): This Week's New Trailers + News
    April 11, 2014 - 4 comments
    1. TheQuietGamer : 22 Jump Street and Neighbors still look absolutely hilarious. Definitely my most anticipated movies of the year. Read »
    2. Will : "It began with Twilight..." Don't forget Harry Potter. Read »
    3. Will : "Spoiler Alert! If you don’t want to know what happens to Juliette Binoche...." Yeah, great spoiler alert, Metacritic. Read »
    4. silasbodnick : There is just something about the sound effects in the new Godzilla trailer that make me really want to see that... Read »
  4. /feature/dvd-release-calendar-april-2014 Image
    DVD Release Calendar: April 2014
    March 27, 2014 - 1 comment
    1. silasbodnick : Ride along is much funnier than the critics gave it credit. Definitely take a chance on it if you are up for a little... Read »
  5. /feature/breaking-bad-episode-514-ozymandias-reviews Image
    Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Ozymandias"
    September 15, 2013 - 15 comments
    1. dgroberts27 : Look at the one critic review that wasn't "extremely positive" and see what it says. "Last night's 'Ozymandias'... Read »