Oscar Predictions and Preview: Who Are the Favorites?

  • Comments: ↓ 23 user comments
  • Publish Date: March 4, 2010

The wait is nearly over ...

Image

Will Avatar be able to add a collection of trophies to its astounding box office success, or will it be upstaged by the best-reviewed film of 2009? Will a woman finally win the award for top director? Will audiences -- especially younger viewers -- tune in to watch? These and other questions will be answered in just a few days.

The 82nd Annual Academy Awards ceremony will air on ABC on Sunday night, March 7th, from 8:30pm ET (5:30pm PT) to "11:30pm" (meaning, let's say, 11:45 or 12:00), preceded by a half-hour red carpet special at 8:00pm ET (5:00pm PT). Hosting duties for this year's ceremony will be split between Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin, and despite a last-minute controversy surrounding a killed Avatar-related skit that was to star Sacha Baron Cohen, preparations seem to be running smoothly.

Announced presenters include Robert Downey Jr., Sam Worthington, Barbra Streisand, Kristen Stewart, Taylor Lautner, Jake Gyllenhaal, Kathy Bates, Miley Cyrus, Queen Latifah, Ryan Reynolds, Samuel L. Jackson, Charlize Theron, Chris Pine, Gerard Butler, Keanu Reeves, and John Travolta. And while the broadcast will feature a dozen dancers from "So You Think You Can Dance," in a major switch, there will be no live performances of the best original song nominees this year.

But enough about what will happen; let's talk about what might happen. We have surveyed the predictions of dozens of awards "experts" in order to gauge the consensus about who is likely to take home the Oscar in each category. This year, most of the races seem predetermined (only a few categories are genuinely up for grabs at this point), which can only mean one thing: expect at least one out-of-leftfield upset on Sunday night.

The predictions: Best Picture

Image
Metacritic User Poll Results
The Hurt Locker 45%
Avatar 42%
Inglourious Basterds 5%
7 OTHERS 8%

Who Could Win: As expected, it looks like a two-horse race between The Hurt Locker 94 and Avatar 84. While all the momentum and buzz is behind the indie Hurt Locker -- which, among other indicators, recently collected a BAFTA for best picture -- a new controversy involving active email campaigning by one of Locker's producers could give new life to James Cameron's blue blockbuster. (Read The New York Times' coverage here.) Either way, the intriguing battle between these two films should keep viewers tuned in until the end of the broadcast, no matter how late it runs. Read our previous discussion about predicting the best picture winner.

Who Could Sneak In: Inglourious Basterds 69. It would be a longshot, but a massive Harvey Weinstein-led advertising push (including television commercials that ran during the Olympics and an innovative poster art campaign), coupled with reported confusion related to the Academy's new instant-runoff voting system, means that Quentin Tarantino's brash, alternative-history war film could sneak into contention. The Envelope's Tom O'Neil predicts such an upset, but critic Jack Mathews recently changed his mind and now prefers Hurt Locker.

Who Won't Win: The other seven nominees. However much you may have liked District 9 81, do yourself a favor and don't pick it in your Oscar pool.

Which Side Are They On?
Experts Predicting "Avatar"   Experts Predicting "The Hurt Locker"
Richard Corliss (Time), Erik Davis (Cinematical), Paul Gaita (The Envelope), Mark Olsen (Los Angeles Times), Michael Phillips (Chicago Tribune), Steve Pond (The Wrap), Joshua Rothkopf (Time Out New York), Peter Travers (Rolling Stone), Keith Uhlich (Time Out New York), Jeffrey Wells (Hollywood Elsewhere)   Lane Brown (Vulture/New York), Roger Ebert (Chicago Sun-Times), David Fear (Time Out New York), Scott Feinberg (And The Winner Is), Pete Hammond (The Envelope), Dave Karger (Entertainment Weekly), Peter Keough (Boston Phoenix), Tariq Khan (Fox411), Peter Knegt (indieWIRE), Scott Mantz (Access Hollywood), Jack Mathews (AOL), Sasha Stone (Awards Daily)

The Predictions: Other races

Director

Metacritic User Poll Results
Kathryn Bigelow 53%
James Cameron 35%
3 OTHERS 12%

Who Could Win: Kathryn Bigelow, for The Hurt Locker. The clear favorite among the experts, Bigelow has been cleaning up on the awards circuit this year. Among her trophies is the DGA award, and in the past 61 years Academy voters have mirrored the Directors Guild's selection all but six times. If she wins, Bigelow will be the first woman in history to receive the directing Oscar.

Who Could Sneak In: James Cameron, for Avatar. Bigelow's ex-husband not only directed the most successful film in box office history, but he reinvented filmmaking in the process. If Avatar manages to take home best picture, Cameron certainly has a chance at the directing award as well.

Original Screenplay

Metacritic User Poll Results
Quentin Tarantino 51%
Mark Boal 31%
3 OTHERS 18%

Who Could Win: Quentin Tarantino, for Inglourious Basterds. The early frontrunner for this award, Tarantino is still attracting the support of many awards experts, and with that huge promotional campaign, it seems unlikely that Basterds will go home completely empty-handed. However, out of all the Oscar races, this is one of the few that still looks open.

Who Could Sneak In: Mark Boal, for The Hurt Locker. Though he hasn't unseated Tarantino as the front-runner, the former journalist is starting to pick up steam and could benefit from the overall buzz surrounding his film. Boal actually won the Writers Guild's award this year, although Tarantino -- who isn't a WGA member -- wasn't eligible.

Adapted Screenplay

Metacritic User Poll Results
Reitman/Turner 53%
Geoffrey Fletcher 19%
3 OTHERS 28%

Who Could Win: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner for Up in the Air. At one point, the George Clooney dramedy was pegged as a major favorite for multiple awards, although now conventional wisdom states that the screenplay trophy will represent the film's one and only victory.

Who Could Sneak In: Although Reitman and Turner are the prohibitive favorites, Geoffrey Fletcher's well-regarded adaptation of the novel Push -- which became the movie Precious -- is probably the only other film with even a remote chance.

Lead Actress

Metacritic User Poll Results
Sandra Bullock 46%
Meryl Streep 24%
3 OTHERS 30%

Who Could Win: You could not have predicted it a year ago, but Sandra Bullock is the current favorite for her work in The Blind Side. A win would cement Bullock's 2009 as a year to remember; her two films (The Proposal was the other) combined to gross over $500 million. (Yes, we are intentionally forgetting All About Steve.)

Who Could Sneak In: Well, there is always Meryl Streep (Julie & Julia). Of course, that's the problem, isn't it: she's nominated so frequently (16 times, to be exact) that voters figure there is no urgency to pick her in any given year. Streep's last win was in 1982 for Sophie's Choice, but her role in Julie & Julia is the type that Academy voters seem to enjoy: celebrity impersonation. A few pundits have her winning over Bullock, so a Streep win wouldn't be a major upset -- but a win by longshots Gabourey Sidibe (Precious) or Carey Mulligan
(An Education) will certainly elicit gasps from the audience no matter how deserving each of them might be.

Lead Actor

Metacritic User Poll Results
Jeff Bridges 64%
Jeremy Renner 13%
3 OTHERS 23%

Who Could Win: Jeff Bridges, for Crazy Heart. The Golden Globe and SAG winner impressed critics with his performance as a struggling country singer, and has been the front-runner for months. Even more telling is that the likeable, hard-working Bridges has been nominated five times over his 30-year career, but has yet to win -- and the Academy likes to reward such people.

Who Could Sneak In: Jeremy Renner, for The Hurt Locker. It could be Hurt Locker's night, and Renner's memorable performance certainly contributed to that film's success.

Supporting Actress

Metacritic User Poll Results
Mo’Nique 69%
Anna Kendrick 9%
3 OTHERS 22%

Who Could Win: Mo’Nique, for Precious. She was the overwhelming favorite well before the nominations were announced, and continues to be so today.

Who Could Sneak In: No one. The only upset that would be more surprising on Sunday night than Mo'Nique not winning would be Avatar failing to receive the visual effects award.

Supporting Actor

Metacritic User Poll Results
Christoph Waltz 84%
4 OTHERS 16%

Who Could Win: Christoph Waltz, for Inglourious Basterds. Unknown (outside of his native Austria) a year ago at this time, Waltz captivated Cannes audiences with his performance as the villainous Hans Landa, and has been hailed as the likely Oscar winner ever since.

Who Could Sneak In: Christoph Waltz's stunt double. Oh, and possibly Woody Harrelson, for The Messenger. The Academy likes actors who play against type, and Harrelson delivers a serious, moving performance. Unfortunately, his movie reached theaters during the wrong year.

Animated Feature and Animated Short

Metacritic User Poll Results
Up 88%
4 OTHERS 12%

Who Could Win: Up 88. Speaking of locks, here's another. You'd be hard-pressed to find anyone who didn't predict Pixar's latest triumph to take home the trophy, a consolation prize for losing the bigger award (best picture) to Avatar or The Hurt Locker.

Who Could Sneak In: No one. While the field is unusually strong this year, it's Up in a landslide.

Animated Short

Metacritic User Poll Results
The Lady and the Reaper 31%
A Matter of Loaf and Death 26%
3 OTHERS 43%

Who Could Win: "A Matter of Loaf and Death." Nick Park's fourth comedic short (although at 29 minutes, it's a long short) starring beloved characters Wallace and Gromit is the overwhelming consensus pick, which would bring Park's Academy Award total to five.

Who Could Sneak In: "Logorama." The work of French design collective H5, Logorama depicts a cityscape and characters composed entirely of corporate logos, and has picked up a number of awards worldwide. The pick of Metacritic users, "The Lady and the Reaper" was not similarly picked by experts, but it has more star power than other entries: Antonio Banderas is a producer.

Documentary Feature

Metacritic User Poll Results
The Cove 43%
Food Inc. 37%
3 OTHERS 20%

Who Could Win: The Cove. A well-made movie focusing on an issue that Academy members can support (animal rights), this eco-activist doc is the pick of most pundits.

Who Could Sneak In: Food Inc. This slick and alarming examination of the food industry has attracted the most attention out of the remaining films.

Documentary Short

Metacritic User Poll Results
China's Unnatural Disaster 30%
The Last Truck 26%
3 OTHERS 44%

Who Could Win: "China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province" or "The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant." Many prognosticators likely haven't seen all (or any) of the nominees in this category -- so do what you will with their predictions -- but these are the two films that have been mentioned repeatedly as likely winners. “The Last Truck” certainly benefits from timeliness, while "China's Unnatural Disaster" focuses on grieving parents after a deadly 2008 earthquake.

Who Could Sneak In: "Music by Prudence," a look at African musicians suffering from a variety of disabling diseases. Oddly enough, it's probably the most uplifting of the contenders.

Foreign-Language Film

Metacritic User Poll Results
White Ribbon 57%
A Prophet 16%
3 OTHERS 27%

Who Could Win: Argentina's El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in Their Eyes). Not yet released in the United States, this crime drama is the choice of many -- but certainly not all -- experts.

Who Could Sneak In: Michael Haneke's White Ribbon 82. Another popular pick, the director's latest challenging drama is a black-and-white exploration of the roots of evil in pre-WWI Germany. A dark horse contender is the French gangster drama Un Prophète (A Prophet) 89. While it's the best reviewed film of all the contenders, that's not necessarily a good thing as far as the Oscars go.

Live-Action Short

Metacritic User Poll Results
The Door 28%
Miracle Fish 27%
3 OTHERS 45%

Who Could Win: Any of the nominees. "The Door" attracted the most votes from the experts, but no one will ever get rich trying to forecast the winner of the live-action short film category. This is one of those categories that will help decide the winner of your Oscar pool.

Who Could Sneak In: "The New Tenants" also turned up in multiple prediction articles.

Music: Original Score

Metacritic User Poll Results
Up 41%
Avatar 36%
3 OTHERS 23%

Who Could Win: Michael Giacchino, for Up. The "Lost" composer's score for the best picture nominee was singled out for praise at the time of the film's release, and is close to a unanimous pick by the experts.

Who Could Sneak In: James Horner, for Avatar. It has the advantage of being the most-heard film score this year, and the veteran composer already has two Oscar trophies sitting at home.

Music: Original Song

Metacritic User Poll Results
"Weary Kind" 61%
"Take It All" 15%
3 OTHERS 24%

Who Could Win: "The Weary Kind" from Crazy Heart. Written by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett, the song features prominently in the movie -- Jeff Bridges' character "writes" the tune as the movie progresses -- and it was the winner at the Golden Globes.

Who Could Sneak In: Randy Newman. The 18-time Oscar nominee has just one win to his name -- which the Academy might want to rectify at some point -- but is in the unfortunate situation of competing against himself here, nominated for two different songs from The Princess and the Frog.

Cinematography

Metacritic User Poll Results
Avatar 55%
The Hurt Locker 24%
3 OTHERS 21%

Who Could Win: Either Mauro Fiore for Avatar, or Barry Ackroyd for The Hurt Locker. An intriguing matchup, the category seemingly pits advanced technology against grit, yet Ackroyd's work in Hurt Locker features some nifty technology of its own -- especially in the extreme slow-motion sequences. Either front-runner could take home the trophy.

Who Could Sneak In: The dark horse is Robert Richardson for Inglourious Basterds, but it's hard to see the Academy looking past the first two films.

Other Technical Categories

ART DIRECTION
Avatar 79%
COSTUME DESIGN
Imaginarium of Dr. Parn. 28%
Nine 26%
The Young Victoria 25%
FILM EDITING
Avatar 44%
Metacritic User Poll Results
MAKEUP
Star Trek 74%
SOUND EDITING
Avatar 56%
SOUND MIXING
Avatar 61%
VISUAL EFFECTS
Avatar 93%

Who Could Win: An Avatar sweep in all five of the remaining technical categories where it was nominated would surprise no one, though most experts predict that film editing honors will go to the taut, suspenseful Hurt Locker.

Star Trek is easily the consensus pick for makeup, while the costume design category is more of a toss-up, though -- since it is a costume drama, after all -- The Young Victoria has a slight edge.

Who Could Sneak In: Since Coco Before Chanel is actually about a fashion designer, that film is an automatic contender in the costume design category. And The Young Victoria has a slight chance at upsetting Star Trek for the makeup award.

Either -- or both -- of the two sound categories could fall to The Hurt Locker instead of Avatar, although the latter is still the likelier pick. Don't look for any serious challengers in the art direction category, though if any film has a very slight chance, it's Sherlock Holmes. And if Avatar somehow doesn't win the visual effects award, the Academy should stop handing it out.

What do you think?

Are you planning on watching the Oscars on Sunday? Is there one film you are rooting for more than others? Are you pleased with the choice of Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin as hosts? Let us know in the comments section below.

We're sorry, but comments are closed for this article.

Comments (23)

  • Marc Doyle  

    Darned good job, users!

  • John  

    I'm saying that I don't want Avatar of The Hurt Locker to win best picture. I'd rather see another film win best picture. Certainly, I would despise Avatar getting carried away with the Oscars because it wasn't as good as District 9. Too overrated, script was horrible, stole many ideas. I don't know much about the indie Hurt Locker, but I'd rather see the spoilers spoil the favorites.

  • Dan H.  

    Inglorious Basterds gets my vote for best picture it was very beautifully written and directed. The screen-play was very original (Unlike Avatar). Avatar better not win best picture. It wasn't very good. District 9 and Star Trek were far superior Sci-Fi films.

  • Kevin  

    A short comment to Tony Jones: Metacritic is an aggregator site. It is not evaluating these movies--it is using pre-Oscar awards and other criteria to determine who is likely to win each award, not who should win. It has done its duty marvelously and respectably, and is not beholden to your own misconception about what this site does, and what this article claims.

    Your snide comment regarding whether anyone knows something about filmmaking is itself an odd one, since you claim moments later that a film shot in front of a green screen should not be a contender for a cinematography award. I am sure any filmmaker, even an amateur one, could tell you--reasonably so--that the images you see were the work of talented visual artists that created those images. I highly doubt that the great Mauro Fiore would agree with your assessment. He created beautiful lighting and sumptuous color palettes. This may shock you, but Avatar did not spring from the minds of robots, but is the result of creative people that designed an attractive world with a look all its own. You should be ashamed for diminishing their work with some fictional proclamation of your filmmaking knowledge. That is the way of the Internet, though, isn't it? You lift your opinion up on a pedestal by way of reducing those of others, simply because they do not mirror your own.

    To tb: You will no longer watch the Oscars if Avatar does not win Best Picture? This sort of proclamation always amazes me, a toddler's tantrum in which you accomplish nothing, but simply whine because someone may not tell you what you want to hear. Shockingly, many people feel Avatar is the least deserving winner, due to its simple storytelling and clear stereotypes. I do not believe that Avatar is a worthy Oscar winner, myself; I enjoyed it but cannot respect a film that tells such an old story, littered with story inconsistencies and abysmal dialogue. Native stereotypes, cigar-chomping militants, yee-haw pilots--why bother with three dimensions, when your characters only have one? Regardless, should Avatar win, I will shake my head, appreciate the movie for the strengths it does possess, and move on. I can do this because the Academy Awards are not about me, and do not have a responsibility to cater to me, though it seems you believe that it the Academy and its voters have a responsibility to you. Modern day US (and there is no chance you are not American) has given rise to an incredibly selfish me-oriented society, in which everyone's need to be heard and everyone insists that they are so indisputably "right" about every syllable that pours out of their mouths. There is an entire world of opinions out there. Free yourselves from the confines of your small minds and discover them--and discover how rich you feel when you can acknowledge them without sobbing and banging your fists against the virtual walls of the Internet.

  • Marie Pasqualino  

    Mulligan deserves the Oscar. Her performance was amazing and moved me far more than Bullock's.

  • Christopher G  

    The Hurt Locker ranks with Platoon, Saving Private Ryan, and Letter From Iwo Jima as one of the greatest war film of the last 30 years. It's a near perfect movie, and it winning would almost make up for me the travest of Crash winning over my favorite movie of the Decade 4 years ago.

  • damon larkins  

    I am continuning my predictions for the Oscars. Best Supporting Actor and Actress
    1. Christolph Waltz was the best villain since Heath Ledger and Javier Bardem. However, he added charm and wit to an evil character who happens to be a Nazi leader or "the Jewish Hunter". Every scene he steps into becomes a new scene to cherish. He remained consistent in keeping all these tones in place, and deserves his oscar tomorrow night.

    2. Stanley Tucci was the other performance I have seen here, but come on he was in the lovely bones. That was one of my worst films of the year. His performance was good, but if you're looking for a better performance in a portrayl simlar to Tucci; watch Jackie Earle Haley in Little Children. No chance of winning tomorrow night.

    1. Mo'Nique without question deserves Best Supporting Actress, because she was frightening and memorable as the mother from Hell in Precious. If she loses, they must have had a computer difficulty, and it would be almost as bad as when Bush won again.

    2. Both stars from Up in the Air were excellent. Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick got their feet wet and delivered, and if it was a different year these two would be duking it out.

    Best Actress
    1. Carrie Mulligan deserves the Oscar, because of all the dimensions she had to express on the screen in An Education. This is my second upset of the night, because it was her first role and she reminded me of Audrey Hepburn. This is the next Kate Winslet.

    2. Gabourey Sidibe was great as the abused daughter in search of a better life. She felt authentic with her emotions and raw acting. Loved it. Would not mind if she won.

    3. Sandra Bullock better not win tomorrow. This is not an Oscar worthy performance, and she does not have a strong enough body of work to win because it's her time. Come on! Some people are calling this an Erin Brockovich type year, but Julia Roberts had a hell of performance and deserved her Oscar. Just because you do mainly comedies and then have a dramtic turn does not mean you should be winning all these awards. She did not deserve the nomination, and it really pisses me off that she might win tomorrow.

    Sadly, I have not seen Meryl Streep yet, but I hope she wins over Bullock; God help us all.

    Best Actor
    1. George Clooney was superb as Ryan Bingham in Up in the Air. He was able to be focused on just work and then realized that life is better than a gold plated visa card or a name on a blimp. It was a heartbreaking and inspiring role.

    2. Jeremy Renner was excellent as the war addicted soldier in a film I didn't care for. He was dangerous and believable as a war addicted soldier. Would not be upset if he won as much as I did not like the hurt locker.

    Sadly, I have not seen Crazy Heart but I think "the dude" has it in the bag.

  • damon larkins  

    The 82nd Academy Awards are tomorrow and I have seen all the Best Picture Nominees. I will rank them from one to ten, and go through my analysis of who will win in each category. There are four major upsets I believe will occur, and I'm sticking to them. Here goes...

    1. Inglourious Basterds, this film deserves Best Picture without question. This is Tarantino's masterpiece, because he reinvented his idea of a time that was grim and frightening and made it entertaining, funny, and tense. From the first ten minutes, I was hooked and never wanted it to end. The length of the film did not bother me at all, because all of the acting, directing, dialogue, and twists kept me intrigued. Tarantino deserves respect for this film, and it would be a shame if he lost Best Picture again. I'm picking Basterds in an upset, because of Weinstein who pulled off the two hugest upsets in Academy Award History; Crash beating Brokeback Mountain, and Shakespeare In Love beating Saving Private Ryan. In addition, Basterds won the SAG ensemle award, and the Actors make up the largest branch of voters in the Academy. That's a BINGO!!!

    2. Up in the Air, what a beautiful and hip way of looking at our current economic state, as well as our future position. Clooney was excellent as a dispatcher who surprisingly fell in love, thanks to the sexy and sassy Vera Farmiga. Their chemistry in this film reminded me of Frank Capra's It Happened One Night. Jason Reitman has mastered in taking a sad or depressing topic and shedding an uplifting perspective of how one deals with it. This film has been either loved hated or eh, but I love this film, because nobody else had the balls to say here's where we are, but here's how we can deal with it and possibly make it back to the good days of economic success.

    3. An Education, a film that many of you may not have seen. I was blindsided by newcomer Carrie Mulligan's performance. She had to balance several different moods, and she mastered all different levels of the moods given. She is the rebirth of Audrey Hepburn, and if this is an indication of what's to come then sign me up for registration. The supporting cast must be recognized too; Peter Sarsgard deserved a nomination as a charming yet manipulative and shady con man in his portrayl of David and Alfred Molina was a pleasure to watch as Jenny's father. If this film is at the multiplex near you, go get An Education it'll be worth it.

    4. Avatar, yes it lacked in certain parts like the screenplay, but it was a hell of a movie going experience. The visuals are spellbinding in 2d or 3d, and it does not lose its impact after repeat viewings. Stop backlashing Cameron, because if he would not have won for the most overrated movie of all time, you would be going Navi crazy tomorrow night. Titanic was good not great, and if you take away the major tragedy of the shipwreck that movie wins an estimate of zero oscars. Avatar has taken a step in CGI filmmaking, but it is not the best picture of the year. However, if it won I would not be a Navi Nazi.

    5. A Serious Man, my favorite Directors and Writers have done it again with this tale of a Jewish man who takes life for granted although he doesn't intend to. His life is taken seriously with his work as a Physics professor, but he lacks seriousness in the family and other places in his life. A simple "hey what's going on here" gets a eh nothing response, and Larry Gopnick walks away. I feel bad for the man as he deals with his wife cheating on him with a man whose 20 years older than him, and an Asian kid and father who try to double cross him and get a passing grade in Physics, and even sadder Three Rabiis who are wise who give him less hope than he had before meeting them. This film deals with life and its uncontrollable occurences, and how sometimes being a serious man is held at how you deal with things not how God or Shem can help you through them. Although, it has no chance of winning, I rank it as four because it is a film that stood out and kept me thinking about life. A great film that should be taken seriously, go rent it on dvd.

    6. Up, I had doubts about this tale of a grumpy old man and his baloon house idea. Wow, I quickly regretted my opinion and witnessed a true animated gem. The first ten minute montage made me emotional, luckily I had on my 3d shades. It was beautiful to see this man live out his wife and childhood sweetheart's dream of soaring through South America. Then adding the kid who does not have a father figure but still remains a happy go lucky human. Add in talking dogs and tons of adventure, and the most inspiring line this year "go make your own adventure"; then you have a film that is a must see. Get UP and go see this film. Would love to see it win, but sadly no chance.

    7. District 9, a more creative alien story by Peter Jackson. This makes up for the painful and abstract lovely bones. This film was tense and a sci fi feast to endure, because it was a documentary style film with aliens but you felt sympathetic for the way these aliens were mistreated and their lifelong dream of returning to their promised land being such a tremendous accomplishment. They even have alien warlords, come one this film was a fun time at the movies. Sharito's debut as a journalist just trying to do his job, and then becomes involved with these aliens unintentionally is great storytelling. One of my favorites of the year, but no chance.

    8. Precious, a film that is shocking and gut wrenching. Gabourey Sidibe was fantastic as an illeterate, pregnant, and abused mentally and physically teenager growing up in rougher streets of Harlem. She was given no options of a better life, but found ways to get her life on the right path and make her dreams come true. The abusive mother wants to make it impossible for poor precious to make something of herself, she is played unforgettably by sure fire winner Monique. Its not that I did not care for Precious, I just see the previous seven as films that deserve best picture more.

    9. The Hurt Locker, yes that's right I am not on this bandwagon of praise. Two things that I enjoyed about this film; Jeremy Renner as war addicted soldier and Anthony Mackie as a soldier in search of returning home. That's it. I have seen excellent war films in the past such as the Deer Hunter and Platoon. This is not one of them, it was not gripping, because of the direction and the weak screenplay of Mark Boal. Why have all these subplot stories like the kid who sells bootlegs, and what was the deal with the lead soldier going to that house where the kid was supposed to be. There were scenes that seemed out of place, for instance that iraq man covered in bombs with a chain who only has two min to survive. It felt like a scene out of the saw franchise. More irritating was the documentary style filmmaking for a war film, especially Iraq. It was not pulling me in, it just felt slow and kept me waiting for the movie to end. I pray that this film does not win Best Picture, because it was just so so, and the 7 above are much more worthy of the Best Picture win. Plus, if this film was intended to make Americans feel symapthetic about how different soldiers deal with their war life, how come the producer sends emails bashing Avatar instead of being a representative of a film that people praised and enjoyed despite its low budget. In addition, soldiers are saying this is not remotely close to what life is like on the battelfield. Sounds like a bunch of bs too me, and an attempt to get awards instead of making a film that has meaning to us.

    10. The Blind Side, does not deserve to be in this field at all. Sandra Bullock's performance could have been done by any actress; just have a sad face, southern voice, and look pretty. This film is exactly what the trailer makes it out to be, a predictable story about a rich woman in the south who takes in a poor African American, who has bigger dreams. Ugh, this film was melodramatic at its finest, and I hate melodramas. It was slow paced, and every scene in the projects was over the top and not needed. If this is based on a true story, why add that crap in this film. It just adds more junk to an already garbage film. This stole 500 Days of Summer's slot, and I hope this film and others similar never smell the Oscar ballot again.

    Movie Guy Out

  • agus  

    i wish that the secret in their eyes (el secreto de sus ojos) take the oscar

  • Charles  

    It would be great if Pocahontas.. UPS! I meant Avatar won best picture!!! It was so unpredictable!!!! It's a beautiful, interesting, original story, the plot full of twists that left you wondering what would happen next, and the characters were so unpredictable and deep. Oh! and the academy must think really carefully, because if it doesn't win people might stop caring, and that's all that matters, right?

What Our Users Are Talking About

  1. /feature/critics-reassess-youre-the-worst-the-leftovers-the-bridge- Image
    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows
    September 17, 2014 - 3 comments
    1. NeoBasch : I came here to see Metacritic's coverage of The Leftovers after all the extremely positive reviews I've read... Read »
    2. Duke_Challenger : Masters of Sex: Season 2 is really great. I like the critics started growing tired after a bit, but the show gets... Read »
    3. JRath : What to say about The Leftovers? I initially watched the first three episodes and found myself bored with it so I... Read »
  2. /feature/music-releases-for-the-week-of-september-15-2014 Image
    Music Monday (9/15): This Week's New Albums + Videos
    September 15, 2014 - 1 comment
    1. LamontRaymond : Jeff the Brotherhood hits the road this week in support of their new album. And Bella Novela is putting the... Read »
  3. /feature/film-festival-reviews-2014-tiff-venice-telluride Image
    2014 Fall Film Festival Recap: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice
    September 15, 2014 - 2 comments
    1. Pazzo7 : I was shocked when I saw the score for Chris Rock's movie.WOW.I am really looking forward to it and I am truly happy... Read »
    2. golem64 : I saw Adult Beginners at TIFF starring comedian Nick Kroll. It is a great comedy drama and Kroll is an excellent... Read »
  4. /feature/fall-2014-tv-preview-abc-cbs-nbc-fox-cw-new-shows Image
    Fall TV Preview: A Guide to New & Returning Broadcast Shows
    September 11, 2014 - 2 comments
    1. dunker : Duke_Challanger, you are obviously a very discriminating viewer. While I agree that The Good Wife is the best show on... Read »
  5. /feature/destiny-ps4-xbox-early-reviews-and-observations Image
    Destiny: Early Impressions From Critics
    September 9, 2014 - 21 comments
    1. poker909 : I kept telling myself if I played more I would start to like it, but I don't. I love FPS and MMO and understand the... Read »
  6. /feature/best-new-streaming-movies-and-tv-august-2014 Image
    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV at Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, and Hulu
    August 20, 2014 - 3 comments
    1. unstrucksound : This is a great monthly topic -- very helpful to make an informed decision before viewing. I really hope you keep... Read »
  7. /feature/best-and-worst-films-of-2013 Image
    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013
    January 6, 2014 - 6 comments
    1. ilveirinso : happy to see "Pines" in the top 25 :) Read »