User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 61
  2. Negative: 12 out of 61
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2016
    8
    Buen juego recuerdo en su epoca cuando lo jugue era muy bueno! Pero muchas personas ya tienen puesto en la cabeza que porque un juego es de alguna serie o pelicula automaticamente ya es malo pero no siempre es asi y este juego lo demuestra :/
  2. Feb 29, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is pretty good, if not a little easy in my opinion. The writing's serviceable, and the gameplay is a bit like Zelda II, but more forgiving. You walk around in an overworld then go over small drawings which upon contact with will change the game into a platformer. My only gripe is the final boss - LSP on... steroids? It feels like the sprites for Finn and Jake riding on Lady was never used and they decided to tack it in as a last-minute boss. It's not really difficult if you have the maximum amount of hearts. I was able to beat the game in ~3 days, playing for one hour each one of those three days. Including Game+, that probably adds 1 1/2 hours. The rewards you get; the jukebox really isn't worth it. I was thinking you'd get a Fiona and Cake skin but apparently not. It's a solid time-waster, and you can pick it up for twenty bucks if you buy it in the Nintendo 3DS eShop. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    I LOVE this game. The writing is exactly like the TV show with all of the familiar faces too. The game play is nice and smooth, the health and powerup system is great and the puzzles are both challenging and fun. My only complaint is that the random encounters that are on the map when you walk around can be annoying. Highly recomended for fans of the show, people who don't like the show orI LOVE this game. The writing is exactly like the TV show with all of the familiar faces too. The game play is nice and smooth, the health and powerup system is great and the puzzles are both challenging and fun. My only complaint is that the random encounters that are on the map when you walk around can be annoying. Highly recomended for fans of the show, people who don't like the show or haven't seen the show won't get the same enjoyment out of it. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2015
    7
    It's a pretty solid game. If you like Adventure Time you'll like this. It's a fun little retro-styled game. The down side is that it is a really short game, which makes it feel a bit rushed.
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!! was an overall enjoyable experience. It took me five hours to beat, and I did it all in one sitting. The difficulty is extremely easy (that is, until the extremely difficult final boss), which makes this an easy recommendation for parents that want to gift this to their child. Unfortunately, it will feel a little boring forAdventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!! was an overall enjoyable experience. It took me five hours to beat, and I did it all in one sitting. The difficulty is extremely easy (that is, until the extremely difficult final boss), which makes this an easy recommendation for parents that want to gift this to their child. Unfortunately, it will feel a little boring for experienced players. The good news is that I don't have any major complaints after playing. Looking at the big picture, it's a pretty good game. However, there were three minor complaints I had that took away from an otherwise great game.

    1. The combat system: Don't get me wrong, the controls in this game were actually pretty great. I never found myself blaming the controls for any of my mistakes. However, the way that the combat in the game is structured annoyed me. Here's why:

    In most games of this genre (Platformer/ARPG), you encounter various enemies roaming throughout each level. In platformers, the enemies will usually drop useful items, currency, or otherwise help you amass some sort of valuable material in the game, even if it just contributes to your overall high score. On the other hand, RPG games tend to have enemies that give you XP points upon their defeat. In other words, you level up in most RPGs by defeating monsters, otherwise known as "grinding." The problem with AT:HIKWYSOG?!! is that while it appears that it's a hybrid of the two genres, it uses neither of these mechanics. Occasionally the enemies will drop food (in my experience, very rarely) that will give you a trivial health boost. However, all of the useful items can be found in various parts of the level, and often don't even "drop" from any sort of enemy at all. Additionally, the way in which you level up has nothing to do with enemies at all. Instead, you just need to find chests to open that boost one of your stats. Therefore, the game incentivizes a reckless style of game play, in which you can just "parkour" your way through the levels, finding the fastest way to jump over each enemy, or ignore them entirely. Looking back, I could have easily beaten the game again while attacking little to no enemies at all. It simply feels like developers put enemies into the levels because they felt like they had to.

    The developers attempted to fix this by adding semi-random encounters to the over world, and upon encountering one of these monsters, you are thrust into a subworld in which you fight enemies for a random item. While this does have more purpose than the standard enemies, I found this more of an unnecessary nuisance more than anything, and tried to avoid them at all cost when possible.

    2. At times, the game felt tedious: It could just be a problem that comes with the fact that I marathon'ed this game, but there were a few things in AT:HIKWYSOG?!! that made the game feel sluggish, and very tedious. The biggest problem was the over world. Throughout the entire game, Finn/Jake must walk through the over world to get to various regions. This mechanic is fine, and brings some ARPG elements to the game, but the problem is that they walk at a snail's pace, and (as far as I know) you can't do anything to speed up the process. This wouldn't be a big deal if it were brief moments in which you use the over world, but it felt like over half of the game was spent waiting for Finn/Jake to crawl over to where I wanted to go. The game rewards exploration, but you never feel compelled to explore unless you know where you need to go, otherwise you could lose an hour of your time! Other factors also contributed to a tedious feeling throughout the game as well. For example, the ambiguity of the game had me stuck two or three times. Considering that a running gag throughout the game was how straightforward the Ice King's riddles are, I find it ironic that one of the game's flaws was that I couldn't figure out what it wanted me to do a few times. I ended up relying on the internet, only to find that I probably could have figured it out if it weren't for the game's ambiguous naming conventions.

    3. The lack of overall polish: Although the game is designed much better than Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! for the 3DS (I'm still trying to forget about that game, but that's a whole other can of worms), it feels lackluster at times. Whether it's the low quality audio, the occasional visual bug (often times a sort of flicker effect), or the repetitive (although catchy) sound track, the game lacked the polish of other 3DS titles. It's a shame, because at first glance the game looks very nice, and I have to admit that the pixel art is very well done. Even though I feel like this shouldn't be an issue, it kept coming back into my head as I was playing, and it takes away from the immersive qualities of a game.

    With those complaints aside, I still feel that this game has its redeeming qualities, but just know that it's only mediocre.
    Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2015
    2
    The title should be "hey developers! Why did you make this garbage!?!" It's not surprising that a TV/movie license video game would be TERRIBLE. This game is nothing but a VERY SHORT side scroller platforming game. sad thing is there iOS games are much better. The graphics are terrible, The story makes no sense, and the destination travel sequence is annoying. Uber of get the iOS gamesThe title should be "hey developers! Why did you make this garbage!?!" It's not surprising that a TV/movie license video game would be TERRIBLE. This game is nothing but a VERY SHORT side scroller platforming game. sad thing is there iOS games are much better. The graphics are terrible, The story makes no sense, and the destination travel sequence is annoying. Uber of get the iOS games over this garbage. Good thing good about this game is Marceline the vampire Queen's battle theme kind a wish there was an extended version of her theme with more lyrics on iTunes and not that small Loop of music. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    With this game I would say that it would have been a 7/10 if I wasn't a huge Adventure Time fan but because I am this game gets a better score cause to be honest this game was made for the fans with a huge world to explore and tons of levels.
  8. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    A wonderful game for fans of the show. I enjoyed it quite a bit and thought it was original, had great music and was funny. The only thing that I didn't like is the length and lack of content. It took me 5 hours to beat the game and there isn't much to do afterward other than play again on a higher difficulty. Any fan of the show should play this but I feel it would have been better off asA wonderful game for fans of the show. I enjoyed it quite a bit and thought it was original, had great music and was funny. The only thing that I didn't like is the length and lack of content. It took me 5 hours to beat the game and there isn't much to do afterward other than play again on a higher difficulty. Any fan of the show should play this but I feel it would have been better off as a 10-15 dollar eshop download. Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    I had fun with this game I love the series but this game had many flaws in it for one its very short many of the items you find are useless and the combat got a little boring but it was a lot of fun the characters were great I think everyone was in here the 3d was good in certain spots if you love the show pick this up
  10. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    For what it is Adventure Time is a great title. Sure it's short and leaves you longing for more but it's a great little retro feeling Adventure game and as I call it, "Zelda II done right." Fans of the show are sure to love it, but otherwise look into it a bit more before purchasing.
  11. Jan 9, 2013
    2
    A shallow boring experience that doesn't live up to the high standards set by the series. The game has many characters and locations from the series that although at first exciting had little actual meaning in the game aside from repetitive fetch quests. The mechanics are repetitive and inelegant involving button bashing in order to win and grinding for items in random battles on the sameA shallow boring experience that doesn't live up to the high standards set by the series. The game has many characters and locations from the series that although at first exciting had little actual meaning in the game aside from repetitive fetch quests. The mechanics are repetitive and inelegant involving button bashing in order to win and grinding for items in random battles on the same fight screen. If you want the proper adventure time experience go watch the series as the game offers nothing new and actually hinders the adventure time experience. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    It's not very often that a game comes around that actually listens to the requests of a series fans. Adventure Time : Hey Ice King Why'd you steal our Garbage, does that. And it does it well. The only complaint that I'd really have about this game, is that it is solely fanbased. Being a fan of the Adventure Time series, it was easy for me to understand what Wayforward was trying to do, andIt's not very often that a game comes around that actually listens to the requests of a series fans. Adventure Time : Hey Ice King Why'd you steal our Garbage, does that. And it does it well. The only complaint that I'd really have about this game, is that it is solely fanbased. Being a fan of the Adventure Time series, it was easy for me to understand what Wayforward was trying to do, and why the game played out the way that it does. It is quite a short game, even with the New Game + mode, which ups the difficulty of the bosses. I think that if you're looking for a game to casually pass the time, and you are a fan of the series, then this game is a must have. However if you've never seen a single episode, or are looking for a game with length, then this isn't the game that you should be looking at. If you are a 3DS owner, then I suggest going into the eshop and downloading the demo first. Collapse
  13. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This game is basically taking you on an adventure with Finn and Jake ripped from the TV show. I started playing the game to see if it was fit for my 8 year old and could not stop playing. This game is funny and just a good time. If you like the series you will love this game.
  14. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    A must own for fans of the show. While the game's ease and length are a bit disappointing, that's almost entirely overshadowed by its faithfulness to the show and subtle nods to the first two Zelda games. It's easy to tell that the script was written by series creator Pendleton Ward, and he wisely incorporates as many fan favorite characters as possible, including many appearances by theA must own for fans of the show. While the game's ease and length are a bit disappointing, that's almost entirely overshadowed by its faithfulness to the show and subtle nods to the first two Zelda games. It's easy to tell that the script was written by series creator Pendleton Ward, and he wisely incorporates as many fan favorite characters as possible, including many appearances by the fabulous Lumpy Space Princess. The music is also absolutely perfect, balancing a modern sound and retro motifs. I would recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the show and any casual gamer looking for some quick fun. Anyone looking for a long game or a real challenge should avoid it. Expand
  15. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    I have to say that this game was great! The game is really short, and easy 90% of the time, but makes up for it by making every second fun (Plus the ease of common enemies made backtracking less annoying). The bosses were surprisingly difficult and made a great fight. The graphics were very nice and pleasing to look at. The dialog is funny I heard Pendleton wrote it himself. When you beatI have to say that this game was great! The game is really short, and easy 90% of the time, but makes up for it by making every second fun (Plus the ease of common enemies made backtracking less annoying). The bosses were surprisingly difficult and made a great fight. The graphics were very nice and pleasing to look at. The dialog is funny I heard Pendleton wrote it himself. When you beat the game a challenge mode unlocks, while not great for re-playability at least it's something. The controls were smooth, but using something from your inventory meant leaving yourself vulnerable for a second but hey, wouldn't you be if you were fiddling with your backpack? Game play wise it's a lot like Zelda II. My friends kept pointing that out as I played. tl;dr Pros:
    +A lot of fun!
    +Looks good
    +Great bosses
    +good dialog Cons:
    -Short
    -Little re-playability

    I'd recommend it for all Adventure Time fans, it's a must have!
    Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It's a great game, amazing graphics, amazing story and overall an adventure you shouldn't let it pass, even if you don't really like the series. I'd buy a 3DS/DS for this title alone...
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Whether you are a fan of the series or not, Adventure Time will not let you down. Sharply written dialogue and cleverly laid out quests are the draw here. Adventure Time follows the lead of the retro games that it wears on its sleeve, which is a very good thing. I enjoyed the sense of progression, as well as the brisk pace that the game moves at; you're whisked away from zone to zone,Whether you are a fan of the series or not, Adventure Time will not let you down. Sharply written dialogue and cleverly laid out quests are the draw here. Adventure Time follows the lead of the retro games that it wears on its sleeve, which is a very good thing. I enjoyed the sense of progression, as well as the brisk pace that the game moves at; you're whisked away from zone to zone, earning new powers for Jake and upgrades for Finn. The combat feels right, the music is excellent, the characters are memorable and the dungeons are enjoyable throwbacks to the source material that inspired them. The game does an excellent job of giving you a trail of breadcrumbs to follow through the world map rather than holding your hand through each phase of the quest. The only thing I can deduct points for is the fact that in 2 nights, and 2 sittings, I finished the entire game. My playthrough wrapped itself up in 6 hours, which feels short - even for a handheld. The good news, though, is that there is a new game plus option. The better news is that I began a second playthrough immediately after completing the first. Do yourself a service and pick up this lovingly crafted game. Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing, for fans or retro gamers, with that being said, this game takes you to a whimsical and weird yet amazing adventure, just like the series, fans of it can't go wrong with it, even people who dislike the series must give it a try.
  19. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    It's not very often that a game comes around that actually listens to the requests of a series fans. Adventure Time : Hey Ice King Why'd you steal our Garbage, does that. And it does it well. The only complaint that I'd really have about this game, is that it is solely fanbased. Being a fan of the Adventure Time series, it was easy for me to understand what Wayforward was trying to do, andIt's not very often that a game comes around that actually listens to the requests of a series fans. Adventure Time : Hey Ice King Why'd you steal our Garbage, does that. And it does it well. The only complaint that I'd really have about this game, is that it is solely fanbased. Being a fan of the Adventure Time series, it was easy for me to understand what Wayforward was trying to do, and why the game played out the way that it does. It is quite a short game, even with the New Game + mode, which ups the difficulty of the bosses. I think that if you're looking for a game to casually pass the time, and you are a fan of the series, then this game is a must have. However if you've never seen a single episode, or are looking for a game with length, then this isn't the game that you should be looking at. If you are a 3DS owner, then I suggest going into the eshop and downloading the demo first. Collapse
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    59
    Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd You Steal Our Garbage? is not really the typical lazy tie-in created as an easy cash cow: here and there you can see some intriguing ideas and cool stuff "à la Adventure Time", yet the inconsistency of the gameplay and the lack of fun seriously compromise the overall experience. Wouldn't it be time for a truly mathematical videogame?
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Apr 13, 2014
    68
    Less fun to play than it is to watch. [Apr 2014, p.91]
  3. Mar 6, 2014
    60
    There’s no obvious explanation about why the original game is released in Europe after its sequel. Calendar mysteries notwithstanding, Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why’d You Steal Our Garbage?! is a fun, entertaining and colourful experience, keeping the game close to its animated origins. Its short longevity and repetitiveness may disappoint more demanding players, though.