Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd You Steal Our Garbage?! Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?! is the first video game based on the radical, Emmy nominated Cartoon Network show about two close friends.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    85
    WayForward has struck gold once again, as the studio continues to prove its skill at crafting superb game designs for Nintendo platforms.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Hey Ice King is a potent distillation of everything that makes the cartoon such an uncommon, endearing powerhouse, and out of all the things I assumed this game would be, that was never, ever one of them.
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    75
    With 50+ characters from seasons 1-3 of the show in appearance, it feels like more than a love letter to fans. It's closer to an expertly blended Megazord of everything that makes the show great. If you are a huge fan of Adventure Time, and/or are a less experienced videogame player, feel free to tack two points on to the score.
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    70
    It's a flawed journey, mostly due to the hard-to-use inventory system, but it's definitely an adventure worth taking for anyone interested in an absolutely math journey through Ooo.
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    65
    Adventure Time is, first and foremost, for fans. Love the show and a good platformer? This game's for you. Expecting more, however, will only disappoint.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    The game is a really competent "My first adventure" sort of game. Its main points are the links to the old adventures of 80s and 90s and the great respect it shows to the cartoon. Unfortunately it is also a really short experience, and the price you have to afford to buy it, at least in Europe, is not justified at all.
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    50
    The overall experience of Adventure Time is just fine if not hampered by its reliance on old design. It’s inoffensive and is a fun one-off novelty at best.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It's a great game, amazing graphics, amazing story and overall an adventure you shouldn't let it pass, even if you don't really like theIt's a great game, amazing graphics, amazing story and overall an adventure you shouldn't let it pass, even if you don't really like the series. I'd buy a 3DS/DS for this title alone... Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    I LOVE this game. The writing is exactly like the TV show with all of the familiar faces too. The game play is nice and smooth, the health andI LOVE this game. The writing is exactly like the TV show with all of the familiar faces too. The game play is nice and smooth, the health and powerup system is great and the puzzles are both challenging and fun. My only complaint is that the random encounters that are on the map when you walk around can be annoying. Highly recomended for fans of the show, people who don't like the show or haven't seen the show won't get the same enjoyment out of it. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    A must own for fans of the show. While the game's ease and length are a bit disappointing, that's almost entirely overshadowed by itsA must own for fans of the show. While the game's ease and length are a bit disappointing, that's almost entirely overshadowed by its faithfulness to the show and subtle nods to the first two Zelda games. It's easy to tell that the script was written by series creator Pendleton Ward, and he wisely incorporates as many fan favorite characters as possible, including many appearances by the fabulous Lumpy Space Princess. The music is also absolutely perfect, balancing a modern sound and retro motifs. I would recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the show and any casual gamer looking for some quick fun. Anyone looking for a long game or a real challenge should avoid it. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    With this game I would say that it would have been a 7/10 if I wasn't a huge Adventure Time fan but because I am this game gets a better scoreWith this game I would say that it would have been a 7/10 if I wasn't a huge Adventure Time fan but because I am this game gets a better score cause to be honest this game was made for the fans with a huge world to explore and tons of levels. Expand
  5. May 27, 2016
    8
    Buen juego recuerdo en su epoca cuando lo jugue era muy bueno! Pero muchas personas ya tienen puesto en la cabeza que porque un juego es deBuen juego recuerdo en su epoca cuando lo jugue era muy bueno! Pero muchas personas ya tienen puesto en la cabeza que porque un juego es de alguna serie o pelicula automaticamente ya es malo pero no siempre es asi y este juego lo demuestra :/ Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2015
    7
    It's a pretty solid game. If you like Adventure Time you'll like this. It's a fun little retro-styled game. The down side is that it is aIt's a pretty solid game. If you like Adventure Time you'll like this. It's a fun little retro-styled game. The down side is that it is a really short game, which makes it feel a bit rushed. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2015
    2
    The title should be "hey developers! Why did you make this garbage!?!" It's not surprising that a TV/movie license video game would beThe title should be "hey developers! Why did you make this garbage!?!" It's not surprising that a TV/movie license video game would be TERRIBLE. This game is nothing but a VERY SHORT side scroller platforming game. sad thing is there iOS games are much better. The graphics are terrible, The story makes no sense, and the destination travel sequence is annoying. Uber of get the iOS games over this garbage. Good thing good about this game is Marceline the vampire Queen's battle theme kind a wish there was an extended version of her theme with more lyrics on iTunes and not that small Loop of music. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews