Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 104
  2. Negative: 4 out of 104
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Just a simple, relaxing video game that will definitely keep you entertained for hours on end. A game that is meant to be enjoyed at your own pace. The best feature of this game of course is the massive amount of customization involved. You truly feel as though you are creating a town that you are personally invested in. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am completely new to the Animal Crossing series. Up until this game, I had no prior knowledge of this series or what to expect when getting New Leaf. All I knew was that it was a life simulator with cute animal people in it.

    I ended up getting far more than I could have ever imagined. Your town and your people are ALIVE, make no mistake. This game is packed with little details and small charms all over the place that will make anyone new to the series say "Wow, really? I wonder what else will happen..."

    Your villagers are intelligent, they know what goes on around them and will comment on it. Your town grows over time, day by day, very slowly. Relationships develop, buildings rise, seasons change and villagers move in and out. There are over 300 possible citizens for your village, and you can only have 10 at a time. This is a painful kind of potential where you want to see as much as you can, but you'll only get there with time.

    It's much more than a slice-of-life simulator. It's literally another life, all to yourself, where you're in charge and these little animal people look up to you to make their town the best in the world. After a week, you may find yourself getting a deep-seated feeling for your little town and it's people, smiling at some of the things they say and hopefully getting a little chuckle out of it sometimes too.

    Daily routines are common, but somehow not repetitive or boring. There's plenty of options for things to do if something doesn't suit your mood that day, or you can just do nothing at all! This game has literally no obligations tied to it, and it makes for a very therapeutic sort of relaxation game. Go fishing. Plant some trees, water some flowers. Or just gaze at the stars.

    The possibilities are endless, and no two people will ever have the exact same town.

    I don't think I could have picked a better time to dive into the Animal Crossing series. $40 well spent; I'll be playing this game for years to come.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Animal's Crossing: New Leaf is a sort of life simulator game, where time flows just like it does in the real world.

    If you ever played an
    AC game before you know exactly what you're diving into, it's more of the same, only done better!

    For the newcomers, this is a game that you play day by day as the year goes by, partaking in events, meeting the locals, relax as you catch fish/bugs and generally just do whatever you feel like, there are lots of goals to accomplish in-game, be it completing the museum with various collectibles or decorating your house to your liking, pay your loan to get expansions to your house or just casually play with friends, there's something for everyone here.

    AC: NL brings some major and a lot of minor additions to the game, which ultimately enriches the experience by quite a lot, the biggest major addition tho, is being the mayor of your own little virtual town.

    Being the mayor brings in all sorts of extra features, like being able to build town projects and putting ordinances into place. These projects range from building a new bridge over the river to an expansion of the town museum...

    A minor addition (but a good one at that) is the ability to play with more people on 1 cartridge/town, this means if you and a friend/girlfriend want to live in the same town this is completely possible, but if your friend/girlfriend does something, this will be reflected the next time you start up the game for your character.

    All in all, Animals Crossing: New Leaf has something for everyone and when you find time to invest in it, you can play for months to come, it's not for people looking for a fast and action paced game, it's something you need to do a few minutes/hours a day while relaxing and enjoying your ever growing/evolving town.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    fiancé loved it, I thought it was alright. She was a fan since the wii version. if you like the wii version you will more than likely love the 3DS version. its not really my cup of tea but I can see how some like it. I gave it a 9 because I feel the developers accomplished what they were going for and gave you more choices. still could use more changes especially if it takes a couple years to make Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    As I am new to the Animal Crossing series I probably haven't got much say in this debate but since I got it at Christmas 2013 I would say it's a must buy for the Nintendo 3DS with it's layed back nature and simplistic objectives it's a very nice game to kick back and relax to. My only complaint is that maybe they could have added more Mini Games other than the Island games and also it's VERY addictive living your life just waiting for what wonders in the next day. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    If your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor of your chosen town which strays away from staring from the bottom as in other Animal Crossing titles such as City Life and Wild World. I felt disappointed with the game and felt the 3D in the game felt as if it was a gimmick.
    4/10 Poor Check Out My other reviews
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews