Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 122
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    This game is great! It's really improved itself from its Wii and DS counterparts. This game is vibrant and fun, and also quite relaxing. TheThis game is great! It's really improved itself from its Wii and DS counterparts. This game is vibrant and fun, and also quite relaxing. The addition to the new characters are wonderful, and also the addition of the House Renovation shop and the island. The whole game just leaves you feeling at peace, and it's just such a nice addition to the Animal Crossing series. I can't wait to see what they do next. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    I have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town isI have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town is awesome, not to mention the fact that you can choose where your house is, is awesome. The graphics are also beautiful, and the 3D really gives the game depth, which is subtle but very nice to have. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf Review

    Originally Posted at
    Animal Crossing New Leaf Review

    Originally Posted at http://www.yeahyeahcool.com/2013/08/09/animal-crossing-new-leaf-for-the-nintendo-3ds-review/

    by: Carla Valdes @Karluccia

    Animal Crossing has been a staple of Nintendo’s games since it first debuted for the GameCube back in 2001. The newest offering Animal Crossing New Leaf delivers the same addicting gameplay with many new additions to keep you coming back for more.

    If you have never played Animal Crossing, the basic idea involves you living and interacting in a small town where the other residents are these adorable animals that want to be your friend. The home you live in is expandable and you can fill it with furniture collections and knickknacks. Your day is spent doing errands for your animal friends, catching bugs and fishing for bells. Because the game is in real time, as you go throughout your day so does the life in the town. Time and seasons change and occasionally there are town events like fishing tournaments or fireworks display.

    New Leaf has brought a more extensive and personal touch to the gameplay. Here is just a small list of the many new additions:

    The first player who moves into your town gets to be Mayor! Their duties include town ordinances and public works with the ability to spruce up the town with benches, flower clocks and other decorations.
    Expansion to the museum with a second floor that allows you to create your own showcase.
    New stores including shoes, a coffee shop where you can work part-time, and Club LOL that features nightly entertainment.
    Travel by boat to a cute island to play mini games and buy island or mermaid themed furniture.

    This is definitely a game for collectors, and as a collector of things, Animal Crossing New Leaf taps into my OCD with gusto! I do recommend checking out the Strategy Guide, either in book form or online, to keep track of your collections. As for the game play, I wish they had added more to the monthly events and happenings since they seem to be on the skimpy side. But even with that tiny complaint, I still find myself checking in daily with the animals to see if they need anything, going shopping to find out what’s on sale at Nooks and stopping by the Roost café for a cup of coffee made with care by Brewster the pigeon. He knows my preference too, Mocha blend with 2 sugars and a little cream. Aahhh..perfect every time.

    A-
    Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf takes the fun of the previous games in the series, and adds new and innovative features. In this instalment, youAnimal Crossing New Leaf takes the fun of the previous games in the series, and adds new and innovative features. In this instalment, you become the mayor of the town, which means there is a lot more freedom and activities to do in the game. The game is fun and relaxing, so it is not for everyone, but most people can get lost in the game and spend hours playing it. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    Animal Crossing is an example of a simple game that is simply enjoyable. The art style is quaint, bright and cheerful. The characters are funAnimal Crossing is an example of a simple game that is simply enjoyable. The art style is quaint, bright and cheerful. The characters are fun and memorable. It is truely a quintessential Nintendo game and displays the creativity and uniqeness that Nintendo brings to the gaming industry. Yes, the game can be a bit slow and is not too enjoyable to play for hours at a time. However, for how simply the game is--it is quietly dynamic. Every day brings something new and fun to do. Every week brings a new surprise (like a lost sailor, an art dealer selling potential conterfits, a DJ, and more). Even every month can potentially bring a new surprise with new animals moving into your town, a holiday or a specifical event. Again, this game possess a quiet dynamism coupled with a cheerful art scheme and charming characters and charming activities to partake in. Enjoy. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    1
    I know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to itI know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to it than the first Animal Crossing, but I can't give into the hype. Honestly this game made me feel like I was playing a game meant for a 5 to 10 year old. Collect fruit, shells, and fish for money. Upgrade house, build bridges, do ridiculously easy favors like give a present to someone in exchange for a t-shirt, dig holes, catch bugs, send letters.. After just a week of playing this game, I was sick of the boring tasks I had to do repeatedly for dosh. I didn't feel like there were any difficult missions or game structure. I know there's more to it when you get deeper into the game but I couldn't tolerate how slow moving it was and the lack of things to do at night. Fantasy Life and Rune Factory 4 basically has the same things included in this game along with in depth missions and hours and hours of gameplay that is enjoyable. A few hours pass by and you're like wow I didn't realize. In Animal Crossing, I struggled to play for more than 30 minutes at a time, I lost interest easily. If you're in the younger crowd, this is for you. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews