Animal Crossing: New Leaf 3DS

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 538 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 123
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    This is such an addictive game, I bought several games since getting this & I just can't put this 1 down such a relaxing care free game ifThis is such an addictive game, I bought several games since getting this & I just can't put this 1 down such a relaxing care free game if this is your type of game you won't be disappointed with this one Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    I have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town isI have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town is awesome, not to mention the fact that you can choose where your house is, is awesome. The graphics are also beautiful, and the 3D really gives the game depth, which is subtle but very nice to have. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    This is my first Animal Crossing game and I have no regrets. This game was basically my summer, giving me lots of things to do everyday,This is my first Animal Crossing game and I have no regrets. This game was basically my summer, giving me lots of things to do everyday, growing my town, gaining the respect of my residents and developing my own house. If I have any issues with this game, is that the chatbox when talking to others is very short. Other than that, everything is so perfect that I don't even notice the little flaws. This game is known to be the best in its series, and I'm not surprised. Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    9
    Story: N/A
    Gameplay: 9/10
    - Simple and easy to learn. Art: 9/10 - Cute and quite adorable. Characters: 8/10 - All the villagers seem to
    Story: N/A
    Gameplay: 9/10
    - Simple and easy to learn.
    Art: 9/10
    - Cute and quite adorable.
    Characters: 8/10
    - All the villagers seem to have a certain type of personality, all interesting in their own way.
    Sound: 9/10
    - Pleasant sounds and music; DJ K.K. provides a variety of catchy songs.
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    - It is fun to play from time to time, but it can get extremely repetitive.
    I recommend people to play this with friends, since playing it by yourself can get boring really fast.
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    Now that I reflect on how much time I spent on this game, I'm surprised I haven't gotten all the badges yet. Besides that, I love this game! INow that I reflect on how much time I spent on this game, I'm surprised I haven't gotten all the badges yet. Besides that, I love this game! I have played less lately but I enjoyed the phase I had being addicted to this game. I will still cherish the time some random stranger at that island gave me a million bells. I highly recommend this game and who knows, you might just be as lucky as me! Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    1
    I know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to itI know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to it than the first Animal Crossing, but I can't give into the hype. Honestly this game made me feel like I was playing a game meant for a 5 to 10 year old. Collect fruit, shells, and fish for money. Upgrade house, build bridges, do ridiculously easy favors like give a present to someone in exchange for a t-shirt, dig holes, catch bugs, send letters.. After just a week of playing this game, I was sick of the boring tasks I had to do repeatedly for dosh. I didn't feel like there were any difficult missions or game structure. I know there's more to it when you get deeper into the game but I couldn't tolerate how slow moving it was and the lack of things to do at night. Fantasy Life and Rune Factory 4 basically has the same things included in this game along with in depth missions and hours and hours of gameplay that is enjoyable. A few hours pass by and you're like wow I didn't realize. In Animal Crossing, I struggled to play for more than 30 minutes at a time, I lost interest easily. If you're in the younger crowd, this is for you. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews