Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 112
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    This game has so much content I find it hard to find enough time to do everything I want to do in this game - there's so much you can do. ThisThis game has so much content I find it hard to find enough time to do everything I want to do in this game - there's so much you can do. This game is basically what I wish real life was like. Living simple without paying taxes and have Nintendo products everywhere. The animals all have unique and memorable personalities. The best entry in the Animal Crossing series by far. You being Mayor is so fun. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    My first Animal Crossing game...and I'm hooked. I'm not usually into games of this type, but I gave it a try because a lot of folks at myMy first Animal Crossing game...and I'm hooked. I'm not usually into games of this type, but I gave it a try because a lot of folks at my office play it and it has multiplayer. The multiplayer on this game is top-notch, for the kind of game it is--nothing like taking a boat ride with three of your friends and running off to go diving, fishing, and scavenger hunting together. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf Review

    Originally Posted at
    Animal Crossing New Leaf Review

    Originally Posted at http://www.yeahyeahcool.com/2013/08/09/animal-crossing-new-leaf-for-the-nintendo-3ds-review/

    by: Carla Valdes @Karluccia

    Animal Crossing has been a staple of Nintendo’s games since it first debuted for the GameCube back in 2001. The newest offering Animal Crossing New Leaf delivers the same addicting gameplay with many new additions to keep you coming back for more.

    If you have never played Animal Crossing, the basic idea involves you living and interacting in a small town where the other residents are these adorable animals that want to be your friend. The home you live in is expandable and you can fill it with furniture collections and knickknacks. Your day is spent doing errands for your animal friends, catching bugs and fishing for bells. Because the game is in real time, as you go throughout your day so does the life in the town. Time and seasons change and occasionally there are town events like fishing tournaments or fireworks display.

    New Leaf has brought a more extensive and personal touch to the gameplay. Here is just a small list of the many new additions:

    The first player who moves into your town gets to be Mayor! Their duties include town ordinances and public works with the ability to spruce up the town with benches, flower clocks and other decorations.
    Expansion to the museum with a second floor that allows you to create your own showcase.
    New stores including shoes, a coffee shop where you can work part-time, and Club LOL that features nightly entertainment.
    Travel by boat to a cute island to play mini games and buy island or mermaid themed furniture.

    This is definitely a game for collectors, and as a collector of things, Animal Crossing New Leaf taps into my OCD with gusto! I do recommend checking out the Strategy Guide, either in book form or online, to keep track of your collections. As for the game play, I wish they had added more to the monthly events and happenings since they seem to be on the skimpy side. But even with that tiny complaint, I still find myself checking in daily with the animals to see if they need anything, going shopping to find out what’s on sale at Nooks and stopping by the Roost café for a cup of coffee made with care by Brewster the pigeon. He knows my preference too, Mocha blend with 2 sugars and a little cream. Aahhh..perfect every time.

    A-
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    fiancé loved it, I thought it was alright. She was a fan since the wii version. if you like the wii version you will more than likely love thefiancé loved it, I thought it was alright. She was a fan since the wii version. if you like the wii version you will more than likely love the 3DS version. its not really my cup of tea but I can see how some like it. I gave it a 9 because I feel the developers accomplished what they were going for and gave you more choices. still could use more changes especially if it takes a couple years to make Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Before playing New Leaf, the only experience I've had with Animal Crossing was the original on the GameCube and while I enjoyed the original,Before playing New Leaf, the only experience I've had with Animal Crossing was the original on the GameCube and while I enjoyed the original, I was completely blown away from this game. I was addicted to this game since day one, there was lots to do and the game changes as time goes on which is both good and bad in a way. It's good because it gives you things to look forward to, but it was also bad for me mainly because I would get a bit impatient to see what happens next to the point of where I would start playing early in the morning. But there was plenty of activity to do and I would strongly recommend this game to anyone who has a Nintendo 3ds or 2ds. If you are only going to buy one animal crossing game, then let it be Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    If your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor ofIf your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor of your chosen town which strays away from staring from the bottom as in other Animal Crossing titles such as City Life and Wild World. I felt disappointed with the game and felt the 3D in the game felt as if it was a gimmick.
    4/10 Poor Check Out My other reviews
    Expand

See all 112 User Reviews