Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    This game is the gateway to your new life, and what a great life it is! This insanely addicting game is well worth any price you can find for it. This was my first version and I was still immediately sucked into the charm of my villagers even when I didn't know what to do. This is one of the few video games I can think of where I always smile or laugh at all the witty banter and puns that they can come up with. This game has a completely INSANE amount of content, and is meant to be digested in little bursts daily, unlike others where you would want to spree for a week or two. Probably what I most like about New Leaf though is how it never ends, I got my copy for Christmas and I never want to stop playing. Another win for New Leaf is how it makes you care about all your villagers. Whenever I accidentally forgot about meeting them I felt bad for them and wanted to do something to make them feel better. I cannot recommend this game enough, it is a 3ds must have, and you won't regret picking it up. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    My first Animal Crossing game...and I'm hooked. I'm not usually into games of this type, but I gave it a try because a lot of folks at my office play it and it has multiplayer. The multiplayer on this game is top-notch, for the kind of game it is--nothing like taking a boat ride with three of your friends and running off to go diving, fishing, and scavenger hunting together. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Animal Crossing is one of those games you keep coming back to over and over again with each iteration, and you never really know why. In its fourth installment since its Gamecube debut in 2002, it's still one of the freshest, most relaxing, and oddly enough, most addictive game franchises on the market. It's also yet another must-own for anyone who has a 3DS.

    The biggest difference between New Leaf and the prior Animal Crossing games is that this time, you are the mayor in your town, and as such, you have the ability to customize and improve your town like never before. If you have the money and you're willing to cough up the dough, you can buy various public works projects that add to the aesthetic of your town: things like streetlights, extra bridges, new shops, a night club, police stations, Resetti's headquarters, and more. In relation to previous installments, everything in New Leaf is much more streamlined. Most of the shops are bunched together in the area north of your town, while several staples from prior entries in the series, like the police station for example, are now public works projects that you can place anywhere in your actual town... after you pay for them of course. The depth of customizing your town will, needless to say, keep you coming back to the game, even after you've paid off the millions of "Bells" (the currency in Animal Crossing) it will take to expand your home to its biggest potential.

    I honestly can't even begin to explain how much furniture and clothing there is to collect in this game. After playing the game for two months, I still walk into the department store and see something new every time I go in. The sheer amount of items and collectibles will baffle you, and this is yet another aspect of the game that will bring you right back to it.

    Much of the New Leaf is business as usual, providing you with the same motivation to meet your neighbors, collect all of the bugs, fish, fossils, etc., and pay off that dang home loan that Tom Nook likes to harass you about. All of it is executed extremely smoothly and intricately, in typical Nintendo form. The visuals are delightful, the music is fairly relaxed, and the 3D effect is pretty good, but it really isn't needed for this kind of game anyway.

    Overall Animal Crossing: New Leaf is great fun. It's got a strange alluring quality to it that is unlike any other game out there. Considering all of the gritty and violent realism of many other video games on the market, Animal Crossing is a welcome and delightful detour. Without a doubt, it's a must-own for anyone who owns a 3DS, and is yet another great addition to the 3DS's already extremely impressive library of games.
    Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf takes the fun of the previous games in the series, and adds new and innovative features. In this instalment, you become the mayor of the town, which means there is a lot more freedom and activities to do in the game. The game is fun and relaxing, so it is not for everyone, but most people can get lost in the game and spend hours playing it. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Before playing New Leaf, the only experience I've had with Animal Crossing was the original on the GameCube and while I enjoyed the original, I was completely blown away from this game. I was addicted to this game since day one, there was lots to do and the game changes as time goes on which is both good and bad in a way. It's good because it gives you things to look forward to, but it was also bad for me mainly because I would get a bit impatient to see what happens next to the point of where I would start playing early in the morning. But there was plenty of activity to do and I would strongly recommend this game to anyone who has a Nintendo 3ds or 2ds. If you are only going to buy one animal crossing game, then let it be Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    If your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor of your chosen town which strays away from staring from the bottom as in other Animal Crossing titles such as City Life and Wild World. I felt disappointed with the game and felt the 3D in the game felt as if it was a gimmick.
    4/10 Poor Check Out My other reviews
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews