Asphalt 3D 3DS

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 37
  2. Negative: 22 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    55
    An unremarkable but serviceable racer that too often doesn't put its best foot forward. It's a shame it didn't capitalize on its stronger aspects to deliver a more consistently thrilling experience, but even with its flaws, there's some speedy fun to be had on these streets.
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    70
    Asphalt 3D signals great things to come for the racing genre on the 3DS, although frame-rate issues and silly collisions bring the action down somewhat.
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    60
    In the end, Asphalt 3D falls below gamers' expected standards. As far as technical aspects go, the controls are fine, while the sound and graphics have some issues. The gameplay is solid enough, but there are very questionable mechanics in play that either do nothing to the experience or ruin a few good moments. Multiplayer is limited by closing off every other mode but one for play, but at least the game makes good use of the StreetPass feature. For racing fans who have become early adopters of the 3DS handheld, stick with Ridge Racer 3D for your racing fix. If you've already grown tired of that game, then try renting this one to see if you can overcome the flaws and squeeze some enjoyment from the title.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    55
    On the one hand, Asphalt 3D delivers a rich single player career, a large number of online multiplayer modes and some decent 3D effects; on the other hand, the graphics are poor and suffer from frequent frame drops, while the physics are ugly. Not the racing game we were expecting from Gameloft, definitely.
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    60
    This is a decent game which will be liked by those looking for an arcade experience without much complication. Although the game is entertaining and has lots of content, it doesn't ultimately work that well.
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    60
    A mixed bag: lots of good ideas mixed with bad execution. I feel that this was a missed opportunity. If the game had a few more months of polish, we could have had two great racing showpieces for the 3DS launch.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    Asphalt 3D could be a nice alternative to Ridge Racer 3D, but some technical limitations seriously undermined the Gameloft production.
  8. Apr 4, 2011
    58
    As a mere porting from the iPhone version, it does not offer much challenge to the player with a very simplified gameplay.
  9. Mar 27, 2011
    50
    Asphalt 3D's flaws are mostly minor but there are too many to ignore, and it doesn't have enough of its own personality to make amends. Its twitchy handling does it no favours – half the fun of powersliding is wrestling control back from your car, but here the cars all bounce back to a central position as if spring-loaded.
  10. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    60
    Despite appropriating elements from the popular Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit and Burnout franchises, Asphalt 3D is an unexceptional arcade-racing title. [April 2011, p.86]
  11. Apr 20, 2011
    70
    Asphalt 3D is a arcade-racing game with a lot of cars and locations. The gameplay and the controls are casual and some graphical effects like the crash-animations are funny at best.
  12. A surprisingly good instalment. Well worth a look if you see it for 20 quid or so. [Apr 2011, p.90]
  13. Apr 10, 2011
    60
    At the end of the day fans of this genre might want to give it a whirl to see if it satisfies their need for a handheld racer before making the plunge into purchasing this title.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    2
    Asphalt 3D is A HORRIBLE,GLITCHY GAME,Don't Try This At all. 2 1/2 Out of 10, 33.8%Out of 100%,Don't Rent this Either It Is a Bad Need For Speed Clone
  2. May 10, 2015
    6
    I am in my 30 and I liked the game. Critics here are kind of hard and I decided to create an account to write my opinion after 30% of the gameI am in my 30 and I liked the game. Critics here are kind of hard and I decided to create an account to write my opinion after 30% of the game done.

    Graphics are okay. I have a 2DS so I cannot talk about the 3D aspect, but the 2D is very nice. The load between race and menu is fast which is great. The control is great, I cannot play racing game on a phone but with the Nintendo2DS it was perfect.

    It is not a perfect game, for example, the number of different tracks is limited to about 10. Even if you have about 70 races in the competition mode, most of them are repeated. Also, I do not like the fact that we have random car in the track. They are also going on the other way of the road which I guess was added to add more difficulty to the game. The difficulty is not very high but still fun to play. I also have a hard time to see car coming in the other direction because of the angle of the camera. Even if you can change from 3 positions, none seems perfect to see clearly what obstacles are coming. This is also the case with powerup that are so big and opaque that it hides coming vehicle. Nevertheless, this game is playable, fun and enjoyable. You are getting experience and money that you can apply on a lot of items in the game like booster, car parts, etc. This make the game fun between races.

    So far, the game said that I have done 30% in about 4 hours. So, I guess I'll be done within 10-12 hours. The replayability is good since you can play in free-mode against your past performance. Drifting is great, I really like it and easy to do. However, it is not as great as Grid game from the PC one where I was so thrilled about. But, this is ain't a drifting game but available. The difference between car does not seem to be very remarkable which is sad since some car cost (fake money) a lot. A weird thing is that even with a very fast car, it is impossible to start a race without being last in the track -- your car just cannot accelerate as fast as others.

    To conclude, this game is fun. It is not a 10/10 but for sure not under a 4/10. I have paid that game 15$ which is the maximum you should pay. In fact, this is a 10$ game in my opinion. However, even if I have pay more, I still give that game a 6/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    Ok, get this straight: Asphalt 3D is just (kind of) a port of Asphalt 5 for iOS onto a 3DS. The gameplay is Ok, but it doesn't feel like youOk, get this straight: Asphalt 3D is just (kind of) a port of Asphalt 5 for iOS onto a 3DS. The gameplay is Ok, but it doesn't feel like you are actually playing an official Asphalt game. It has everything a normal Asphalt game would have, but it has more. This might not be a problem, but you have to do three laps for each race. It has plenty of glitches and as a plus, the are cops trying to take you down. Its not as epic as a normal Asphalt game would feel, and not as immersive either. The 3D effects are not so good. But sure, if you are a casual gamer who happens to have a 3DS and no iPhone or Android, get this game. If you have a mobile phone, get Asphalt 8.

    It's definitely not the best, but not the worst.
    Full Review »