Asphalt 3D 3DS

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 37
  2. Negative: 22 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    40
    Gameloft has missed the opportunity to capture the racing genre from Day One with Asphalt 3D, offering up a slowdown-riddled identikit experience that will struggle to hold many gamers' attention for the duration.
  2. Edge Magazine
    May 8, 2011
    40
    It's almost a relief that the game struggling to break free from these severe technical shortcomings is mundane. [May 2011, p.104]
  3. 40
    It is a product without identity. Put all the great racing games over the last decade together and this is what you get.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    30
    The worst part is that Asphalt 6 on the iPhone costs $5 and looks and probably plays better than this $40 installment of the series. If you want a racing experience on the 3DS, I hear Ridge Racer is a lot better. Don't waste your time or money with Asphalt 3D.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    30
    Offering police pursuit races, takedown-focused bouts, and several other modes doesn't help Asphalt 3D's cause in the least. It's a buggy mess, and the controls are awful enough to make it a chore even when the game is functioning correctly.
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    25
    It appears, at a glance, that Asphalt 3D is an incredibly strong launch title. Local multiplayer, plentiful maps, decent graphics, and fast-paced gameplay should all mix together into something worthwhile. It doesn't take long for everything to fall apart, though, and before long the scratches on the surface turn to full-blown gashes.
  7. Mar 26, 2011
    20
    A bad game was bound to be released among all the launch titles of the 3DS. Asphalt 3D, even though its seems comprehensive on paper, can't make us stick to the 3D screen. Its production values are so poor, that it seems like it's been a rushed port from previous versions on low spec hardware. If you want to race in 3D with your 3DS, for the time being, favor Ridge Racer.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    34
    Avoid this expensive abomination at all costs.
  9. Apr 2, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    What's most frustrating is that I know Gameloft can do better than this. Hell, they have done better with Asphalt 6 and even Asphalt 5 -- mobile alternatives that are much cheaper (and more fun) for anyone with an iPhone, iPad, or Android device. In fact, just buy one of those games instead. Even if you just don't want to play Ridge Racer, Asphalt 3D isn't the better option by any stretch.
  11. games(TM)
    Apr 25, 2011
    30
    Occasionally playable, but just mostly horrible. [Issue#108, p.116]
  12. Apr 18, 2011
    42
    Asphalt 3D is nothing more than a checked box on the Nintendo 3DS launch lineup list. Apart from its genre there's nothing that makes it stand out in the launch library, and within its genre there's nothing that makes it unique. This game is entirely skippable unless you're desperate for a 3D arcade racer, but even then it's best to wait to see what else the 3DS has in store down the road.
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    30
    It's a £39.99 inferior remix of a £2.99 iPhone game with bad sound, bad graphics and shockingly slapdash collision logic. Not only is it the worst game of the 3DS' launch line-up, it's a contender for the title of 'worst launch game of all time'. Worse than Pen Pen. Worse than Tama. Worse even than Altered Beast. Do I really need to say it? Avoid.
  14. Apr 6, 2011
    45
    Visually, Asphalt has decent car models, but suffers from choppy performance, lots of pop-in, laughable animations, and tire marks that float above the road in 3D. It's as if it was made merely to look good in screen shots.
  15. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    Despite the many cups, cars, upgrades, skins, and everything else a cell phone game crams in to substitute for meaningful content, Asphalt 3D falls on its face straight out of the gate with a slipshod port of its mobile equivalent that at least demonstrates how busted most consolized phone games can get.
  16. Mar 27, 2011
    30
    Truly horrible.
  17. Apr 17, 2011
    40
    An ok racing game hides under too many big problems.
  18. May 20, 2011
    45
    Asphalt 3D is an extremely poor port that does not utilize any of the capabilities of the 3DS to any good extent.
  19. Mar 27, 2011
    30
    The 3DS did not need two Ridge Racer style arcade racers for its launch, least of all one as badly made as this tiresome wannabe.
  20. Nintendo Gamer
    Apr 23, 2011
    30
    This is the other one - the one that's quite crap. [Apr 2011, p.60]
  21. 20
    The only redeeming quality of the game is the unlockables.
  22. Mar 25, 2011
    40
    Launch titles are often rushed and not representative of what the console can really do, but Asphalt is poor even by these lowered standards. Of all the early 3DS games I've played, this one is a dead cert to be filling bargain bins in a few weeks.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    2
    Asphalt 3D is A HORRIBLE,GLITCHY GAME,Don't Try This At all. 2 1/2 Out of 10, 33.8%Out of 100%,Don't Rent this Either It Is a Bad Need For Speed Clone
  2. May 10, 2015
    6
    I am in my 30 and I liked the game. Critics here are kind of hard and I decided to create an account to write my opinion after 30% of the gameI am in my 30 and I liked the game. Critics here are kind of hard and I decided to create an account to write my opinion after 30% of the game done.

    Graphics are okay. I have a 2DS so I cannot talk about the 3D aspect, but the 2D is very nice. The load between race and menu is fast which is great. The control is great, I cannot play racing game on a phone but with the Nintendo2DS it was perfect.

    It is not a perfect game, for example, the number of different tracks is limited to about 10. Even if you have about 70 races in the competition mode, most of them are repeated. Also, I do not like the fact that we have random car in the track. They are also going on the other way of the road which I guess was added to add more difficulty to the game. The difficulty is not very high but still fun to play. I also have a hard time to see car coming in the other direction because of the angle of the camera. Even if you can change from 3 positions, none seems perfect to see clearly what obstacles are coming. This is also the case with powerup that are so big and opaque that it hides coming vehicle. Nevertheless, this game is playable, fun and enjoyable. You are getting experience and money that you can apply on a lot of items in the game like booster, car parts, etc. This make the game fun between races.

    So far, the game said that I have done 30% in about 4 hours. So, I guess I'll be done within 10-12 hours. The replayability is good since you can play in free-mode against your past performance. Drifting is great, I really like it and easy to do. However, it is not as great as Grid game from the PC one where I was so thrilled about. But, this is ain't a drifting game but available. The difference between car does not seem to be very remarkable which is sad since some car cost (fake money) a lot. A weird thing is that even with a very fast car, it is impossible to start a race without being last in the track -- your car just cannot accelerate as fast as others.

    To conclude, this game is fun. It is not a 10/10 but for sure not under a 4/10. I have paid that game 15$ which is the maximum you should pay. In fact, this is a 10$ game in my opinion. However, even if I have pay more, I still give that game a 6/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    Ok, get this straight: Asphalt 3D is just (kind of) a port of Asphalt 5 for iOS onto a 3DS. The gameplay is Ok, but it doesn't feel like youOk, get this straight: Asphalt 3D is just (kind of) a port of Asphalt 5 for iOS onto a 3DS. The gameplay is Ok, but it doesn't feel like you are actually playing an official Asphalt game. It has everything a normal Asphalt game would have, but it has more. This might not be a problem, but you have to do three laps for each race. It has plenty of glitches and as a plus, the are cops trying to take you down. Its not as epic as a normal Asphalt game would feel, and not as immersive either. The 3D effects are not so good. But sure, if you are a casual gamer who happens to have a 3DS and no iPhone or Android, get this game. If you have a mobile phone, get Asphalt 8.

    It's definitely not the best, but not the worst.
    Full Review »