Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    It might be less interactive, more linear and less challenging compared to other games, but few - very few - offer a vision so nostalgic and penetrating of the seventies suburbs of Tokyo and Kaiju monsters that threatened skyscrapers, all from a mysterious perspective and a restless mind of a ten year old infant.
  2. Aug 5, 2013
    70
    It feels a bit petulant to complain about the plot, though.It's clear that the real focus of Attack of the Friday Monsters! A Tokyo Tale is to immerse players in a bygone era of innocence which I'm sure reflects the personal experiences of the development team, and I can certainly appreciate it for that.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    70
    A Toyko Tale is brief and entirely linear – in the main, you’re simply walking between numbered waypoints, though you can unlock certain dialogues by losing your servant status – but Ayabe transports you so utterly to an unfamiliar time and place that it matters little. By the outlandish and oddly touching final act showdown, you’ll be a rapt spectator, cheering on the heroes alongside Sohta and his newfound friends.
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    62
    It’s a relaxing and charming little adventure priced rather out of its comfort zone, but it is not without value.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Attack of the Friday Monsters is an option to relax and appreciate an innocent, fanciful childhood of a Japanese kid.
  6. games(TM)
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    When it comes down to flat-out value for money? The 3DS store has plenty of other games to hold your attention. [Issue#139, p.120]
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    Play it for the laid back narrative and faithful recreation of 1970s rural Japan, not for a deep monster-battling system or a well-told story.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Absolutely wonderful little title that really captures the nostalgia and emotion of childhood to the point of making you smile and tear upAbsolutely wonderful little title that really captures the nostalgia and emotion of childhood to the point of making you smile and tear up slightly. The game's setting is small but a joy to venture around. Collecting glibs is fun and addictive (in a healthy, non-extreme way). The visuals and soundtrack really compliment each other and both components are superb on their own. The story itself pans out very differently to what I was expecting and it was for the better. Ignore the steep price tag, you owe it to yourself to have this title in your collection. Though gamers seeking a more hardcore, action-packed and challenging experience should look elsewhere. Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This game was fantastic in every way. Destructoids review was pretty spot on. The game is extremely nostalgic and really captures the magic ofThis game was fantastic in every way. Destructoids review was pretty spot on. The game is extremely nostalgic and really captures the magic of childhood. I found it involving me on an emotional level. It charmed me to death. The soundtrack is absolutely fantastic. When you consider all of this for the $5 price tag (I got it on sale) this buy is a no-brainer. Absolutely one of the best eShop titles I have purchased. Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2014
    2
    This game was recommended by many, and I saw it on sale at the eshop, and so I thought, "What the heck? It must be good since it's so wellThis game was recommended by many, and I saw it on sale at the eshop, and so I thought, "What the heck? It must be good since it's so well liked." Boy was I wrong. I went in expecting a game, and came out wondering where my game was and wanting a refund, because I felt robbed.
    Attack of the Friday Monsters! A Tokyo Tale, is what it states it is, a "tale", not a game, but a "tale". This tale, however, failed to entertain me. It fails as a game and a tale, because the story makes absolutely no sense it all. Without spoiling too much, there's monsters, aliens, kids, and cards. This all adds up to become a simmering pot of disaster. With this, the game actually takes itself seriously. There's a few jokes here and there, but for the most part, the game is supposed to be serious. NOTHING made sense and I was left with $3 gone to waste.
    If you're looking for a game, then don't buy this. If you're looking for a story, then don't buy this either. If you're researching horrible overrated games or if you feel like burning money, then this is just the "game" for you.
    Full Review »