Bit Boy!! Arcade 3DS

  • Publisher: Bplus
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2014
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Jun 2, 2014
    70
    Bit Boy!! Arcade is a prime example of a game with a strong exterior held back by a rough interior; the core of the puzzling action becomes monotonous, but everything surrounding it is too full of charm and wonder that it makes the game difficult not to recommend.
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    40
    Without anything remarkable to offer in the four fields that it touches upon - action, adventure, puzzle and arcade - this is best used as a basis to learn about how to make videogames, as the insights on game design found along the way are more entertaining than any other component the game offers.
  3. May 9, 2014
    40
    There are much better puzzlers on the 3DS eShop than Bit Boy!! Arcade, so you’re better off skipping this flawed endeavor unless you really want to hear a red, cherub-faced cube talk like a serial killer.
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    40
    With a hands-down fantastic soundtrack, a boat-load of charm, and a genuinely insightful celebration of the game development process, there's the ghost of a very good game buried somewhere inside. But confusing design choices, recurring glitches, and boredom that sets in far too quickly make it tough to recommend.
  5. Jun 18, 2014
    33
    Even though I have a lot of complaints with Bit Boy!! Arcade, I genuinely enjoy the core concept of the game. I liked speeding through each phase and setting high scores, but the plethora of flaws it has prevented me from fully loving the experience. The game could have been something fantastic, but it desperately lacks the polish it needs to be entertaining as a whole.
  6. 75
    Overall, though, I really like Bit Boy Arcade, and I continue to play it in an effort to get all the Pixel Flies and high scores. It’s a charming game with a few issues, but I’m having a good time despite them.
  7. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2014
    57
    This is the kind of bizarro indie creativity we like to see on 3DS, but the gameplay itself is a little on the duff side. [Aug 2014, p.87]
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 10 out of 14
  1. May 13, 2014
    1
    This game... The best way to describe the overall atmosphere of the game... is absolutely fisking terrible. Going into this game, I wasn'tThis game... The best way to describe the overall atmosphere of the game... is absolutely fisking terrible. Going into this game, I wasn't expecting a masterpiece, but what I got was a glitchy-broken down mess of a concept of gameplay, awful storyline, awful graphics. There's a nice soundtrack, but that's the only saving point of this awful, awful game. The characters are bland, especially the self-insert author that reminds me of certain fanfictions that I've read in the past, and the gameplay is completely broken, as I said before. And ten dollars for this? I'd like a refund, please and thank you... But I know I won't get what I want by complaining.m Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2014
    0
    This game is garbage. An uncontrollable, muddy mess of a game. The usage of play coins is horrible, and there are occasional horribleThis game is garbage. An uncontrollable, muddy mess of a game. The usage of play coins is horrible, and there are occasional horrible glitches, at least in my experience. Don't get this game, even if it's all you have to buy. Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2014
    0
    They say that one day, someone will bury all copies of this game in an internet land-fill, doomed to be untouched and regarded as the worstThey say that one day, someone will bury all copies of this game in an internet land-fill, doomed to be untouched and regarded as the worst game ever, until internet archeologists venture where no man has before and discover its secret. Also, no Ponies, Shrek, or Memes 0/10 would not bang again. Full Review »