Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: All six BIT.TRIP games are transformed into 3D, morphing into a single entity called /BIT.TRIP SAGA/. Experience the crushing difficulty of the rhythmic galaxies and ride along the long journey with CommanderVideo as he completes his mission and returns...home.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    85
    Bit.Trip SAGA stands alone as a visually enhanced, portable repackaging of some of the best games of this generation of consoles. Just like Paris, Bit.Trip SAGA is for lovers.
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    83
    The handheld format suits the Bit.Trip beats well, and although these games are available elsewhere the 3DS package is definitely one of the better and most concise ways to experience them regardless of a couple of omissions.
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    80
    Now, with the addition of 3D visuals, the games in handheld compilation Bit.Trip Saga are crazier than ever. [Sept 2011, p.82]
  4. 80
    Except for a few slow downs with the 3D effects on, this is just what portable gaming is all about. Snack sized fun with great music that just as easy to pick up as it is to put it down. Bit.Trip Saga is must have in all Nintendo 3DS collections.
  5. 75
    So is Bit.Trip Saga worth picking up? If you already own the WiiWare titles the answer is probably no. The 3D effect does add to the game, but not so much that most people will feel like rebuying them.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    The mixture of varying styles throughout the entire Bit.Trip Saga package is enough to keep fans of rhythm games content thanks to it proving to be far more than a run-of-the-mill music-based product, instead being a wonderful combination of great tunes and intriguing genre-splicing.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    50
    Bit.Trip Saga, the 3DS set, is certainly disappointing in that it's more of a bare bones grouping of the titles as opposed to the Wii compilation.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    The wonderful joy of 6 bit trip games... from home to home... And now you can play all six bit trip games on a hand-held device, without the need of a cable. And with a downloadable version of Bit Trip Saga which got released on December 20 for only $15, it will be a deal price with five games all together. Rather then that, the game starts with Commander Video, the protagonist. Some of these games will become your favorite. Others won't be... mostly Bit Trip Void is people's least favorite.(Void is my favorite game) As you go through the adventure of Commander Video, you will either cry or laugh(depends if you love him or not) at a certain point... It's a sad part... But this game is worth it, for a low price. This game is a fun and interesting game, but if you want more stuff like art and challenges, you should get the Wii version, called 'Bit Trip Complete.' Expand
  2. May 20, 2012
    10
    Six godsend games in only one cart? INSTANT BUY! THis is great! you can play the complete bit trip game saga in one cart, and it's awesome! Those games are soo good! Collapse
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    I'm giving 8.5 to Bit.Trip Runner and adding 0.5 because of everything else.

    Saga includes a great port of the game Bit.Trip Runner, but
    doesn't add anything new. The game contains 3 challenging somewhat-big worlds.

    The other 5 games in the collection seemed like mediocre mini-games compared to Runner.

    Runner is a great game, but I would have preferred to just have Runner; either alone through 3DSWare, or an extended version in Saga.

    I like Saga, but I would recommend getting Bit.Trip Runner (alone on a different platform) over this.
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    The Bit.Trip series has always been a shining example of a great indie game, and being able to play any of the bit.trip games portably on a Nintendo DS is a pretty awesome thing. Bit.Trip Saga gives you all of the great bit.trip games in one place, and then puts some pretty impressive 3d through it as well. The games all run smoothly, and the 3ds controls work great - especially those changed to use the touch screen. The 3d is subtle - about as noticeable as in the 3d classics games, but still great quality. The Games are all fantastic, but this compilation suffers from a lack of extras. Bit.Trip complete on the wii contains bonus levels for all the games, and comes bundled with the soundtrack, as well as containing video extras, but this collection is simply the games. Overall, a great game. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    3
    I've been putting off this review for quite some time and for good reason. My significant other purchased, played and clobbered the original bit.trip games for the Wii console, and I was looking forward to getting my hands on them as well in the portable format I so greatly prefer. I've actually grown attached to the soundtrack in its entirety, being a fan of some hardcore electronica, glitchcore, and 8-bit symphonic. I don't think I've ever been quite so let down in my life by anything. I've since even played through the originals in the console, and to call them significantly better is somewhat of an understatement. FATE is completely unplayable, since I'm left handed, and no effort to give those like me any chance at it was made whatsoever. Worse yet, it's by far one of my favorites of the series. RUNNER has a similar unplayability. A tiny amount of lag changes much of the timings, and said lag only gets worse as one plays. Even turning off and leaving off the 3D functionality entirely doesn't end it, prevent it or even limit it much. If you want to play the bit.trip series, stick with the Wii version, and pass this up. Just like I said of Sega and the Sonic Classics collection, I say deservedly for bit.trip saga on the 3DS: If you're going to do it, do it right, or just don't do it. Expand