Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BlazBlue: Continuum Shift II is an enhanced port of Blazblue: Continuum Shift.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Jun 7, 2011
    85
    The end result is one more excellent entry in what's become a fantastic library of brawlers for N3DS. [June 2011, p.86]
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    80
    Even with the lack of online multiplayer, the enormous amount of unlockable content will keep the brawls going long after the first punch is thrown. Blazblue has finally landed on a Nintendo console, and there's truly no better time to find out what all the fuss is about.
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    80
    The sheer variety of playing styles and technical options at your disposal is staggering; this is easily the deepest and most demanding title currently on the 3DS.
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    64
    Sluggish port of an excellent fighter. [Christmas 2011, p.88]
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    60
    BlazBlue Continuum Shift II shines in its gameplay but fails in every other aspect, due to the many flaws of a lazy porting.
  6. Dec 18, 2011
    60
    This game has its own style and it has got a lot of options. But the truth is that there are better fighting games for sale for the 3DS.
  7. Jul 8, 2011
    25
    Likewise, I wouldn't touch this game again over the higher quality Capcom and Tecmo offerings available on the same platform. I'd advise other push-button martial artists to do the same.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    I've never played the console version so i have nothing to compare it with, but this game is awesome. i also have Super Street Fighter IV but in my opinion this game is way better. it has way more modes and the cool anime style is awesome. the more you play the more experience points an money you get which you can use to level up, and buy better stats for Abyss mode. story mode is also awesome, especially since it has full voice acting. it might have been put off having to read a lot of text in a fighting game otherwise. anyways its a good game, the only thing it's missing would be an online mode. i don't really mind, i don't even play SSFIV online. i give this game a 9, but if you really like playing online knock off a point or two. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    Short and sweet, this is a 3DS port of the console Continuum Shift, and as far as ports go there ain't much better. Besides it's lack of sleep functionality (?) and no wireless fighting, there is no better way to hone your skills on the go for the big battle on PS3 or SexBox. As a 4 button fighter there are few-to-zero button configuration changes, and the little sprites may not be as high-res but are as detailed and supple as you could imagine them to be. Backgrounds are lacking compared to the console version but BB is fast enough for you to ignore it. I'd toted DOA as the premiere 3DS fighter but have traded it and SSFIV, one fighter is enough in my life and BlazBlue is it. Collapse
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I don't know why Japanese companies label games as sequels that obviously are not. This is no sequel as the "II" in the title implies. It is the Continuum Shift we were given on consoles only much smaller. They should call it BlazBlue Continuum Shift Portable or 3D, don't mislead with the title and make us think it is something totally new. That said, this is still a great game. Its is loads of fun, packed with content, and looks great. As apposed to DOA Dimensions and Super Street Fighter IV 3D, the framerate doesn't take a hit when the 3D is on, which is a plus, My only problem with the game is that graphically the characters look too small and coupled with the intricately detailed environments and all the chaos onscreen, it can be a little difficult to tell what is happening. The game controls great, it is easy to pick up and play and there is a lot of depth to be found if you sink enough time into it. There are so many modes, Story, Arcade, Legion, etc. There is also plenty of training that comes in the form of a standard practice mode against a dummy, and also a tutorial mode teaching you the finer aspects of 2D fighting. There is also plenty to unlock and collect, so this game should keep you busy for some time. Definitely worth picking up if you like fighting games, unless you already own this on a console in which case you can pass. I just hope Nintendo releases more games that aren't in the fighting genre soon. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    As much as I love the BlazBlue series, and believe me, I do. It has one of the most intriguing storylines ever written, for a game or anything else. While good at pretty much every other genre of game, 2-D fighters have never been my forte. That's putting it mildly. But when I heard about BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger, I just had to check it out. I was hooked on the story from that point on. When Continuum Shift was released last year, I had it pre-ordered in a flash. Despite my complete lack of skill or finesse, I enjoyed the game immensely for the story, well written characters, plot, characters, style, characters, design, and the characters. Did I mention the amazing cast of characters? Really? Alright. Anyway, BlazBlue: Continuum Shift II is NOT lacking in the department of storytelling, being a portable version of it's console father after all. What BB:CSII is lacking in is simply gameplay. For a fighting game, Blazblue and its spiritual predecessor Guilty Gear have a very unique style and flair, so normally, gameplay isn't an issue for an Arc System Works title. The more specific issue with this game is the poorly designed control scheme. You are limited to the D-Pad for movement and execution of special attacks, and the button interface, while customizable, doesn't fit well on the 3DS, particularly when paired with the D-Pad. I never experienced the "slowdown" in battles that some reviewers criticize. Perhaps it was a result of leaving the 3-D effect off for almost the entire game. While the 3-D effect looks nice, like most of the games available on the platform, it's not a whole lot more than just a simple gimmick. The inability to use the slide pad really hurts this title. I'm at least marginally competent with the series from my extended playthroughs, but using the D-Pad feels clunky and awkward, making it difficult to execute the combos the series has been well-known for. In fact, the D-Pad makes it so challenging, the game's "Stylish Mode" which simplifies the game to the point of button mashing, is almost a necessity. Completing the game's tutorial section becomes a chore, forcing you into the "Technical" or traditional mode, and the Challenge Mode becomes a nigh-impossibility. I can manage it on the console version, but my overly large thumbs can't quite manage it on the D-Pad. That said, by sticking to "Stylish" or "Easy" mode, the game is more playable. While advanced players may not be able to pull of the insane combos, infinite loops, and crazy stunts the console version is known for, "Stylish" mode looks just that; stylish. The games story mode is as rich as ever, and the DLC character's Arcade Mode shines some light on different parts of the story. Additionally, a hoard off beautiful images are available for unlocking in the games gallery, along with more powerful versions of the characters, palate swaps, voices, and more. The game also boasts the new Abyss Mode, which can be fun, despite the control issues. Unfortunately, the game suffers immensely from control issues on both the PSP and 3DS, and only those (like me) who can't wait to get home to get their BlazBlue fix should pick this title up. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    hey you know how blaze blue used two analog sticks on the consoles well on 3ds it tries to use the terrible D pad to control movement. the gameplay is sluggish, always slows down, the sprites look horrible. a horrible and ugly port that is one of the worst games on offer for the 3ds. get street fighter or dead or alive instead. A huge dissapointment for a long time blaze blue fan. Expand