Brain Age: Concentration Training 3DS

Brain Age: Concentration Training Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Dr. Kawashima's Devilish Brain Training: Can You Stay Focused?")Brain Age: Concentration Training offers newly designed training exercises that will challenge players with activities to help improve their concentration skills and the ability to access their short term memory.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    85
    While I did enjoy Brain Age: Concentration Training and still train every day with it, there are some aspects I didn’t enjoy. Some of the Devilish Trainings can be just downright tedious and off-putting at times while the game’s handwriting recognition could use a bit of work. However, if you can train enough days to unlock some of the other types of training, it can still be a fun experience.
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    The game features a nice array of fun and challenging mental exercises that will push your working memory to its limits, and its improved presentation makes the whole experience much more personal.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Aside from the useless Relaxation Mode, Brain Age: Concentration Training is a pretty solid entry in the Brain Age series. It doesn't make exceptional use of the 3DS hardware, since the 3-D effect doesn't amount to much when graphics consist of simple shapes and text.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    Even compared to the original Brain Age, Concentration Training is much more demanding, and players shouldn't expect to breeze through exercises and watch their training grade skyrocket.
  5. Aug 16, 2017
    70
    It does its job well, but it lacks Brain Training's focus and accessibility, making it a difficult recommendation compared to the past iterations.
  6. Jul 28, 2017
    70
    Dr. Kawashima returns to Europe after a long trip abroad, and it's been worth waiting as this new entry in the series is utterly good in its purpose, but is really conservative. 30 minigames and a new focus, perfect for this 3DS final life cicle.
  7. 30
    Assuming concentration is a problem worth solving (an assumption lacking the solidest of foundations), I will argue there are better, significantly more efficient, ways to address it than through another game from a device that's otherwise a regular dopamine provider by its own rights.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    Another great instalment of this serie. This time it has a lot of improved features, it's more beautiful, fully voiced, has more interestingAnother great instalment of this serie. This time it has a lot of improved features, it's more beautiful, fully voiced, has more interesting lectures and more challenging puzzles specially for the young people. The only step back that I would say is that the number of time one can play each puzzle is too restrict (5 min/day) and there's no way to play again, besides that it is a great game for those who desire to train the brain. Collapse
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Brain Age Concentration Training brings newly designed taining exerscises
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    Brilliant game, very intuitive, and very hard at higher levels. Once you get past the devilish calculations, it is very enjoyable. This was myBrilliant game, very intuitive, and very hard at higher levels. Once you get past the devilish calculations, it is very enjoyable. This was my first foray into the Brain Age series so I can't compare it to other iterations. Well worth the money. Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    This game is quite a new turn in the Brain Age series. First of all, Dr. Kawashima TALKS, and best of all, he becomes SATAN, a two-in-oneThis game is quite a new turn in the Brain Age series. First of all, Dr. Kawashima TALKS, and best of all, he becomes SATAN, a two-in-one DEAL! Joking aside, there are some pretty upset fans over the "bizarre design choices" the developers made over its gameplay. I will only repeat this once more, as I did in my review of Brain Age 2: HE'S A DOCTOR. He is helping the brain in news ways, completely different to original gameplay in the series, yes, but it can be both fun and innovative. The effects of the game DO pay off, and watching those graphs rise gives me thrills. Not all of the gameplay from the original games have been abolished at all. There are still many many exercises from the previous titles and even new ones as well aside from Devilish Training. I will say this though: If this is Brain Age, why did Nintendo remove the Brain Age Check? Expand

See all 5 User Reviews