Brain Age: Concentration Training Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brain Age: Concentration Training offers newly designed training exercises that will challenge players with activities to help improve their concentration skills and the ability to access their short term memory.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    85
    While I did enjoy Brain Age: Concentration Training and still train every day with it, there are some aspects I didn’t enjoy. Some of the Devilish Trainings can be just downright tedious and off-putting at times while the game’s handwriting recognition could use a bit of work. However, if you can train enough days to unlock some of the other types of training, it can still be a fun experience.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    82
    Launching for $35 USD, Brain Age is a bit pricy for what it delivers. But for that price you get a variety of different games that will truly challenge your mind, record your progress, and give you a serious sense of accomplishment if you actually manage to claw your way up in terms of performance.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Aside from the useless Relaxation Mode, Brain Age: Concentration Training is a pretty solid entry in the Brain Age series. It doesn't make exceptional use of the 3DS hardware, since the 3-D effect doesn't amount to much when graphics consist of simple shapes and text.
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    78
    If you think you’d have enough concentration to be able to endure those quirks, though, Concentration Training could very well help you overcome the many distractions in your life.
  5. 75
    Overall, it's a well-rounded experience that works well as an educational tool, and makes a point to appeal to a player’s mindset by constantly offering rewards for a job well done.
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    70
    For the most part, though, the game excels in taking mundane tasks and making these activities fun. At the same time, having to unlock everything (along with the required Devilish Calculations demo) is an awkward way to introduce players to the experience. Nintendo would be wise to remember this before releasing a sequel.
  7. It’s more pain than pleasure.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    Another great instalment of this serie. This time it has a lot of improved features, it's more beautiful, fully voiced, has more interesting lectures and more challenging puzzles specially for the young people. The only step back that I would say is that the number of time one can play each puzzle is too restrict (5 min/day) and there's no way to play again, besides that it is a great game for those who desire to train the brain. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Brain Age Concentration Training brings newly designed taining exerscises
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    Brilliant game, very intuitive, and very hard at higher levels. Once you get past the devilish calculations, it is very enjoyable. This was my first foray into the Brain Age series so I can't compare it to other iterations. Well worth the money. Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    This game is quite a new turn in the Brain Age series. First of all, Dr. Kawashima TALKS, and best of all, he becomes SATAN, a two-in-one DEAL! Joking aside, there are some pretty upset fans over the "bizarre design choices" the developers made over its gameplay. I will only repeat this once more, as I did in my review of Brain Age 2: HE'S A DOCTOR. He is helping the brain in news ways, completely different to original gameplay in the series, yes, but it can be both fun and innovative. The effects of the game DO pay off, and watching those graphs rise gives me thrills. Not all of the gameplay from the original games have been abolished at all. There are still many many exercises from the previous titles and even new ones as well aside from Devilish Training. I will say this though: If this is Brain Age, why did Nintendo remove the Brain Age Check? Expand

See all 5 User Reviews