Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Available in the U.S. - Feb 2014] This new yet traditional offering from Square Enix captures the charm and elegant and simplicity of yesteryear's canonical RPGs. Become a Warrior of Light and journey to the land of Luxemdarc in this classic tale of personal growth and adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    It sounds like a lot, and it is, but not in an overwhelming way but in a fantastic, three in the morning, I can’t stop playing this game kind of way. When it all comes together and you destroy a boss that gave you troubles just a few job levels ago, it feels great.
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    95
    For 2013, Bravely Default is easily the best RPG of the year that will keep fans of this genre extremely happy as they join these characters in their fight for freedom.
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    90
    Bravely Default is an RPG for everyone.
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    86
    Fans and open-minded newcomers will enjoy a substantial adventure that proves the JRPG is alive and kicking.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    A JRPG that only occasionally gives into the genre's worst impulses, and one that rewards strategy and dedication. [March 2014, p.70]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Bravely Default is a triumphant blending of a classic template with some fresh ideas and modern user-friendliness, albeit with a few areas that could still be refined before going on to the next level.
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    60
    Bravely Default's more interesting ideas, particularly the mechanics behind the battle system, breathe some life into a very traditional RPG. However, the game is also let down by its fair share of derivative and less ambitious features. Bravely Default disappointingly wastes a lot of its potential, but Square Enix will get another shot with the already-announced sequel.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 82
  2. Negative: 9 out of 82
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Wow, the atmosphere is classic, the scenery is elegant. I am waiting for such a game so long time. Maybe I am a bit out of date, but this is really my style. The only thing I don't like is the character setting, too cute. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Great game, so many skills and ways to custumize your character and a great story to boot, I do recommand playing with the japanese voice on. Hours of fun Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I'm only halfway through the game but I can say that I haven't been hooked to a game this way for a very long time. Loving the music, the characters, the story, the 3d effect is gorgeous.

    Some people complain about repetition in some part of the game, I say YES!!! I can play this game for months, even so, you can just set the auto function in minor fights and care about bosses and healing maybe. And with so many options to customize the way you play, I don't see how repeating those things over and over could be THAT bad.

    Buy the game, it's AWESOME!
    Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    This game is what the most recent Final Fantasy should play like ! It's using the classic battle system from the most beloved RPG serie with the great job system from Final Fantasy V. There is a lot of configuration that allow you to play like you want to play (change combat speed, change encounter rate (even set to zero), auto combat for faster grinding ...) instead of trying to dictate how you should play (like in the recent FF XIII series with level cap, no exp or gil at end of combat etc..).

    The first fourth chapters are a 10/10 but the last four are more of a 6. Since the last chapters can be done really quickly (2-3hours vs 50hrs for the first fourth for me) , i give this game an 8.5 .
    Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    In an ages-overdue delivery, Square-Enix finds dignity and declares not to have forgotten what a good J-RPG is. Surprisingly well intact, Bravely Default attentively caters to difficulty mongers and story-lovers alike. Rivaling or topping previous great J-RPG works among the expansive DS library, problems are few and achievements are high. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    First of all I like the BP combat system, adds a little bit of variety to your classic turn based rpg.
    The rebuilding of the town to unlock
    items and being able to send and receive moves to your friends is also kind of neat.
    The SP idea is cool (you get 1 point per 8 hours in sleep) but I don't like the idea of being able to buy 'SP drinks' with real money. Please leave the micro transactions to phone games.
    This game really utilizes the 3D and it looks great.
    Really my only issue with the game is that the story and dialogue is god awful.
    Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    Artificial padding and artificial difficulty do not a good game make, nor shoddy plots and vapid characters a good story. Square-Enix needs to give all of their money to CD Projekt Red, a far more superior RPG making company. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews