Bravely Default 3DS

Bravely Default Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 516 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Available in the U.S. - Feb 2014] This new yet traditional offering from Square Enix captures the charm and elegant and simplicity of yesteryear's canonical RPGs. Become a Warrior of Light and journey to the land of Luxemdarc in this classic tale of personal growth and adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    It sounds like a lot, and it is, but not in an overwhelming way but in a fantastic, three in the morning, I can’t stop playing this game kind of way. When it all comes together and you destroy a boss that gave you troubles just a few job levels ago, it feels great.
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    95
    For 2013, Bravely Default is easily the best RPG of the year that will keep fans of this genre extremely happy as they join these characters in their fight for freedom.
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    90
    Bravely Default is an RPG for everyone.
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    86
    Fans and open-minded newcomers will enjoy a substantial adventure that proves the JRPG is alive and kicking.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 12, 2014
    80
    A JRPG that only occasionally gives into the genre's worst impulses, and one that rewards strategy and dedication. [March 2014, p.70]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Bravely Default is a triumphant blending of a classic template with some fresh ideas and modern user-friendliness, albeit with a few areas that could still be refined before going on to the next level.
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    60
    Bravely Default's more interesting ideas, particularly the mechanics behind the battle system, breathe some life into a very traditional RPG. However, the game is also let down by its fair share of derivative and less ambitious features. Bravely Default disappointingly wastes a lot of its potential, but Square Enix will get another shot with the already-announced sequel.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 119
  2. Negative: 20 out of 119
  1. 794
    Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Not finished the game yet, but I absolutely love it. For the first time in a LONG time I'm actually playing a game that is challenging me! INot finished the game yet, but I absolutely love it. For the first time in a LONG time I'm actually playing a game that is challenging me! I love the character design and the voice acting is solid, too. Above all else though, the gameplay is simply fantastic. Don't miss out on this game! Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Okay, first off. This game, is my favorite Video Game of all time, and it is very hard to even get on my top 10 list, so you imagine howOkay, first off. This game, is my favorite Video Game of all time, and it is very hard to even get on my top 10 list, so you imagine how amazing this game is for me. Admittedly, I'm a sucker for RPGs, but this is more than a typical RPG.

    First off, the Visuals, absolutely gorgeous. There are a lot of minute details that are so fun to notice, such as noticing Anchiem has no earth underneath it, and is just hanging from its sides. There isn't much to say about the visuals except for the fact that they're absolutely stunning.

    The music. While it never stood out to me, it is still a very nice soundtrack that I wouldn't mind purchasing at all. Also, the Voice Acting is very well done. Anyone who says otherwise... Mrgrgr...

    The story... If I did explain even the first 30 minutes, I'd go way over the 5000 character limit. So, I'll explain just the intro. You are greeted by a little fairy, and she asks you to go on a journey, and to never leave. Not much choice with this game, or... At all... She assumes you say yes and thanks you, and you are introduced to our four main characters through the most beautiful cutscene in gaming. You see a Girl, wielding a sword, and you hear her explain herself. "I am Edea Lee" are the first things you hear. She is battling a Master of the sword and loses, she then is given a blade by the Swordsmaster after hers is broken, and then sent off. She is the daughter of the Templar, but you don't quite know who that is until later on. You then are introduced to a man in a city, he says he has no memory, but says his name is "Ringabel", which I greatly enjoy the pun of, he is introduced as a "ladies' man". You then see a girl in a temple. "I am Angés Oblige." You hear. She then says she is the "Vestal of Wind", whatever that means. (You find out later.) She is praying to a Green Crystal. (The Wind Crystal, it's a Final Fantasy-esque game, what did you expect?) Then it turns a black and seems to explode. You hear "Protect the Vestal!" and all the Torches lighting the area go black. You then are introduced to a young man, "My name is Tiz Arrior." you hear. He lives with hid Brother, Til, in the village of Norende, living a calm, peaceful life. Suddenly, the city starts being consumed by an abyss forming from the inside out. Tiz and Til run, but Til falls, Tiz manages to grab his hand and attempts to pull him up. Til says to his brother, "Let me go! We'll both fall at this rate!" and Tiz still keeps trying, but he loses his grip, and his brother falls... An amazing way to introduce you to the characters, huh? The rest of the story gets even better, especially with all the side-quests giving you bonus parts of the story (along with new jobs).

    The Gameplay is where the game shines its brightest, so, I'll start with the selling point of the game, the Brave and Default system. You have Brave Points, every action requires one Brave Point and you get a Brave Point at the end of a turn. You can use Brave up to three times per turn, allowing for a maximum of 4 actions per character. Default is the guard of this game, but not only that, but it doesn't cost Brave Points to use, so you can accumulate Brave Points over time. You can also Brave from the beginning and go into the Negative, but until you're back out of negative BP, you can't act. Also, there's SP, which is BP on steroids. You can accumulate SP by putting your DS in Sleep Mode while Playing, and every 8 hours, you get 1 SP. s with BP, you can get a maximum of 3 SP, and also go into the negatives. What makes SP so special is that you can use it at any time. Also, while attacking with SP, you can go over the damage limit of 9,999 and go all the way up to 999,999 damage in one attack, which is easy in no way, shape, or form. Also is the Job system. These are the incentives to doing side quests, unless you want the story like me. You can get ~9 jobs through the main story, but with side quests you can get all the others for a total of 24 each character can have 2 jobs at the same time, one primary, the other secondary. The primary job grants the look of the character and a passive ability and can level up. The secondary only has the battle commands for that job. You can switch jobs at any time, allowing for a lot of customization. Along with attack commands, when a job levels up you can unlock a support ability, which is an equip-able passive skill. You start with one support slot and unlock 4 more throughout the story. Some abilities take up more than one slot. A support skill can be used regardless of what job you are, whether you are using the job that it is from or not. The entire job system allows for so much character customization and I love it for that. There's also an equipment system and item system, generic Final Fantasy stuff. But the equipment is more like Dragon Quest 9's equipment system, minus effecting the character's look (minus costumes).

    So, yeah. My favorite game, and why. Do yourself a favor and buy it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This game is some of the most beautiful video game graphics I've ever seen. Words other reviewers have used are elegant and lush totallyThis game is some of the most beautiful video game graphics I've ever seen. Words other reviewers have used are elegant and lush totally agree. Couldn't agree more in fact. That alone makes this game such a refreshing play. Just playing in pure beauty... Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    I have to say, this game is amazing. The battle system is superb-- not too simple to bore the hardcore gamers, and not too complex to confuseI have to say, this game is amazing. The battle system is superb-- not too simple to bore the hardcore gamers, and not too complex to confuse the more casual gamers. The storyline itself could use some work (the first portion of the game felt incredibly rushed, in my opinion) but it's honestly an incredibly fun game to play. I'll say this, though: it almost feels as if the female characters are reduced to slabs of meat at times-- some mild, and usually subtle sexist remarks/stereotyping, and some suggestive comments-- which was, in my opinion, one of the game's major cons.

    Aside from that, I personally would recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2015
    8
    This game is , in my opinion, one of the best games of 2014. The battle system, from which the game derives is name, is very innovative. OtherThis game is , in my opinion, one of the best games of 2014. The battle system, from which the game derives is name, is very innovative. Other than the standard options, you have a 'Brave' and a 'Default' option. Using the 'Brave' option, you can attack multiple times in a turn and by using the 'Default' option, you can bide your time and attack. This makes for some interesting strategical choices.
    This game also has a huge selection of jobs, each job being unique and having its own unique abilities and attacks. This offers even more choices to the player as you can play the game the way you want.
    This game also has a good story and a large amount of game time.
    One of the major flaws of this game is the repetitiveness of the second half of the game. Without spoiling too much, you are forced to repeat the same tasks over and over again. This just takes away all the momentum of the story and it turns out the be a grind. I almost stopped playing the game at this point.
    But I kept plugging away and I finally did finish the game, and the ending proved to be worth it.
    This major flaw alone should make the game get a 7/10, but honestly, I had a lot of fun with this game, and I have decided to award it an 8/10.
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Bravely Default is a game that can be praised for taking the elements of a classic Final Fantasy title and install a brand new twist. The plotBravely Default is a game that can be praised for taking the elements of a classic Final Fantasy title and install a brand new twist. The plot and characters feel like something straight from the SNES Final Fantasy titles with a more modern atmosphere and more fleshed out characters. Possibly one of the biggest selling point of this game is the gameplay which incorporates a simple yet innovated idea with bravely to allow characters to use multiple actions (so you can revive a character and then use cure to heal them all in one turn) and default which allows the characters to defend and stock up on BP (so you can use bravery without losing any turns). The music is another selling point though to be fair, Final Fantasy is known for its amazing music ever since its NES days and Bravely Default's music is nothing short to the greatness of past Final Fantasy titles. The game falls apart when voice acting and graphics comes into play. Though most of the main characters are good, some of the voice acting and dialogue for some of the characters are just unbearable or their voice feels mangled in some way. The graphics though charming feels weak compared to other 3DS titles. Despite its faults, I'd recommend Bravery Default to any RPG fan. Though Final Fantasy X is coming out on the Vita, the originality of Bravery Default, charms, and use of classic elements that were once common in the Final Fantasy series hold more value then the HD remake. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2016
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ** SPOLER BELOW **

    To summarise, the game is a straight spit in the face.

    True, the first part of the game is amazing, but that's where it stops. The developer apparently ran out of money and decided to just have you repeat the same four bosses four more times. When I got to this part I stopped playing for a month before I decided to actually bother with finishing it. As it turns out, this was a big mistake as after killing the bosses 4 times you meet a boss that is literary impossible to beat. Even with all my characters at lvl 65 and beating everything to this point without too much trouble I literary get one/two shotted in the second phase of the boss. There is nothing I can do, and you can't go back to levelling up. You're stuck with no way to finish the game. Note that this is on EASY difficulty, don't even want to think about Normal or Hard. I wasted hours doing the repetitive part to be faced with this...

    Do yourself a favour and stay away from this game. It simply ain't worth it.
    Expand

See all 119 User Reviews