• Publisher: Level 5
  • Release Date: Jun 20, 2013
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    75
    Whether you want to casually roll through and blow up some insects on the easy setting, or wrack your brain to test your mettle with manual shooting and an insanely difficult campaign, BUGS vs. TANKS! offers a little something for everyone.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    One-track, funny and very rough around the edges. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  3. Does exactly what it sets out to do. We're just not entirely sure if that qualifies as a success. [Sept 2013, p.89]
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    60
    Simple strategic elements in a quirky setting fit the portable nature of the Nintendo 3DS perfectly, and the only drawbacks come from a few repetitive missions, the unusual lack of touch screen elements, and somewhat clunky control system.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    60
    Bugs vs. Tanks! seems to have all the feats of a good game, but the final result is a non-intriguing shooter which doesn't know what wants to be, if a super fast action game or a deep and complicated simulation.
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    This is certainly not the best game that Inafune or Level-5 has ever offered, but still there are some nice features that will please its audience.
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    50
    You fight bugs until the credits roll, and if that doesn’t hook you at the beginning, then you’re especially not going to love it by the time you’ve played the game for its 4 hour run time.
  8. Jul 3, 2013
    50
    To poor attention to detail, Bugs vs Tanks! adds bad controls and even worst graphics. The gameplay itself is boring and simplistic, and can't offer a good challenge to the player.
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    50
    While the basic concept and gameplay may be enticing for many players, the fact is that BUGS vs. TANKS! is a repetitive and overly simplistic experience. The campaign is short and involves a plot that delves much deeper than simple survival, but the gameplay quickly becomes boring and loses its charm. That's not to say that this is a bad or broken game, but it falls flat in its attempts to create an experience that is both engaging and fun.
  10. 50
    In the end if you forget that you’re playing as World War II Germans, and you play a mission or two at a time, there’s some fun to be had in there now and then, even if it is bug sized and not as complex as an actual tank. That being said, the overall experience isn’t a particularly good one.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    40
    A frustrating, often ugly game that fails to impress on almost every front.
  12. Jul 2, 2013
    40
    Bugs vs Tanks! is a great B-Movie idea in search of a game to do it justice, but this just isn’t it.
  13. Jul 3, 2013
    30
    Exploration feels clumsy and laboured, and it’s all too easy to be overwhelmed by a swarm, bumped from wasp to ant and back, stun lock preventing you from firing again as your health bar steadily depletes. We didn’t expect high art, but criminally, Bugs vs. Tanks doesn’t even offer low-budget thrills.
  14. Jun 27, 2013
    16
    You might think that I'm overreacting, that I should just look at Bugs vs Tanks as some silly little downloadable oddity, that I should put politics aside and just focus on the game play. I mean, inherent ideology aside, what you've got here is essentially Earth Defense Force-lite, but shrunk down to its basic components so that it fits on the 3DS — and God knows I love EDF.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    This games pretty meh. For 2.99 on sale in the eshop i would say its worth it. However, the gameplay is a bit erratic. Playing it on easyThis games pretty meh. For 2.99 on sale in the eshop i would say its worth it. However, the gameplay is a bit erratic. Playing it on easy difficulty I still experience a level every now and again thats insanely difficult. Up the difficulty more and you'll be in for a real frustrating challenge. The addition of multiplayer helps its score out quite a bit for me. Fun for quick little sessions with friends. The graphics are awful, it looks like a 3DS game. Its a hit or miss game, but for 2.99 on sale its worth the risk because you may end up liking it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    This game isn't too bad, I suppose. It has an interesting story and can be both a walk in the park or a insane challenge. It does lackThis game isn't too bad, I suppose. It has an interesting story and can be both a walk in the park or a insane challenge. It does lack gameplay elements that would've made it better and really has terrible graphics for something on a 3DS. Full Review »