Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: String together colourful bubbles and burst them in the exhilarating puzzles for which the game has come to be known, now upgraded with an all-new feeling of depth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. May 8, 2011
    75
    Same brilliant game it always has been. [June 2011, p.89]
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    60
    Bust-A-Move Universe has some serious negative sides (like being way too short and having no multiplayer), but the core gameplay is as solid as ever.
  3. May 1, 2011
    60
    Puzzle Bobble Universe is really entertaining. It's funny and challenging, but only for 88 levels, because there aren't more levels in the game. Also the missing multiplayer modes, the lack of innovation and the pure 3d feeling are lowering the score. If you like Puzzle Bobble, the game is pretty nice, but you don't need a 3DS. The game could easily be published on the DS/DSi with nearly no losses on graphical details.
  4. 48
    You'll complete the game within a couple of hours, with little more to do than unlock self-gratifying awards.
  5. May 13, 2011
    40
    An oldie but a goodie. Alas, also a shortie. [May 2011, p.50]
  6. May 10, 2011
    40
    The pre-historic puzzle-animals Bub and Bob shoot bubbles in three different dimensions this time, which really says it all. The game has no multiplayer modes, doesn't use the unique 3D-capabilities and can be finished in a few hours. The game simply isn't worth your money.
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    16
    With features actually removed from what the last DS game was like, only 80 levels of play, and no use of anything but a serviceable 3D effect from the new Nintendo hardware, Bust-A-Move Universe has broken down.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Believe it or not, this was the game I was most looking forward to at launch. This is because my only other experience with the Bust-A-Move series was the stellar DS version (Bust-A-Move DS, not the more recent B-A-M release). The reason I love the DS game so much is it's robust multiplayer options and the fact that you shoot your bubbles via the touch screen like a sling-shot. I expected it to be more of the same, only in 3D, and to have this game for the life of my 3DS system, like I did and do with B-A-M DS.

    What I got was a very barebones game with NO touch screen controls and NO multiplayer. The game controls with the D-pad and shoulder buttons, which I assume is how all other B-A-M games control other than the DS version. This would be great if it were all I knew, but it's not. Knowing that there's a much more fun way to play was very deflating. As far as the lack of multiplayer goes, that's a crime. I believe head-to-head has been a part of the series for some time now, and with the great multiplayer offered in the DS version, it seriously just makes me sad because this game is such a wasted opportunity.

    On the plus side, it does adequately function as a Bust-A-Move game, and the 3D graphics look cool and colorful. As far as features go, this game is seriously lacking. There are two main game modes and some metals or something to collect for meeting certain criteria. However, these metals do nothing. In closing, stay away from this game at all costs. With Bust-A-Move DS able to be played on your new 3DS system, you'd be better off playing that and enjoying yourself, knowing that the added 3D graphics aren't worth all you'd have to give up.
    Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    Terrible. Absolutely terrible. The game is very boring and brings nothing new over previous versions. Without any online play capabilities, you will get tired of it very quickly. Collapse
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    By far the worst Bust a Move Game ever made. It has less features and content than them dam GAMEBOY COLOUR Bust A move, to say nothing of the Ds or Ps1 games. The Vs computer mode is gone, multilayer is gone, and single player is about a 1/10 of the length it is in other games, without difficulty levels to improve the experience. Every single new mechanic this game introduces is poorly convinced and poorly tested. This game offers absolutely nothing over any other Bust a Move, and its existence is rendered redundant by the DS games. I cannot recommend this game to anyone, unless all the copies of the ds games disappear from existence. Even then, its still outclassed by every other Bust a Move Game. which is just sad. A 3ds game should have more features than a GBC game that is at least a decade older, and shouldn't be so utterly terrible compared to a PS1 game released in 1996. Expand