• Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2011
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    45
    There is the skeleton of a good game in here: a multiplayer-focused Smash Bros clone starring Cartoon Network characters. But it's just too buried under poor controls and a mediocre single player campaign to achieve fun status.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    55
    Punch Time Explosion's ensemble of Cartoon Network characters falls victim to the evil forces of shallowness and frustration.
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    62
    So much more could have been added, from online features to trophies and other collectibles. Sadly, after finishing the story and having a few battle rounds, Punch Time Explosion has little more to offer.
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    48
    Punch Time Explosion had a good opportunity to impress 3DS owners hungering for a worthwhile experience following the handheld's weak launch lineup, but it simply falls in line with the other disappointments. Cartoon junkies may love seeing their heroes in action, but those used to Smash Bros. polish will want to pass on this one.
  5. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    70
    But overall, I had fun with Cartoon Network Punch Time Explosion -- and if the 3DS version managed to impress me, I'm officially on watch to see what the upcoming console version of the game is going to look like.
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    75
    Cartoon Network Punch Time Explosion is a decent fighting game.
  8. Apr 27, 2012
    51
    Second rate Smash Bros. with a first-rate cast. Fun for a bit, but quickly gets tired. [June 2012, p.83]
  9. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    Not a terrible game, but it fails to capitalize on what it was trying to mimic. The controls are spot on, but the game is shallow. The characters are in abundance, but they all feel fairly similar.
  10. May 6, 2011
    70
    Punch Time Explosion is not a trendsetter; that's for certain. But with no portable Super Smash Bros. in sight, it's a likeable interpretation that will curb your cravings--or start them anew. [May 2011, p.89]
  11. Jun 20, 2011
    60
    Everything from the story to the moves to the items are ripped straight from Smash Bros., and the pieces just never come together into a similarly quality experience.
  12. 75
    A wonderful example of how to make a good Smash Bros. send-up. It's not quite as polished as Nintendo's premier fighting franchise, but it is a fun experience with an entertaining and interesting single-player mode, as well as amusing multiplayer, if you can find the people around to play it.
  13. Shows promise, but the combat hasn't been fine-tuned carefully enough. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  14. Feb 26, 2012
    52
    A passable clone of Nintendo's classic brawler is undermined by a frustrating single-player mode. You're better off waiting for the real thing instead. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  15. Jun 23, 2011
    70
    Solo fighters can also duke it out with the CPU, but the real draw here is CNPTE's surprisingly fleshed-out story mode. Lightning-quick combat, loads of unlockable characters, fun stages that effectively capture the flavor of the source material, and varied challenges should keep fans absorbed throughout. It's not about to rob Smash Bros. of its championship belt, but it's still a thumb-blistering good time for anyone who can claim to have spent a few couch-bound afternoons soaking in Cartoon Network's unique brand of boob-tube fare.
  16. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After sixThis game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After six hours deep into the storyline, I realized that Punch Time Explosion was not an attempt for the creators to make a quick buck. The game has great production value, great gameplay, and awesome wi-fi multiplayer (even though my roommates are better than me).

    We used to play a LOT of SSBB, and when we started playing Punch Time, it brought back some great memories. The game has a good range of characters that are nicely balanced. I actually like that the makers of the game followed some of the rules that Smash did. Your damage percentage goes up during a fight, which will make you fly farther off the arenas. The characters have Smash attacks that can be timed to do a lot of damage. I wish Smash was on 3DS, but since it's not, you can at least play Punch Time. It's easily the best smash fighter out there on 3DS.

    They definitely chose the best characters from Cartoon Network. Samurai Jack and the Powerpuff Girls are probably the best fighters, in my opinion. However, my roommates tend to use Dexter, Grim, Ben10, and Numbuh One the most. You'll have to play the game to find your best characters.

    The reason why I'm giving the game a 10, is because it's a brand new title on a brand new console, and offers quality art and gameplay. I was getting bored with playing Street Fighter, because I had already played it to death on 360. Of all the original titles for 3DS, this is the best one.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    2
    I got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I wasI got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I was disappointed. it's just like super smash brothers except it doesn't have any qualities that made SSB such a hit. the fights are pretty boring, the story mode voices are redundant and lame, it basically doesn't keep my attention. I had some hope for the game but that's now all out the window. if you really want to try this game, I recommend renting it at best Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    Before I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account theBefore I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account the bad things: -Terrible Music, -Short length to beat the whole game, -Atrocious and outdated character selection, -Almost retarded AI, -No Online, -No Street pass, -Imperfect Precision in Controls, -Similarity in Move sets, -Bad Cut scenes in Story Mode, -Similar level design for Story Mode, -Inconvenient menus, -Imperfect hit detection, -Glitches that cause the 3DS to restart (3 times, even; this has never happened in another 3DS game before), -Tediousness within the game -Overall, a lack of polish that should have been considered during its creation. If you know what's good for you, consider this before buy this game (most likely if off eBay or from Walmart). Overall, 0.8/10, the worst 3DS game I have ever played Full Review »