• Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2011
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    Before I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account the bad things: -Terrible Music, -Short length to beat the whole game, -Atrocious and outdated character selection, -Almost retarded AI, -No Online, -No Street pass, -Imperfect Precision in Controls, -Similarity in Move sets, -Bad Cut scenes in StoryBefore I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account the bad things: -Terrible Music, -Short length to beat the whole game, -Atrocious and outdated character selection, -Almost retarded AI, -No Online, -No Street pass, -Imperfect Precision in Controls, -Similarity in Move sets, -Bad Cut scenes in Story Mode, -Similar level design for Story Mode, -Inconvenient menus, -Imperfect hit detection, -Glitches that cause the 3DS to restart (3 times, even; this has never happened in another 3DS game before), -Tediousness within the game -Overall, a lack of polish that should have been considered during its creation. If you know what's good for you, consider this before buy this game (most likely if off eBay or from Walmart). Overall, 0.8/10, the worst 3DS game I have ever played Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    2
    I got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I was disappointed. it's just like super smash brothers except it doesn't have any qualities that made SSB such a hit. the fights are pretty boring, the story mode voices are redundant and lame, it basically doesn't keep my attention. I had some hope for theI got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I was disappointed. it's just like super smash brothers except it doesn't have any qualities that made SSB such a hit. the fights are pretty boring, the story mode voices are redundant and lame, it basically doesn't keep my attention. I had some hope for the game but that's now all out the window. if you really want to try this game, I recommend renting it at best Collapse
  3. May 11, 2013
    3
    my review is lengthy, but covers the whole game plot.

    the game is similar to SSBB, but the controls are slippery at first. i've beaten the whole game on my wii just to get through those long and hard stages, and possibly the hard bosses. as for the voice actings, i give it an e- for the terrible voice actings such as dexter's new voice, grim's and johnny bravo's. ok, here are the
    my review is lengthy, but covers the whole game plot.

    the game is similar to SSBB, but the controls are slippery at first. i've beaten the whole game on my wii just to get through those long and hard stages, and possibly the hard bosses.
    as for the voice actings, i give it an e- for the terrible voice actings such as dexter's new voice, grim's and johnny bravo's.

    ok, here are the things that the PTE could be improved in the sequel on the wii u, ps4, PS vita, xbox 720, and the 3DS:

    dee dee could be a playable character portrayed by kat cressida, little suzy as a playable character portrayed by mae whitman (hint: the character model is from johnny bravo season 1) lee lee as a playable character voiced by kath soucie, manaphy and victini as an unlockable character for 300 points portrayed by michele knotz and grey delisle, and mawile (a female one) as a starter character portrayed by tara strong. also the cartoon network PTE 2's bosses are in the following example:

    kyurem (both white and black formes) and red genesect, dark vegan, boogey and creeper, charmcaster, and both the remote control and it's twin ultra remote (sends out 20 enemies).

    the assists would be of the following example:
    mindy (billy and mandy, she saps you for damage when latched on), meloetta (her singing confuses the opponent, then damages you in it's aria forme), dukey test (bites and rams into you), and numbuh 362 (hugs you, and saps you for medium-high damage).

    ok, finally, lets wrap this sequel up with the controls of the following example.
    mawile's normal smash is a quick focus punch that inflicts around 37-48 damage, and her signature PTE is a combination of swords dance and belly drum, and gains invincibility for 1 minute. and when her PTE is activated, and when she attacks anyone (including boss enemies), the enemies and bosses get damaged really significantly.

    and that's how the upcoming punch time explosion sequel would be made one day.

    other words, i give this game a d minus for some flaws and voice actings.
    Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    I got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I was disappointed. it's just like super smash brothers except it doesn't have any qualities that made SSB such a hit. the fights are pretty boring, the story mode voices are redundant and lame, it basically doesn't keep my attention. I had some hope for theI got it for the xbox 360 and the games pretty lame. I was excited too bc I couldn't find the game anywhere and when I finally did, I was disappointed. it's just like super smash brothers except it doesn't have any qualities that made SSB such a hit. the fights are pretty boring, the story mode voices are redundant and lame, it basically doesn't keep my attention. I had some hope for the game but that's now all out the window. if you really want to try this game, I recommend renting it at best Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.
  2. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    51
    Second rate Smash Bros. with a first-rate cast. Fun for a bit, but quickly gets tired. [June 2012, p.83]