Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion 3DS

  • Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2011
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    The game includes a lot of great shows like Johnny Bravo, Kids Next Door, Samurai Jack, and a lot more classic Cartoon Network cartoons. The game play is like a downgraded version of Super Smash Brothers and the characters start to get boring somewhat quick although the story line is great! I just wish it included more characters like Courage the Cowardly Dog, Cow and Chicken, and otherThe game includes a lot of great shows like Johnny Bravo, Kids Next Door, Samurai Jack, and a lot more classic Cartoon Network cartoons. The game play is like a downgraded version of Super Smash Brothers and the characters start to get boring somewhat quick although the story line is great! I just wish it included more characters like Courage the Cowardly Dog, Cow and Chicken, and other classic cartoons. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    A decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect is fantastic and adds to the game. The main problem though, is that this is the most glitchy game have ever played. You can't go through 30 minutes without the screen freezing up in story mode. The game was a let down for me. Without the glitches,A decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect is fantastic and adds to the game. The main problem though, is that this is the most glitchy game have ever played. You can't go through 30 minutes without the screen freezing up in story mode. The game was a let down for me. Without the glitches, would've given this game a 7, but sadly the glitches make an otherwise good game... suck. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Cartoon Network Punch Time Explosion is an Average Game That is A Super Smash Bros.Clone That is Okay. Emphasis on Okay. It is Fun on Battle Mode, Hard on Story Mode and Packs a decent Super Smash Bros. Clone, 7 Out of 10, 71.4% Out of 100%, Rent it Before Buying it to see if you Like It
  4. Oct 17, 2014
    5
    Horrible Super Smash Bros Clone! I mean it! What´s the point to unite all of your favorite characters from TV and copy the smash formula if they can´t get it right?
  5. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    The main gripe about this game is that it didn't have new characters (i.e Finn, Jake, Mordecai, Rigby, Gumball etc etc). This game is meant to remember the old characters like Chowder and Numbah 1. There is a wide selection of characters, along with good gameplay and graphics. Though, I recommend the re-release for the consoles, as it has a larger selection of characters (Johnny BravoThe main gripe about this game is that it didn't have new characters (i.e Finn, Jake, Mordecai, Rigby, Gumball etc etc). This game is meant to remember the old characters like Chowder and Numbah 1. There is a wide selection of characters, along with good gameplay and graphics. Though, I recommend the re-release for the consoles, as it has a larger selection of characters (Johnny Bravo being an example), and slightly better graphics Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2016
    5
    It's Super Smash Bros. for Cartoon Network fans. Get the real games starting with the latest installments on Nintendo 3DS and Wii U instead of buying this.
  7. Dec 29, 2015
    5
    It's a perfectly decent game, with a few flaws including unbalanced characters, a repetitive story mode, and laggy multiplayer, but Smash triumphs over it in every way. Just get SSB4.
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    After reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d doesAfter reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d does make it look great and it has no frame drops. The roster is made of a variety of characters and each with their own move sets. The story itself is solid and does a pretty good job at changing the scenes and characters. The amount of different scenes is very good and varies from cartoon to cartoon. multi player is also a plus since it has Download play, vs cpu and vs player local. The only real error I can find in this game is the terrible voice acting and sounds in general. While some characters do sound fine most of them seem off even with earphones. The explosions and other noises tend to be low quality and the only thing that didnt hurt my ears was the narrator,but this problem can be easily fixed by turning your volume off. So overall this is a very solid 3DS brawling and will help kill off your bordom till better games come out and eventually they bring smash brothers to the 3DS(it has been announced). Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.
  2. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 27, 2012
    51
    Second rate Smash Bros. with a first-rate cast. Fun for a bit, but quickly gets tired. [June 2012, p.83]