Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion 3DS

  • Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2011
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After six hours deep into the storyline, I realized that Punch Time Explosion was not an attempt for the creators to make a quick buck. The game has great production value, great gameplay, and awesome wi-fi multiplayer (even though my roommates are betterThis game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After six hours deep into the storyline, I realized that Punch Time Explosion was not an attempt for the creators to make a quick buck. The game has great production value, great gameplay, and awesome wi-fi multiplayer (even though my roommates are better than me).

    We used to play a LOT of SSBB, and when we started playing Punch Time, it brought back some great memories. The game has a good range of characters that are nicely balanced. I actually like that the makers of the game followed some of the rules that Smash did. Your damage percentage goes up during a fight, which will make you fly farther off the arenas. The characters have Smash attacks that can be timed to do a lot of damage. I wish Smash was on 3DS, but since it's not, you can at least play Punch Time. It's easily the best smash fighter out there on 3DS.

    They definitely chose the best characters from Cartoon Network. Samurai Jack and the Powerpuff Girls are probably the best fighters, in my opinion. However, my roommates tend to use Dexter, Grim, Ben10, and Numbuh One the most. You'll have to play the game to find your best characters.

    The reason why I'm giving the game a 10, is because it's a brand new title on a brand new console, and offers quality art and gameplay. I was getting bored with playing Street Fighter, because I had already played it to death on 360. Of all the original titles for 3DS, this is the best one.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    After reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d doesAfter reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d does make it look great and it has no frame drops. The roster is made of a variety of characters and each with their own move sets. The story itself is solid and does a pretty good job at changing the scenes and characters. The amount of different scenes is very good and varies from cartoon to cartoon. multi player is also a plus since it has Download play, vs cpu and vs player local. The only real error I can find in this game is the terrible voice acting and sounds in general. While some characters do sound fine most of them seem off even with earphones. The explosions and other noises tend to be low quality and the only thing that didnt hurt my ears was the narrator,but this problem can be easily fixed by turning your volume off. So overall this is a very solid 3DS brawling and will help kill off your bordom till better games come out and eventually they bring smash brothers to the 3DS(it has been announced). Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    If you ever wanted a smash bros game but with different characters other than nintendo, then this is the game. The gameplay feels exactly like smash but in my opinion movement control of the character is even better. Every character has their unique traits, speed, attacks, movement, so you can find a character that matches your style of gameplay. The graphics are right at the top of 3dsIf you ever wanted a smash bros game but with different characters other than nintendo, then this is the game. The gameplay feels exactly like smash but in my opinion movement control of the character is even better. Every character has their unique traits, speed, attacks, movement, so you can find a character that matches your style of gameplay. The graphics are right at the top of 3ds games, it has a lot of detail and animating stuff going on which some 3ds games do not. The music matches each cartoon level you play in and the end song on credits is hilarious. The game in general has a lot of the CN charm and funny stuff. The story mode is really good with a great story behind it and i cant stop playing the multiplayer battle mode. when friends come over thats all we do is battle it up against each other. I havnt put this game down since i got it. Get this is game if you like smash bros type of game and want a great story mode as well! Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    As an old time Cartoon Network show fan (especially Dexter and Power Puff Girls) this game really hits the spot. It comes with a great single player experience that combines fun game play and combat with platform elements and mini-games that make this feel refreshing and fun from start to end. Further if you have some friends around it lets you play up to 4 players Wi-fi and lets youAs an old time Cartoon Network show fan (especially Dexter and Power Puff Girls) this game really hits the spot. It comes with a great single player experience that combines fun game play and combat with platform elements and mini-games that make this feel refreshing and fun from start to end. Further if you have some friends around it lets you play up to 4 players Wi-fi and lets you battle it all out. It is a plus if you are familiar with Super Smash controls as this game mimics those and it will give you and edge fighting your friends (or AI if you have no one around) or just beating up enemies in single player. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    This is a good fun game. It could be better. There are a lot of great elements such as the characters, combat and so on. Personally, it was a lot of fun for me and my family.
    DaddyGamer15 was hired from the development studio, which I heard from a team member. He is bitter about the developer, therefore vent his frustration on this site. Metacritic should have filtered it and figured out
    This is a good fun game. It could be better. There are a lot of great elements such as the characters, combat and so on. Personally, it was a lot of fun for me and my family.
    DaddyGamer15 was hired from the development studio, which I heard from a team member. He is bitter about the developer, therefore vent his frustration on this site. Metacritic should have filtered it and figured out personal agenda and attack on his comment.
    Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Dogs like cheese, cows like monkeys! Planet Sheen is oh, so funky!
    Okay, I get the last part, but the first few lines, you're just off bro!
    Skateboards rock! Shoes like feetsies, you are watching Planet Sheensies Okay, it's not called "Planet Sheensies" Sheen! Dance! Sheen! (You know what they say Sheen; it ain't par-tay until somebody breaks a tongue! Check!) Sheen! That's just
    Dogs like cheese, cows like monkeys! Planet Sheen is oh, so funky!
    Okay, I get the last part, but the first few lines, you're just off bro!
    Skateboards rock! Shoes like feetsies, you are watching Planet Sheensies
    Okay, it's not called "Planet Sheensies"
    Sheen!
    Dance!
    Sheen! (You know what they say Sheen; it ain't par-tay until somebody breaks a tongue! Check!)
    Sheen!
    That's just creepy
    Tuna noodle casserole!
    Sheen: Pomegranate stew
    Stranded on a planet...
    Whatcha gonna do?
    Change your name to Larry?
    Rub bacon on the queen...
    It all makes perfect sense on...
    PLANET SHEEN!
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.
  2. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 27, 2012
    51
    Second rate Smash Bros. with a first-rate cast. Fun for a bit, but quickly gets tired. [June 2012, p.83]