User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 184 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 184

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    Is it a good Castlevania game? No. Is it a good game in general? No, it's mediocre. I'm only giving it a 1/10 because some are overinflating the score. In general it's a 6/10, at best a 7/10. Not worth a full price, buy it once the price drops or used.
    The attempt of mixing SotN with LoS is sadly a failure on both ends.
    The controls are stiff, doesn't allow for d-pad for platforming
    sequences that should have it, there are problems with hit detection, which gets quite annoying at times. Laughable boss fights, QTEs, uninspired enviornments and no leveling system.
    Combined with the failure in the use of multiple characters, with them being locked experiences and never really allowing yourself to invest in each character.

    Let's just hope LoS2 turns out good.
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    It is sad to see what has happened to the once majestic Castlevania series. I thought things couldn't possibly get worse after Lords of Shadow but I was wrong. Konami made Mirror of Fate. Graphicly it looks HORRIBLE. Worst 3D graphics I've seen in a long time (and considering how awesome their sprites looked before it's just adds more insult). The gameplay is boring, cumbersome, and doesn't flow in the slightest. Didn't play much so I didn't get to see just how atrocious the plot was (if it's anything like the previous Lords of Shadows, it's God awful). I can't recommend this game to anyone, especially a Castlevania fan. Just go play the DS and GBA Castelvania games and, of coarse, SotN if you've never given it a try. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    This title was very disappointing, despite carrying the Castlevania name. The music was almost non-existent, which is a shame because the series is known for its great tunes. Platforming in the game is atrocious and the game gladly lets you platform without throwing any enemies of note at you (a far cry from the careful platforming of the previous games.) You also take unnecessary fall damage if you fumble a jump. Combat, to be put quite simply, is repetitive. It takes multiple hits to fell a skeleton of all things. Likewise, there are points on the map where you can heal to full health. This would normally be fine, but this game isn't a full blown "Metroidvania" like SotN. Finally, boss fights. Absolutely horrible. Not only are there checkpoints in the middle of boss fights, there are QTEs--a mechanic that should have ended with Shenmue. QTEs also exist elsewhere in the castle and not in boss fights, and they're equally as asinine. Funny how this series has included the undead in every game is now reduced to a shambling corpse. Collapse
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    0
    All castlevania games by mercury stream are They have terrible stories, music and gameplay. You want to know how to beat lords of shadow attack 4 times then roll. Thats works for everyone except last boss. And this game is laughable as well. I am surprised and happy that ign got the score right!!!
  5. May 13, 2014
    0
    this is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevania symphony of the night. hope mercury system stops doing god of war clones
  6. Aug 7, 2014
    3
    Despite some of the graphics that are pretty nice and some impressive 3D effects, the game itself is so boring and guided that it's more like watching a show than playing an actual game. I hate that bosses are weakened the second time we try to beat them, and those cinematic shots that just ask you to press X or B or something like that in order to deal the final blow. I'm glad I got this game for only 12$ so it's not such a big waste of money, but it's still a huge disappointment after playing the previous handheld Castlevania titles! Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    This title was very disappointing, despite carrying the Castlevania name. The music was almost non-existent, which is a shame because the series is known for its great tunes. Platforming in the game is atrocious and the game gladly lets you platform without throwing any enemies of note at you (a far cry from the careful platforming of the previous games.) You also take unnecessary fall damage if you fumble a jump. Combat, to be put quite simply, is repetitive. It takes multiple hits to fell a skeleton of all things. Likewise, there are points on the map where you can heal to full health. This would normally be fine, but this game isn't a full blown "Metroidvania" like SotN. Finally, boss fights. Absolutely horrible. Not only are there checkpoints in the middle of boss fights, there are QTEs--a mechanic that should have ended with Shenmue. QTEs also exist elsewhere in the castle and not in boss fights, and they're equally as asinine. Funny how this series has included the undead in every game is now reduced to a shambling corpse. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. May 22, 2013
    70
    Mirror of Fate is a good game, but it can disappoint fans used to the Metroidvania formula.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    65
    It feels like an odd mesh of classic Castlevania, Symphony of the Night, and Lords of Shadow, and like any jack of all trades, it masters none of these elements.
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate is a game that tries to take the best of both new and old Castlevania but ultimately comes up short all round.