User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 186

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    I got to tell you this is a huge step in the right direction for Konami. I mean its been a really long time since there has been a good 2D Castelvania (Harmony of Despair - 2010). This triumphant return to good ol 2D pit jumpen, whip cracken action is just what the doctor ordered.

    I'm giving it a 9 because Alucard should ONLY use a sword PERIOD.
  2. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    Great graphics, great gameplay, good story. However, after finishing the game you are left with the feeling that the game could have been more. The game cries for a sequel with some minor improvements to the gameplay such as more complex leveling, items and a deeper magic system that could make it the greatest castlevania portable game since the GBA and DS ones.
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    3
    Despite some of the graphics that are pretty nice and some impressive 3D effects, the game itself is so boring and guided that it's more like watching a show than playing an actual game. I hate that bosses are weakened the second time we try to beat them, and those cinematic shots that just ask you to press X or B or something like that in order to deal the final blow. I'm glad I got this game for only 12$ so it's not such a big waste of money, but it's still a huge disappointment after playing the previous handheld Castlevania titles! Expand
  4. May 13, 2014
    0
    this is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevania symphony of the night. hope mercury system stops doing god of war clones
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    If you looking for something kinda like a older castlevania experience with some new twists this game will not disappoint. My biggest gripe with the game is that it could be a little longer and I feel like it is lacking some of your more classic RPG elements. I'm hoping they make more castlevanias like this in the future as well as one in the standard castlevania format .
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    Beautiful looking 3DS game. Solid gameplay and I personally liked the the atmosphere. For me there is no bad thing in the game but it still roars for something more..
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is how Castlevania should have been. 2D platformer with a lot of challenge and great level design. It's a stepfoward for Konami, this game is good for old and new Castlevania fans, the game have suberb graphics and an amazing soundtrack.
    The only reason that this game is hated it is because it is not "3D KILL EVERYONE ON THE SCREEN BLOOD GORE or "IT'S NOT METROID". If you are a fan
    of 2D plaformers like (the original) Castlevania, Super Mario Bros., you should try this one out; Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Massively under-rated game. These are the best stereo 3D visuals on the system imo. The world really comes to life and there are awesome details everywhere you look.

    As mentioned plenty elsewhere, the gameplay isn't exactly classic Castlevania, but I find the platforming really solid, fun, and at times tricky, but not frustrating. The combat feels a bit more like a 2D God of War than
    classic Castlevania, but this also allows for some level of personal mastery by combining air dashes, dodging, blocking, and counters.

    Overall, super well done. If you think you might like it, you'll love it.
    Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    The atmosphere in this game is fantastic. The implementation of 3d in this game is the best I've seen on the 3ds with lots of depth and variety of artistic gothic background (better than luigis mansion which is applauded for its 3d also). This adds tremendously to the immersion along with the outstanding orchestral soundtrack which is one of the best soundtracks in gaming period. (A true delight when listened to with earphones). The combat is tight and has a hefty weight to it which makes the player feel more connected to the action as you can feel your whip hitting your enemy. The block, dodge, grab, and other variety of moves all add to the gameplay experience. Nothing feels just simply tacked on. Everything is useful for a certain situation. The pacing and longevity of the game also feel more balanced than previous ds castlevania games. The shorter, tighter quest helps prevent the game from becoming a tedious grind. The game simply feels epic from the very beginning. It helps that the story told in mirror of fate is an emotional and heartfelt one. This makes the combat and traversal feel very purposeful and not simply added to kill a bunch of monsters along the way. Theres a large variety of creatures you encounter and awesome boss fights. The quick time events are perfectly implemented and make you feel like a badass. The puzzles are fun and the platforming feels natural and easy to maneuver. The sound effects are also top notch. Mirror of Fate returns to the darker feel of the earlier Castlevanias and its very exciting. This is one of the best mature games for the 3ds. Its refreshing to see the developers create such a mature experience for a nintendo system. Overall, this game is amazing and one of the best castlevania games ever! Hopefully we will see this series continue as you can see the developers are very passionate about making a good castlevania game. Looking forward to Lord of Shadows 2!!! Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    While a great game, I would not call it a "must own". This is a game worth your time but not one of those games that should be cleaned, polished, and put on a golden stand. This game does deserve major consideration, whether you're a fan of the series or not (like me), this should get a chance. The metroidvania 2.5D platforming looks great with the 3d effect and the gameplay is adventurous and fun.The game definitely represent the "vania" part of metroidvania in good spirit. The cutscene animation, while I'm not a fan of how they spoke, was fine and dandy. In short, if there is no game out there you are particularly looking for, give this one a shot, odds are you like it Expand
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    If you liked Lords of Shadow, then you'll enjoy this game...that's about the easiest way to briefly summarize it. The story, graphics, and gameplay all take after the newer direction Konami seems to be taking the franchise in.
  12. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    It is sad to see what has happened to the once majestic Castlevania series. I thought things couldn't possibly get worse after Lords of Shadow but I was wrong. Konami made Mirror of Fate. Graphicly it looks HORRIBLE. Worst 3D graphics I've seen in a long time (and considering how awesome their sprites looked before it's just adds more insult). The gameplay is boring, cumbersome, and doesn't flow in the slightest. Didn't play much so I didn't get to see just how atrocious the plot was (if it's anything like the previous Lords of Shadows, it's God awful). I can't recommend this game to anyone, especially a Castlevania fan. Just go play the DS and GBA Castelvania games and, of coarse, SotN if you've never given it a try. Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    This game caused me some serious anger issues.
    Combat is f u c k i n g horrible, you can never tell when some enemies are gonna hit you because they don't televise their attack all taht well you can't even see them sometimes because your whip is so frickin bright and shiny while you are swinging it.
    Some enemies take unbearable QUANTITY of hits and you can't tell when they're gonna
    finally die because the game doesn't provide you with any nformation on their health. All you can do is count your hits but you will never know if they actually hit the enemy because you can't see through your f u c king whip!
    Enemies have unblockable attack which they can pull out of their ass while you are flailing on them.
    You can guess how are thse attacks televised.
    By a f u c k i n g white light which you can't even see through your motherfocking whip!
    Expand
  14. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    Other Castlevania games are fast paced and have uninterrupted gameplay and exiting music. that keeps me hooked for hours and hours. Now Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate.
    Whenever i just get into the action LOADING...whenever i get ino the music LOADING... The LOADING screen has no LOADING...music and no LOADING...image it is just black. Whenever i take 3 enemies down LOADING... if the
    enemie takes me down LOADING... I walk 3 screens to the left LOADING...teleport LOADING... I die LOADING...and respawn at the very same spot. I cannot get into the groove when the game is always LOADING... step into the elevator LOADING...jump jump jump LOADING... fall fall fall LOADING... hack slash LOADING... start of bossfight LOADING...in the middle of bossfight LOADING...if i die in bossfight LOADING...and start right there again while boss has half health WHAT THE LOAD is going on?! well i dunno its LOADING... This could have been a realy good game if it wasn't for all the LOADING... Expand
  15. May 24, 2013
    7
    Maybe not as good as Castlevania games on DS (Dawn Of Sorrow, Order Of Eclesia) but I was expecting that it will never be the same again.
    Mirror Of Fate is satisfying platformer with very nice graphics and cool music.
    If you played Castlevania only on PS3 you won't have nothing to complain about.
  16. May 21, 2013
    9
    The game surprised me, do not understand the bad reviews of some pages. The story is surely the best of the Castlevania series, and mix the three and tie the story to end. The gameplay is excellent, each character with different abilities makes it fun and entertaining all the time. The scenarios are highly detailed and look great in 3 d.
    The only bad thing is a little short, a little over
    10 hours to complete in full.
    If you like action game, don't think it and buy it!
    Expand
  17. May 16, 2013
    9
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate (phew) easily deserves a place within the top 3DS games. Everything about the game, from it's ridiculously high production values (stellar graphics, decent voice acting and good quality music) down to its fun cross between action and exploration. The atmosphere in the game is pitch-perfect, running along a rooftop while the moon, clouds and extended view of the castle loom in the background is truly a sight to behold and really sets the game well. However, to find all the secrets a fair amount of back-tracking is required and this can get a little tedious. It's not a hard game, but it is not too easy either (some bosses will take a few attempts). Now, the main aspect of the game really is combat, and thankfully, this does not disappoint, the combination of long and close range attacks combined with the right timing of magic and items really works and is exciting to play. You can only reach a certain level (18) and each level-up gives you a new move to work into your combo, while these are fun, you will inevitably only really use the short range, more powerful attacks. All in all though, this is a fantastic (if slightly flawed) game that most likely will not give much enjoyment to diehard Castlevania fans, but if you're like me and have only played one game in the series before this, Mirror of Fate is ace and is unlike anything else on the 3DS. Awesome, 90/100. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    this is not a mediocre game, is it a good game? yes, but not excellent, this is a game you must first play the demo and then decide, it has it's bad moments but generally I had fun playing it, and for me that's what's most important, and don't listen to colin moriarty from IGN, just because it doesn't SotN gameplay means it's bad
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate is a FINE new game in the Castlevania series, owing much to what came before the genre modifying SOTN, and it's a nice homage to some old style gameplay of the earlier parts of the series. This game has a depth of humour, an enjoyable script/story, very reasonable voice acting,and a truly awesome soundtrack helping it along. Couple that with engaging gameplay and the fact that this is a graphically superior game compared to some other 3DS titles, and in my opinion, you have a fine, fine game.

    It's not an easy game by any means, but perseverence and learning about each enemy makes your battles fast & engaging.

    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate is NOT the rpg lite that Castlevania SOTN was.
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate is it's own game, and is great for this reason.
    If you want a challenge and to play a wonderful addition to the Castlevania series, this is the game for you.
    Go and buy it now, and help support a talented software developer, who will hopefully then make another one

    Gamplay:- 8/10
    Graphics:- 9/10
    Script:- 7/10
    Music:- 10/10
    Design:- 10/10
    Expand
  20. Apr 8, 2013
    0
    All castlevania games by mercury stream are They have terrible stories, music and gameplay. You want to know how to beat lords of shadow attack 4 times then roll. Thats works for everyone except last boss. And this game is laughable as well. I am surprised and happy that ign got the score right!!!
  21. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OMG I totally agree! This game is AMAZING! The best 3DS game I've played so far and the best use of the 3D graphics. There's an amazing scene with an evil lesbian that lures Simon into her lair "come closer Simon" before kissing her girlfriend, which gives her the energy to create a force field. Nuts! I'm so surprised this game got a score in the low 70s. Expand
  22. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    I should start with the fact that i never played a previous castlevania game in my life. But i thought it was pretty good overall, it feels like a side scrolling God of War game a little, and is a lot shorter than i was hoping for but i liked it. The combat was pretty fun, if not extremely entailed, and the different powers were fun to experiment with. Nowhere near as many secrets as i wanted, from what i've heard about castlevania there are usually lots. (Unless that boss at the very beginning that you're "supposed" to lose to has something behind him.... Hmm.). I had fun while it lasted but its not the epic game i was hoping for, so it gets a 7. Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    Sequel to the acclaimed Castlevania reboot moves the franchise into the 2.5D perspective, while still maintaining its combat heavy roots. I am still a big fan of GBA and DS' Castlevanias and not its 'newer iteration', and while these Metroid-vania installments are great, they don't really sell that well outside their hardcore fans. The Lord of Shadow 'franchise' is the closest that Castlevania get to financial success and like it or not, is here to stay. Mirror of Fate may never be my cup of tea, but at least it is an attempt to bring the series to the 21st century. By bringing LOS into the 2D plane, it brings problem with its combat, which despite all efforts from Mercury Steam still feels awkward. Nevertheless, still a pretty good installment and if you own a 3DS and a fan of the series, it's something that you should try. Expand
  24. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    The game is fun and confusing at the same time.
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    If you have ever played a Castlevania game you will more than likely enjoy this game. This is not as similar to the DS games that were released in the past years, but it is still a great game. The story is a bit weird at times but in no way does it hinder the game. The graphics and the locations are beautiful. The game does get a bit laggy in some areas, but to me that wasn't a big problem. All in all I was sort of expecting a Dawn of Sorrow-esque game, but they decided to go in a different direction. Don't get me wrong though, this is still a great game and a must for any 3DS owner. Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Ah the lovely "I gonna bash this, because it's different" guys. The "Fate" of Mirror of Fate is tragic. What we have here is an excellent Action Adventure set in the superb Lords of Shadow Universe. No one ever said this title will gonna be a next Metroidvania. It's not created by Igarashi, it's created by MercurySteam and they have indeed a very unique style.

    Mirror of Fate looks
    beautiful on the 3DS. The view is 2D, but it is completely rendered with 3D Models. The same goes for the environment. The depth of the 3D effect also is very nice. The only flaw is, the game slows a bit down with the 3D effect turned on.

    The atmosphere is some kind of melancholic, very dark. It is maybe the most dark Castlevania ever made.
    The story is a sequel to the first Lords of Shadow. So it's a complete new interpretation of the Castlevania franchise, set on the new Lords of Shadow Timeline. You will dive deeper in the story of the Belmonts. And yes, fan favourite Alucard is also back.

    The fighting is much like the same as we experienced in Lords of Shadow. Most of the time, like in it's predecessor, you won't need so many moves. New moves will unlock after you gain a new level. So, combat is still one of the major flaws in the game. Anyways, bashing creatures in Mirror of Fate is still fun.

    Verdict: With an campaign of about 10 hours (about 15 if you unlock every secret to unlock a secret Cutscene), you will definitely have a unique experience. You shouldn't listen to these awful reviews. I'm a big fan of the old Castlevania games also, but I totally love the Lords of Shadow Games. Well, this is not another Symphony of the Night. It is Mirror of Fate. The game totally stands on it's own. Prepare for the final game in the Lords of Shadow saga with Mirror of Fate. You will not regret it. 9/10.
    Expand
  27. POE
    Mar 19, 2013
    10
    An amazing game. the perfect mix between old Castlevania and New Castlevania. The gameplay is amazing and the 3D effect will make you WOW. Plus: great story with an impeccable twist
  28. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    I like this game, and i'm giving this a 6/10 because of the game itself, not because of it being a Castlevania game. It's all pretty good (besides awful controls!) but for a game of my favourite franchise, i did expect some more of it.
  29. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    This title was very disappointing, despite carrying the Castlevania name. The music was almost non-existent, which is a shame because the series is known for its great tunes. Platforming in the game is atrocious and the game gladly lets you platform without throwing any enemies of note at you (a far cry from the careful platforming of the previous games.) You also take unnecessary fall damage if you fumble a jump. Combat, to be put quite simply, is repetitive. It takes multiple hits to fell a skeleton of all things. Likewise, there are points on the map where you can heal to full health. This would normally be fine, but this game isn't a full blown "Metroidvania" like SotN. Finally, boss fights. Absolutely horrible. Not only are there checkpoints in the middle of boss fights, there are QTEs--a mechanic that should have ended with Shenmue. QTEs also exist elsewhere in the castle and not in boss fights, and they're equally as asinine. Funny how this series has included the undead in every game is now reduced to a shambling corpse. Expand
  30. Mar 12, 2013
    5
    You would be hard-pressed to find a game more inoffensive than Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate.

    Mirror of Fate’s plot occasionally threatens to be interesting. The otherwise tepid dialogue is delivered pretty well, and the game does mess with the established Castlevania lore in a mildly interesting way as you might expect, since this yarn takes place in the rebooted Lords
    of Shadow universe. Yes, the Belmont family tree has been messed with a little. Trevor is now the direct descendant of Gabriel, and Simon is Trevor’s son. Also, Dracula and his progeny are significant characters, because Alucard was in the best Castlevania game. If none of that means anything to you, then maybe the attempts at pathos won’t really hit their mark. The game seems to assume you already care about these people and their plight. I had a passing knowledge of the existing mythos, so I did kind of appreciate the new twist on Alucard’s character and what it meant for the Belmonts. To be honest, I might have preferred actual emotional investment to mere appreciation, but the reality of Mirror of Fate isn’t too disappointing.
    It’s a nice looking game, in all fairness. About half of the cutscenes are rendered in a gorgeous cel-shaded style that really should be seen with the 3D slider cranked as high as your eyes will allow. The framerate is a bit dicey at times, but the environments are well crafted, and each part of Dracula’s castle feels new enough, preventing confusion when it comes time to explore or backtrack. Everything is well designed, especially the various monsters you will probably just start bypassing after a while.

    Yes, after about 5 or so hours in, I started trying to skip the combat whenever possible. Mirror of Fate is a fairly simple brawler. You have two basic attacks; a straightforward slash and 180 degree whip. If you feel like mixing it up, sometimes you can throw a projectile. Killing monsters unlock combos, but said combos usually just consist of pressing the same button more than once. Dodging/blocking is mapped to the left shoulder button, which is a delight if you’re playing on a regular-sized 3DS unit with the hands you would find on a slightly large 18 year old guy. Not only is the combat incredibly shallow, but using combos screws you over every so often. I kept unintentionally triggering an upward spin attack that usually resulted in my character taking an attack from an enemy waiting directly below. Apparently, if you jump right after pressing the ‘Y’ button, you’re stuck in that animation. I had to repeat many a boss fight because of that combo. To be fair, blowing through standard encounters has a satisfying weight to it, but when things get too complicated, it was just smarter to avoid fighting.

    In between fighting, there are puzzles and platforming sections to deal with. The puzzles are kind of clever, but if you’re playing a Castlevania game to break up your Calculus homework like I did, you probably don’t feel like using your brain any more than you just did. Each large-scale puzzle has a dead soldier nearby with a hint system you can take advantage of. Stuck? You can activate a hint, but it will lower the amount of XP you earn from completing the puzzle. Activate every hint, though, and you can just click a button to solve the puzzle. I’ve never seen this in a game before. The option to just skip a difficult section is brilliant, and I wish every game had this. It would have come in handy when it was time for platforming. Sadly, the characters are too floaty and their jumps too imprecise. Frequent deaths be they a result of hazards or misjudged leaps are but a certainty.

    Even after everything I’ve said, I still find it necessary to emphasize there was something about Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Mirror of Fate that kept me playing…up to a point. I wasn’t going to beat my head against a certain Trevor Belmont section with mine carts and fire, but if the game had just one more significant issue, I would’ve stopped far earlier. And vice versa. Improve on a single design aspect and my hour count would’ve been slightly longer. Mirror of Fate is a game right on the cusp: a perfectly serviceable entertainment. If you expected more than just a passable 2D action platformer, I’m sorry to disappoint.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. May 22, 2013
    70
    Mirror of Fate is a good game, but it can disappoint fans used to the Metroidvania formula.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    65
    It feels like an odd mesh of classic Castlevania, Symphony of the Night, and Lords of Shadow, and like any jack of all trades, it masters none of these elements.
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate is a game that tries to take the best of both new and old Castlevania but ultimately comes up short all round.