Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set twenty-five years after the events of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, Mirror of Fate recounts the story of Gabriel's descendants, as they battle their own destiny in each era only to discover their true, shocking fate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. It's a compromise between action and exploration, between the series' history and contemporary trends, between traditional presentation and modern technology. It's the best Castlevania game we've played in years and it might be the best action game we've ever played on a handheld console.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    I personally enjoy the 2D Castlevania titles, so I was skeptical to play Mirror of Fate. Of course, I was also skeptical of another developer taking over one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history, and that turned out pretty great. Now we see MercurySteam taking the same approach to the franchise in the handheld space, and again with decent results.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    Mirror of Fate is almost a unique offer and that is what is essential when you immerse yourself in this crossed destiny of four characters.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Three times the protagonists gives you three times the number of toys and an engaging, if thoroughly convoluted, story, but it’s not without cost. What Simon, Trevor and Alucard give to the mechanics and narrative they take from its flow: you still feel gated, even when you’ve got all the gear.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    All things considered, Mirror of Fate is still a decent game, one that is merely injured by some elements of poor design. It’s a unique approach to rebooting a franchise, one that doesn’t seek to reestablish the rules, but instead utilize them as a guide, thus allowing this new version to travel its own direction.
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Mirror of Fate is a good game. Take Lords of Shadow, cut the playing time in half, limit the third dimension to an optical illusion and what remains is an action adventure game that plays like a dream. The only real concession that was made is a story that hardly adds anything, which makes this feel more like a spin-off. That's a shame, because it was supposed to be the link between Lords of Shadow and LoS 2.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    25
    Castlevania isn’t brutish — it is a test of your agility and your willingness to overcome nearly impossible odds. Mirror of Fate really wants to dazzle you with clever puzzles and name dropping fan-favorite characters, but it can’t emulate the soul of the series.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 62
  2. Negative: 9 out of 62
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is AMAZING..
    One of the best looking 3DS game and its a very good mix of OLD eps like Castlevania 3 or 4 and LOS, with some
    This game is AMAZING..
    One of the best looking 3DS game and its a very good mix of OLD eps like Castlevania 3 or 4 and LOS, with some Metroidvania features.
    Its really challenging, you will die a lot before you learn how to beat the ennemies and the QTE are not over-intruisive. The story is ok, but there is a lips synch issue on the cut scene..
    If you ONLY played the Metroidvania, maybe you will not like it on first attempt(you will if you get over what you except of such an episode)

    Anyway, it's a shame to not at least try this Castlevania before judging it, you will probably miss on of the good exclusive title in 3DS.
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is how Castlevania should have been. 2D platformer with a lot of challenge and great level design. It's a stepfoward for Konami, thisThis is how Castlevania should have been. 2D platformer with a lot of challenge and great level design. It's a stepfoward for Konami, this game is good for old and new Castlevania fans, the game have suberb graphics and an amazing soundtrack.
    The only reason that this game is hated it is because it is not "3D KILL EVERYONE ON THE SCREEN BLOOD GORE or "IT'S NOT METROID". If you are a fan of 2D plaformers like (the original) Castlevania, Super Mario Bros., you should try this one out;
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This is fun action/explore game. I am glad that it has classic gameplay where the players skills are more being tested then a level grindfestThis is fun action/explore game. I am glad that it has classic gameplay where the players skills are more being tested then a level grindfest of the action RPGs that followed Symphony of the Night. I feel like I am experiencing an adventure not just trying to make my character level up to overpower enemies. This game feels fresh and has nicely executed graphics that gives it a comic book feel. The controls are responsive and feel intuitive to the game play. Play at night in the dark for full effect. Collapse
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    While a great game, I would not call it a "must own". This is a game worth your time but not one of those games that should be cleaned,While a great game, I would not call it a "must own". This is a game worth your time but not one of those games that should be cleaned, polished, and put on a golden stand. This game does deserve major consideration, whether you're a fan of the series or not (like me), this should get a chance. The metroidvania 2.5D platforming looks great with the 3d effect and the gameplay is adventurous and fun.The game definitely represent the "vania" part of metroidvania in good spirit. The cutscene animation, while I'm not a fan of how they spoke, was fine and dandy. In short, if there is no game out there you are particularly looking for, give this one a shot, odds are you like it Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Great 3D effects and a nice job with the Castlevania's atmosphere. Everyone should play this game at least once in their lifetime. Has aGreat 3D effects and a nice job with the Castlevania's atmosphere. Everyone should play this game at least once in their lifetime. Has a decent gameplay (around 9 hours) but it did not bring the 20 hours gameplay that was promissed. But I still recommend. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    Beautiful looking 3DS game. Solid gameplay and I personally liked the the atmosphere. For me there is no bad thing in the game but it stillBeautiful looking 3DS game. Solid gameplay and I personally liked the the atmosphere. For me there is no bad thing in the game but it still roars for something more.. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    0
    this is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevaniathis is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevania symphony of the night. hope mercury system stops doing god of war clones Expand

See all 62 User Reviews