Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set twenty-five years after the events of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, Mirror of Fate recounts the story of Gabriel's descendants, as they battle their own destiny in each era only to discover their true, shocking fate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. It's a compromise between action and exploration, between the series' history and contemporary trends, between traditional presentation and modern technology. It's the best Castlevania game we've played in years and it might be the best action game we've ever played on a handheld console.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    I personally enjoy the 2D Castlevania titles, so I was skeptical to play Mirror of Fate. Of course, I was also skeptical of another developer taking over one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history, and that turned out pretty great. Now we see MercurySteam taking the same approach to the franchise in the handheld space, and again with decent results.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    Mirror of Fate is almost a unique offer and that is what is essential when you immerse yourself in this crossed destiny of four characters.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Three times the protagonists gives you three times the number of toys and an engaging, if thoroughly convoluted, story, but it’s not without cost. What Simon, Trevor and Alucard give to the mechanics and narrative they take from its flow: you still feel gated, even when you’ve got all the gear.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    All things considered, Mirror of Fate is still a decent game, one that is merely injured by some elements of poor design. It’s a unique approach to rebooting a franchise, one that doesn’t seek to reestablish the rules, but instead utilize them as a guide, thus allowing this new version to travel its own direction.
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Mirror of Fate is a good game. Take Lords of Shadow, cut the playing time in half, limit the third dimension to an optical illusion and what remains is an action adventure game that plays like a dream. The only real concession that was made is a story that hardly adds anything, which makes this feel more like a spin-off. That's a shame, because it was supposed to be the link between Lords of Shadow and LoS 2.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    25
    Castlevania isn’t brutish — it is a test of your agility and your willingness to overcome nearly impossible odds. Mirror of Fate really wants to dazzle you with clever puzzles and name dropping fan-favorite characters, but it can’t emulate the soul of the series.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 58
  2. Negative: 8 out of 58
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is AMAZING..
    One of the best looking 3DS game and its a very good mix of OLD eps like Castlevania 3 or 4 and LOS, with some
    Metroidvania features.
    Its really challenging, you will die a lot before you learn how to beat the ennemies and the QTE are not over-intruisive. The story is ok, but there is a lips synch issue on the cut scene..
    If you ONLY played the Metroidvania, maybe you will not like it on first attempt(you will if you get over what you except of such an episode)

    Anyway, it's a shame to not at least try this Castlevania before judging it, you will probably miss on of the good exclusive title in 3DS.
    Expand
  2. POE
    Mar 19, 2013
    10
    An amazing game. the perfect mix between old Castlevania and New Castlevania. The gameplay is amazing and the 3D effect will make you WOW. Plus: great story with an impeccable twist Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    If you grew up playing The classic Castlevania games like Draculas Curse, Vampires Kiss, and Super Castlevania IV you'll love this game. If SOTN was your first Castlevania game you'll probably not like it as much. I grew up on both and I love it. It's much darker than other Castlevanias and looks amazing. Dont let IGA purists dissuade you from buying this game. True classic castlevania fans love the Lord of Shadows series, SOTN fans like SOTN and its many clones and are not satisfied unless the dames are structured like SOTN. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    If you have ever played a Castlevania game you will more than likely enjoy this game. This is not as similar to the DS games that were released in the past years, but it is still a great game. The story is a bit weird at times but in no way does it hinder the game. The graphics and the locations are beautiful. The game does get a bit laggy in some areas, but to me that wasn't a big problem. All in all I was sort of expecting a Dawn of Sorrow-esque game, but they decided to go in a different direction. Don't get me wrong though, this is still a great game and a must for any 3DS owner. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Would have been a solid 9 if they didn't make it so unbelievably lenient when you die. I mean don't get me wrong I don't mind check points but my god it picks up in the MIDDLE of a boss encounter. Hopefully they patch like a hardcore mode or something because honestly it takes away the fun of a good Castlevania boss. I give it a soft 8/10 buy it used. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    Sequel to the acclaimed Castlevania reboot moves the franchise into the 2.5D perspective, while still maintaining its combat heavy roots. I am still a big fan of GBA and DS' Castlevanias and not its 'newer iteration', and while these Metroid-vania installments are great, they don't really sell that well outside their hardcore fans. The Lord of Shadow 'franchise' is the closest that Castlevania get to financial success and like it or not, is here to stay. Mirror of Fate may never be my cup of tea, but at least it is an attempt to bring the series to the 21st century. By bringing LOS into the 2D plane, it brings problem with its combat, which despite all efforts from Mercury Steam still feels awkward. Nevertheless, still a pretty good installment and if you own a 3DS and a fan of the series, it's something that you should try. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    0
    this is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevania symphony of the night. hope mercury system stops doing god of war clones Collapse

See all 58 User Reviews