Cave Story 3D Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally released as a PC game and later for WiiWare/DSiWare, Cave Story is a side scrolling 2D action game.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Cave Story 3D Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    100
    Speaking for myself, I'd rather play through Cave Story again five times than have a second run through the tedious and dated Ocarina of Time, and discovering this game's unique world in a new 3D format has been surprisingly rewarding. It may very well be the 3DS' best game to date.
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Cave Story shouldn't be missed no matter what platform you play it on, but Cave Story 3D offers the most unique perspective on this independent gem.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    90
    Giving a purposefully retro 2D platformer a 3D makeover sounds like the worst idea ever, but the end result only reconfirms Cave Story as a modern classic.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    81
    The art of pixel claims its place thanks to a Cave Story's remake that remains the original spirit, revamps the graphics and adds an interesting 3D effect. We hardly had seen so much talent concentrated in only one game.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Whether or not you should buy Cave Story 3D boils down to A.) if you played another version before, and B.) how much you loved it. At $39.99, it's significantly more expensive than purchasing the DSiWare port ($9.99) via the 3DS eShop. Go that route, and you receive a similar, arguably better experience at a fraction of the cost.
  6. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Taken on its own merits, however, it is an absolute blast, and if you don't play Cave Story in one form or another, you're missing out on a modern classic. [Nov 2011, p.84]
  7. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    69
    Get the WiiWare game instead. [Dec 2011, p.70]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous game overall. I honestly thought this would suck because of the distracting graphics from the trailers, but when I playedAbsolutely gorgeous game overall. I honestly thought this would suck because of the distracting graphics from the trailers, but when I played this, it wasn't distracting at all! Not to mention the remixed music is beautiful as well! Amazing game, a must-have for the 3DS! Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a true joy to play through. I had played the original a year back, for free, and I was delighted to hear it being remade. So, IThis game is a true joy to play through. I had played the original a year back, for free, and I was delighted to hear it being remade. So, I held out and waited till it's release on the 3DS to finish the game. The world this game puts you in is pretty interesting, and it gives off a great vibe. The game play is reminiscent of Metroid, in a very good way, but it has it's own original flair to it, which makes it a very enjoyable title. If you've wanted to try a great shooter/platformer, or you want a great game for your 3DS collection, definitely check this one out. It's a game to be played. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Great Game, plays well, looks good. Had a ton of fun with this. It's got a few extra modes etc, but overall it's still the same game. I don'tGreat Game, plays well, looks good. Had a ton of fun with this. It's got a few extra modes etc, but overall it's still the same game. I don't think that's bad thing though, because pixel essentially made no money off of the original Cave Story. Time to sell his game at the full Retail price, which it deserves.

    I chose this over Super Mario 3D Land.
    Collapse
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This is an updated classic. The new graphics and sprites in comparison to the original are awe inspiring. Wonderful story, memorableThis is an updated classic. The new graphics and sprites in comparison to the original are awe inspiring. Wonderful story, memorable characters, a large variety of weapons and fantastic level design give it a high replay value. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    This game is great! It' fun and challenging to play. Although, the graphics is not top notch but it looks nice and it does give life to theThis game is great! It' fun and challenging to play. Although, the graphics is not top notch but it looks nice and it does give life to the background that was not very interesting in the original. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    The pure gameplay of this game deserves the 9, and I'm not taking into account its relation with the other versions. (i.e. not as much bangThe pure gameplay of this game deserves the 9, and I'm not taking into account its relation with the other versions. (i.e. not as much bang for your buck). But if you have never played Cave Story before, this is an EXCELLENT game. And if you've played it for numerous hours and enjoyed it, I would highly recomend this 3D version. It doesn't add too much, but hey. What's there really to add to such an amazing game? Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    If you've never played Cave Story before, then this game is a great investment.
    In my opinion, Cave Story is one of the greatest
    If you've never played Cave Story before, then this game is a great investment.
    In my opinion, Cave Story is one of the greatest 2D-platformers of all time. Needless to say, I was eager when a physical version of the game was finally announced. However, the game was a bit disappointing. The most startling problem for me is the framerate. If this game ran at 60fps, like every other version does, then I would have loved it. However, it doesn't even run 30fps. To make it worse, at (albeit rare) times, I noticed framerate drops below the already sub-par framerate. This really slows down the face-paced style of the game, and detracts from the otherwise great experience. While the graphics themselves aren't anything special, I felt that they would have been fine with a decent framerate. Some areas of the game, such as Mimiga Village, actually look better than ever in my opinion.
    I have some other minor complaints with the game, but nothing really worth noting. I'd say theres not much a reason to get this game now that you can get classic Cave Story in 3D on the eShop for a fraction of the price, unless you really want a physical copy of this masterpiece (like me).

    Graphics: 5
    Sound: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Lasting Appeal: 8
    Overall: 8
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews