Cave Story 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Cave Story Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cave Story takes you into a rare world where a curious race of innocent rabbit-like creatures, called Mimiga, run free.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 95
    Even without any additions, Cave Story is still the same amazing game people have raved about for eight years. It's one of the best 2D platformers in recent memory, and this version is worthwhile if you've never played it before or are itching for a reason to play it again.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    This new release has just as much content as any other version of the game, if not more. Overall, it stands right alongside Cave Story+ as one of the best, if not the best, version of Cave Story to date.
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    91
    Minor complaints aside, it's great to see an enhanced version of Cave Story available on eShop. The stereoscopic 3D adds a little depth, which is nice, and the game controls as wonderfully as ever. But once again, choosing the best version depends on personal preference.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    90
    Cave Story may come from humble PC beginnings but it feels most in its element in this slick portable package. Nicalis has put together the definitive Cave Story compilation, but without any earth-shattering changes or additions it's ultimately just another way to play an all-time classic on familiar hardware. Granted, that's still a rather excellent thing, as the game is so pleasing to play that we're more than happy to delve into it yet again, and again.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    90
    It is a well-designed, challenging, fun, evocative experience that rewards multiple play-throughs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the spritesOne of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the sprites come to life even more. One of the jewels in the indie department. Get it now! Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?" *shows me game* I beat it in a casual
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?"

    *shows me game* I beat it in a casual week.

    *head explodes. mind blown*

    Him - "You actually made this vague crappy dialogue a full review?"

    Me - *still dead*
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    probably the best indie game there is.

    gameplay: so f***ing addictive 10 graphics: beautiful (yes i love 8-16 bits visuals more than the
    probably the best indie game there is.

    gameplay: so f***ing addictive 10
    graphics: beautiful (yes i love 8-16 bits visuals more than the high-tech stuff we have now) 10
    sounds: amazing 10
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2016
    9
    Among Indie games, Cave Story became an instant favorite. It is a game made with love. Many may feel unsatisfied because of the 8 bit style,Among Indie games, Cave Story became an instant favorite. It is a game made with love. Many may feel unsatisfied because of the 8 bit style, but it is amazing how deep this game can make you addicted to it, smile at the fun scenes and feel threatened or sad when danger is near with said style. It is one of the few games I can gladly sit down and play from beginning to end just for the fun of it. That being said, it is a challenge. If you aim for the hardest modes this game can offer, make sure your room's window is at least closed so your 3ds won't fly outside when you rage throw it... Because you will. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best 2D platformer I've played, tied with Megaman X. The controls are smooth, the mechanics are solid, the game is beautiful, the music makes me orgasm whenever I listen to it, the plot is gripping, and the challenge is PERFECT. This game is, above all, memorable. I can sing any song from this game if you tell me where it plays. I can remember how many times I attempted the Sacred Grounds: 68 tries, 20 to Ballos, 15 to second form, 8 to third, and, of course, one win. I just...
    Love it so much.
    And it was made by one dude? YESSS.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Cave Story is what happens when a labor of love becomes an all endearing project. Originally a indie PC title out of Japan, Cave Story hasCave Story is what happens when a labor of love becomes an all endearing project. Originally a indie PC title out of Japan, Cave Story has since been released officially on PC with extra's and new music. It also received a 3DS physical release with loads of extra's and a new graphics engine. This release is just the bare-bones version you can get for free on the PC, but the price to play it portable is $10. Is it worth it? In my opinion, yes. Cave Story is a special kind of game with a very old-school feel. The platforming is fun and challenging, the weapons are upgradeable and interchangeable, the enemies are varied and challenging, and the art style is glorious 16-bit heaven. It feels like someone pulled this game out of the SNES era in a very good way. My personal opinion would be to try and get the physical version for the 3DS, but this one is easier to get, cheaper (but without any extras), and just as good. 9/10 Collapse
  7. Aug 13, 2016
    0
    undertale platformer sequel from 2005 for the nintendo ds don't buy undertale sucks and so do undertale platformers don't buy can't just makeundertale platformer sequel from 2005 for the nintendo ds don't buy undertale sucks and so do undertale platformers don't buy can't just make a sequel to undertale and make it a platformer wtf dude Expand

See all 15 User Reviews