Code of Princess 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Code of Princess Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Code of Princess is an action RPG brawler for Nintendo 3DS with cooperative and competitive multiplayer.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    93
    The gurus at Atlas have once again graced us with a fantastic piece of gaming art. If you own a 3DS, then you owe it to yourself to try this great game.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    With a simple gameplay but that leaves us always wanting play more, an appealing visual look, and modes that guarantee entertainment for many hours, this is certainly another great game for the Nintendo 3DS's catalog.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    75
    A really interesting new addition for the Nintendo 3DS eShop game library. An extremely engaging beat´em up experience despite its issues.
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    70
    Code of Princess is a fun and funny fantasy brawler that's unfortunately hampered by technical issues.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    69
    Beyond the winning localization and expert voice acting, though, playing through this adventure just felt lacking – its various unique ideas and innovations never came together to create a real sense of fun.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    This could have been good, but the visual chaos on-screen is really a shame.
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    30
    The JRPG genre is ripe with overused characters and plot points worth joking about, but the game's lazy mish-mash of half-assembled ideas rarely made me laugh. Code of Princess wants to be a clever parody, but it never rises above the level of shameful mockery.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one ofThis is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one of Fatlus' JRPG games like all the rest. And I'm sure a lot of you felt the same. I bought this game originally just for collecting and archiving purposes, but instantly fell in love after I gave it a chance.
    Everything about the game is light hearted and goofy. And that is a great change from the usual pace of realistic dark and grimy shooters we have this days. But it doesn't ruin the combat a bit. The combat in this game is very deep and also fun. If you are a fan of fighting games, you will be able to pull of combos very easily.
    The dialogue is captivating. I haven't felt inclined to watch cutscenes in years. The characters are cool, interesting and have a lot of depth. I was also very impressed with the voice acting. Not a lot of 3DS games actually have real voice actors, just text to tell the story.
    On top of all that, this game has infinite replay value. 50 unlockable characters, all with their own stats you can customize to your playstyle, plus tons of unlockable items that do a variety of things.
    And the multiplayer. I don't know what to say, other than this is the best game to have on the 3DS if you want to play with friends.
    This is a must have game for any 3DS owner. Even if you don't like anime, trust me, you will enjoy this game thoroughly.
    Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    this game is good like the games that we have in the 90's but sadly in this generation of gamers when a game wants to be like and old schoolthis game is good like the games that we have in the 90's but sadly in this generation of gamers when a game wants to be like and old school god game the is underated and killed by bad critics, i think this game is vibrant ad colorfull and has a good sountrack (if your ear was trained in the 90's), i would recomend to everyone who want to had a good time. this game is replayeable and you can play with every character on the game. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Being named the spiritual successor to Guardian Heroes, Code of Princess is finally here. But does it live up to the hype? Short answer, YES!Being named the spiritual successor to Guardian Heroes, Code of Princess is finally here. But does it live up to the hype? Short answer, YES! COP is a beautiful JRPG beat em up game that has a ton of content, including local/WiFi co-op/vs multiplayer action, and over 50 playable characters. The campaign is broken up in bight sized sections, which is good for on the go gaming. The story is good and once I got the combat mechanics down I was hooked. There are some minor issues with slow-down but nothing that deters from the experience however, I could tell that this game was designed with the original 3DS in mind, not the 3DS XL. Either-way the game is fun and beautiful, never letting up not even at the end. Campaign isn't too long but, with 50+ playable characters and full campaign with up to 4 players Local/WiFi multiplayer and also a 2-4 player VS mode, Code of Princess will keep you busy for a long time. Enjoy and support great games from Japan. Collapse
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Gameplay: The gameplay is relative simple as most beat-em ups are. B is a fast, light attack, A is a stronger but slower attack, Y is aGameplay: The gameplay is relative simple as most beat-em ups are. B is a fast, light attack, A is a stronger but slower attack, Y is a lock-on attack, X is boost which uses up your mp, d-pad/slide pad are for movement and L/R for guarding. You can chain the attacks for more damage and using on dpad while attacking produces different moves. the lock-on mechanic and boost mechanic are essential in harder encounters as boost stuns nearby opponents and both double damage individually with a 4 times multiplier for both activated at same time. Stages consist of several enemies and sometimes a boss and are usually completed within 3 minutes. Each of the 8 characters plays fairly unique. Solange plays sorta like Ike from SSBB while Zozo is a magic user. I feel the gameplay is fairly fluid except when you must run between masses of enemies but this is eased with an increased speed stat. Also with a lot of explosions/effects, the game tends to get a frame rate drop but it doesn't really hurt the experience. Actually it makes the game as if it is some sort of bullet time. However, while the gameplay is fluid and simple, it does not really allow for variety in gameplay so the game gets quite repetitious after 5 or so stages so gaming sessions should kept short like around 20 minutes. The campaign should take about 7 hours. Then, there is freeplay, to play campaign as any of the eight characters if you unlocked them, bonus quests which adds several many hard missions, and the multiplayer of co-op and versus. The online mode is great if you can find another person play with. The versus matches are intense matches between 2-4 characters of the 50 possible character. Every character, enemy and npc is playable in versus. Want to play as a troll you fought in level 2. You Can! Want to crush your foes as one of the main villians? Sure! The little girl from the orphanage too? I guess. The old woman as well? now your being extremely creepy but yes. Co-op can be even more laggy with all the different effects of the attacks. Despite this, online mode is barren because very few have bought the game.

    Art and Music: The music and art of the game are outstanding. The characters are excellent each being very unique from each other. The cutscenes, animated by Bones studios (who animated animes like Soul Eater and the Cowboy Bebop movie.) are epic. The music though mostly being 8 songs and a bit of variations, fit the mood of the current scene and are excellent pieces of music. Simply the art and music are phenomenal. Story: The story is pretty good. The story is basically on the line of typical anime stories. The hero, Solange is forced to flee her kingdom as the Distron Army overthrew the DeLuxia royal family. She joins with several fantastical characters like the thief Ali, the necromancer Zozo and the Bard/Sage Allegro. The story is made much better which the several jokes made throughout the campaign like Emble-Semble Duo, Solange's clothing (or rather lack of) and Allegro's reference to his level. Voice Acting is pretty good and fits many of the characters. The cutscenes are almost like watching an anime. All these little touches make campaign much more enjoyable and make you want to get through the stages as fast as possible. You might be disappointed that Mister T was localized as Master T though.

    Pros: Excellent art and music, very funny story, simple but good combat, great cutscenes
    Cons: Repetitious gameplay, Online is empty, if you are a feminist Solange's clothes
    Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2015
    7
    BEWBS! No, seriously, this is a fine brawler with way too many characters to choose from. It's all about that Allegro! Anyways, the main thingBEWBS! No, seriously, this is a fine brawler with way too many characters to choose from. It's all about that Allegro! Anyways, the main thing that keeps this game from being a 9 is that you level up, & older levels become easier, & make you not want to play them because they are so easy. Sometimes it could be too hard. But one thing this game DID do right, out of many, is that it made grinding not feel like grinding, but just, playing the game! Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    Originally I thought this game was very cool. The character designs are nice and the animations are good. The combat system seemed neatOriginally I thought this game was very cool. The character designs are nice and the animations are good. The combat system seemed neat initially.
    But the game is very laggy in many places. Most times it doesnt interfere, but it can be very distracting, and many places it lags so bad the game is like a picture book unfortunately. If it didn't lag I would have enjoyed it more for sure, but the lag is very jarring.
    Another thing that I didn't like is all of the stages feel the same. There is no real sense of progression in this game. Sure the stages have different backdrops, but that doesn't change anything, and the stages themselves are more like fighting game stages. The screen will scroll a small amount but thats it. You are stuck in a small flat space, and this can lead to the game feeling very samey very quickly. I was hoping it was going to be more like Golden Axe where you move to new stages and there is more of a noticable progression. Theres a lot of funny dialogue in the game which is good. The enemy design is also pretty cool which makes mixing it up a little more varied, Your characters never change either besides your stats. This isn't necessarily bad, but i think since the game has rpg elements, this would have made the game feel fresher as you played it more. Instead the entire game feels like me being on a small flat stage, doing the same combos, trying to ignore the lag. The only difference is you fight different enemies. If not for the lag and a better sense of progression this game would have been really fun to me.
    Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Absolute trash. Voice acting is the worst I have ever heard. Story and characters are utterly atrocious. Gameplay is only fun for the firstAbsolute trash. Voice acting is the worst I have ever heard. Story and characters are utterly atrocious. Gameplay is only fun for the first couple hours. Graphics and character animations are embarrassing. The turn animation was more fluid in the Castlevania games for the DS. Complete crap, start to finish. If you dig action/rpgs, go with Kingdom Hearts. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers