Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    100
    I'm no artist, but I had fun with Colors 3D. Even though there are a couple things I wish were incorporated that were not, checking out the gallery made me realize the potential of this program. For only $6.99, it's definitely one to recommend to pass the time if you like to draw and paint.
  2. This is a wonderful piece of software for creative types.
  3. May 20, 2012
    90
    Colors 3D is no doubt one of the best applications to grace the eShop and if you have an interest in drawing and art in general, you'll love it.
  4. 90
    All of the features make this an impressive drawing app, but it's the little extras that really turn Colors! 3D into something special.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    When all is said and done, I found very little to dislike with Colors! 3D and I urge anyone with even the vaguest interest in art, and especially in utilizing the 3D aspect of the 3DS, to give this application a purchase. At $6.99, the program offers an incredible amount of utility and ease for every kind of artist, from the lazy school doodler to the masterpiece painter honing his or her craft. Besides all that, it's a simple and incredibly fun tool with an amazing community of artists proudly displaying their beautiful and funny 3D images.
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    Though lacking in any type of structured play, Colors! 3D's robust free drawing system and unique ability to let anyone create their own three-dimensional artwork more than make up for this.
  7. Apr 10, 2012
    90
    As I mentioned I'm far from good with a digital art studio than compared to pencil and paper media but I think I have a greater appreciation and interest in it now after trying for the last week. Colors! 3D is a must own app on the Nintendo 3DS for anyone that is artistically inclined.
  8. 90
    This is SwapNote for artists. I highly recommend this app, and I think it will develop a big following among the 3DS artists out there.
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    90
    With plenty of options, great tutorials and an easy-to-master interface, Colors! 3D is the 3D painting application 3DS owners have been waiting for.
  10. May 28, 2012
    87
    Impressively slick. [July 2012, p.87]
  11. May 26, 2012
    86
    Clean but not particularly exciting presentation aside, this is a more than capable little paining app - you need to be good at art to get the most from it though. [June 2012, p.106]
  12. Apr 11, 2012
    85
    For $6.99 on the 3DS eShop, if you're into painting and like some cool tech, this app is for you. The replay feature is really nice, and I haven't seen anything like it on a gaming system before. The ability to view the gallery is also a great touch. For painting apps, this is probably the best one you can get.
  13. Apr 19, 2012
    84
    And for those of you who do and who want to get a little drawing time in, you can't really go wrong with Colors! 3D. It's available for a reasonable price – $6.99 in Nintendo's eShop – and allows you to put your 3DS to use honing an actual useful skill.
  14. May 29, 2012
    80
    A lot of depth lies behind a deceptively simple exterior. Fun to play around with but also possible to make great art.
  15. May 22, 2012
    80
    Colors 3D is a very good application for 3DS that will allow the most talented to develop all kinds of work related to painting and drawing.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    A relatively cheap way to have fun, whether or not you are a good artist. There's a lot you can do with the app and the layering to add 3D to the drawings really make more room for creativity. You can have up to 5 layers, and the controls for colors! 3D are very easy to use. Worth the $6.99 it costs. Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS DL IS TO LOOK AT THIS (and watch the "video" that shows its creation): http://colorslive.com/details/81294-Lion_Couple_by_Richtea87.php. Also, I am not saying just anyone can accomplish that phenomenal painting, but the point is that it shows the ability of Colors! 3D. If you are an artist, you can make a masterpiece and finally show it in 3D (to a point, there are 6 "layers" of depth). It isn't great for making an object seem like it is moving from one plane to another, but it is amazing when you are trying to put objects behind or in front of another. Just look at some of the forestry that people have made and you will 100% understand the awesome potential of this for artists. Those lions were CREATED on the 3DS and look that flawless. The possibilities are endless. I think for true artists used to one-dimensional painting/drawing, this could be a game-changer. This is a new medium, and to call it anything less is denying where this could eventually lead. I, by no means am, but I have been mesmerized by painting after painting in the gallery. Some would rock considered what tiny screen they were created on even in 2D, but some people have truly embraced the possibilities of still 3D art. And for $6.99, I cannot be missed if you have a 3DS. You'll spend more time looking at other people's work than making your own in some cases, and it still will be worth far more than you paid. Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I remember playing this on my DS that had a flashcart. It was one of my favourite home-brewed pieces of software out there. Fast forward a few years: it's great to see it get full official support and become one of the best apps on the 3DS! It's really easy to use and the 3D effect is really good! It's like a mini Corel Draw/Photoshop in your pocket, minus the $500-900 pricetag! Full Review »