• Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: May 24, 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. May 28, 2011
    91
    Having played both Super Street Fighter IV and Dead or Alive Dimensions, DOAD is far superior is our books and is easily one of the best fighters available on any portable console. The gameplay is flawlessly fun and even though we have seen it all before, this may be the fact on home consoles but not in the portable world of gaming. The developers have included enough fan service to make any Dead or Alive fanboy or girl glee from joy but best of all, it's got the gameplay and the graphics.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    90
    Dead or Alive Dimensions does a great job at creating a true Dead or Alive experience on a portable console.
  3. Jul 31, 2011
    90
    If you're looking for a good, original and 3D fighting game for the new Nintendo handheld, Dead or Alive: Dimensions must be in your collection.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    90
    No matter which way your see it - 2D or 3D - Dead or Alive is one of the best titles on 3DS and, potentially, the best handheld fighting game ever.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    90
    The obvious choice for any fans of beat 'em up games that want an excellent portable brawler. Great visuals, tight controls and loads of collectables and bonus features. Highly recommended for both newcomers and professionals. As long as you manage to find it in a Swedish store, that is.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    90
    Dead or Alive Dimension is a surprising Beat'em Up. It's a strange kind of "Best of", combining old and new elements, strages, charachters. Despite some issues with the IA, its core mechanics work well, and the whole experience is compelling and deep.
  7. Jun 9, 2011
    90
    Easily my favorite 3DS title released to date, and reason enough to get me back to carrying the system around with me wherever I go.
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Playing Dead or Alive again has been a highly enjoyable journey of rediscovery. The more time I've spent playing it, the more I've remembered why I've really enjoyed the series over the years. It's a really fun fighting game that's easy to pick up and play, features some great characters, and delivers some very satisfying moments, especially when you pull off a huge series of moves that look spectacular, or punch someone off the top of a particularly high area so they fall to their death.
  9. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    DOA Dimensions is a fantastic entry in the series and a must-have for someone craving a portable fighting game.
  10. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Dead or Alive Dimensions is a great game. It's loads of fun, lots to do, and has plenty of longevity. It's pick-up-and-play nature makes it perfect for a handheld too, it's easy to have a quick blast through an arcade course during a short bus journey. With the current lack of quality titles for Nintendo's new handheld this shines out like a star.
  11. May 31, 2011
    90
    Dead or Alive: Dimensions is a great portable version of the popular franchise, and the right way to celebrate the 15th anniversary of this brand. The 4 buttons gameplay is perfect for the Nintendo 3DS, and for the first time the 3D effect is kinda good.
  12. May 30, 2011
    90
    Simply put, Dead or Alive: Dimensions is another excellent fighting game for the young 3DS handheld console.
  13. May 27, 2011
    90
    Some people might be turned off by its ease of entry, but the spectacular online play, neat little fight-a-friend Street Pass feature, and 26-character roster is enough to turn the rest of us on.
  14. A love letter to Dead Or Alive fans and a dizzying companion piece to SSFIV3D.
  15. May 6, 2011
    90
    Within the launch window of the Nintendo 3DS, we've gotten two--Dead or Alive Dimensions and Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition--and they're the two best games in the handheld's library so far. [May 2011, p.84]
  16. Jun 6, 2011
    88
    For Dead or Alive fans, Dimensions is a sort of collected archive, with lots of characters and stages that have all appeared in previous titles. There isn't a whole of new stuff technically, but it is all so expertly executed on the 3DS, that you really don't mind. And the way newcomers are eased into the combat, it really makes it a Dead or Alive for everyone. This is one of the strongest releases yet for the 3DS yet, and definitely one worth picking up for any fighting fan. And if that didn't sell you on it, there may or may not be an unlockable stage featuring Ridley from Metroid, which is just plain cool.
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    87
    If you like Dead or Alive and own a 3DS, you will surely be happy with Dead or Alive: Dimensions.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    The graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access andThe graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access and despite early testing reports of framerate issues, I have seen none while running full 3d. If you're only going to have one fighting game in your 3ds library, I recommend this over any other... unless Super Smash Brothers comes out...

    All the bounce of the previous DOA in the palm of your hand... wait, that sounded dirty.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    This game is good for your first 3ds game or when you are waiting for the next great 3ds title. I wouldn't recommend this game for theThis game is good for your first 3ds game or when you are waiting for the next great 3ds title. I wouldn't recommend this game for the hardcore unless your a hardcore fan of DOA. Most of the single player modes will last you a day or two. The Tag Missions are great for Co-Op Online or Local, but the AI partner will leave you fustrated. The internet gameplay is horrible. There is a lot of lag, no rematch selection, and the ranking system is awful. If your depending on the online you may want to either look at the current options for online gameplay, or wait for something better. The Streetpass/Spotpass for this game is the best unless you don't live near a well populated area with people who also own this game on their 3DS. In which case your just gonna have to wait for the weekly Spotpass download Challenge. Spotpass downloads are daily costumes for different characters. The Character Roster is unbalanced. It does use the 3d feature well,but this game is a rent or a discount buy at best. It's not worth the $39.99 new. Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    I've always preferred the simple rock-paper-scissors combat mechanic of DOA games over older fighters like Street Fighter & Tekken. Plus theI've always preferred the simple rock-paper-scissors combat mechanic of DOA games over older fighters like Street Fighter & Tekken. Plus the animation is smoother and the moves don't carry the burden of a 2D legacy as DOA has always been a pure 3D fighter. I also enjoy the wide variety of realistic fighting styles and the destructible, multi-level fighting arenas. While other editions have had more in the way of costumes and there are some stages I'd like to see that aren't in here (though the free downloads may help with this), this is the most complete character roster ever, there are tons of play modes and the controls and smooth and responsive. It looks great for a handheld game (except the colors have odd compression). There's more story here than in any previous DOA game as well. The 3D looks great and they've lowered the difficulty from the previous games, which is a welcome change (especially for younger, less experienced players). It's an impressive game to show off on your 3DS and a blast to play. Most fun you can have on the 3DS right now, IMO. Full Review »