Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Dillon's Rolling Western is expensive but this tower defence game is also one of the best 3D games available in the eShop.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    Definitely download this title at the earliest convenience as it is certainly one of the best eShop titles currently available on the 3DS format.
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    Dillon's Rolling Western is one of the best 3DS eShop Games, with a delicious graphic style and a gameplay that mixes strategy and action in a functional way.
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    Finding your way into the game is harder than it should be. But once you're in, this is one of the best download titles on the 3DS.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    While it becomes a bit repetitive late in the game, Dillon's Rolling Western is a good fit for anyone tiring of the same old tower defense formula. Combining the charm and wide-open exploration of The Legend of Zelda with town defense proves to be an addictive recipe. The game's cartoony Wild West visuals and terrific sense of humor is the icing on the cake. This is a must-download eShop title for anyone finding their 3DS becoming as dusty as Dillon's trails.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    A great blend of tower defense and action with loads of personality and a cool hook.
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    Dillon's Rolling Western offers challenges and the mix of action and tactics is fun. However, the game's full potential, especially on the Tower Defence front, is not quite realized and some players will dislike constantly being under pressure.
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    Dillon's Rolling Adventure is a fun and original tower defense game. It feels great to roll around and fight a bunch of weird monsters. Unfortunately the gameplay gets too repetitive near the end.
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    It's an interesting concept, but surprisingly not that polished after all this time.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    After seeing the fairly simplistic - though still good - design of Nintendo's other downloadable games on the 3DS, I was pleasantly surprisedAfter seeing the fairly simplistic - though still good - design of Nintendo's other downloadable games on the 3DS, I was pleasantly surprised at Dillon's cut-to-the-chase attitude and challenge. The game uses an interesting mix of open-world exploring (plays like a mix of Zelda exploration and Sonic the Hedgehog style speed - yes, it's that cool), tower-defense and resource management, and small, arena based fighting. Each 'level' has 3 parts: day, evening, and night. During the day, you need to race around a large field, gathering resources and fortifying defenses. In the evening, you must defend a city from oncoming monsters by both depending on your defenses and fighting them yourself. At night, the only un-timed portion of the game, you can practice pressure-free and buy new upgrades.

    Most complaints I've seen over this game complain about the gameplay types not mixing well, but I believe that this is a smart design move. I would not recommend this game for younger gamers - there is no tutorial to speak of, and you are thrown into the action right away and expected to fight quickly and effectively, as well as consulting your map to see where your help is needed. This is why I think the game is the best release thus far for older gamers - you are always under pressure, and while the game is not THAT difficult (at least at first), you don't have time to dawdle - you need to be acting. The graphics are very catchy, and the character designs are amusing - the wild west is filled with different animals dressed as settlers, and the characters are fun without being overly cutesy. The main character in particular, a down-on-his-luck armadillo, harkens back to 90s gaming, where 'cool' animal mascots were all the rage. The music is VERY catchy, and might be the best part of the presentation.

    I would love to give this game a higher score, but I must agree with most major reviewers on one thing: controls. Your character fights and travels quickly by rolling into a ball, for which you need to use the touch screen to 'slingshot' your character along. This ends up being fun, and its very satisfying to get high-scoring combos, but it also could have been done just using the buttons. Let's face it - the 3DS weighs a ton, and holding it with your left hand while still working the slider pad gets exhausting and awkward. Part of me gets a kick out of the controls, but a lot of me just wishes something simpler had been used.

    All in all, this is EXACTLY the kind of game I want to download. By most measures, it has as much gameplay as a retail release (Nintendo claims 20 hours, and I DEFINITELY can see that), but I would hesitate before dropping 30 bucks on this; as fun as it is, a game needs a lot of meat on it before I throw that much money at it. However, for $10 US, this is a great deal, since it is the first 3DS game to feel like a whole game and not just a phone-style mini game. It feels unfair to me that this game will get compared to cheaper, more phone-like games on the eShop, when it is really better than most 3rd party offerings on the system right now.

    Overall, I would recommend this game to anyone who likes action/adventure style games, especially ones that expect you to learn on your own without overbearing tutorials (I'm looking at you, skyward sword). The controls aren't perfect, but the game is tense and fun, and it looks and sounds great to boot.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    A fun game for a cheap price. It has a weird combination of gameplay styles that actually works. My only complaint is that it uses the stylus,A fun game for a cheap price. It has a weird combination of gameplay styles that actually works. My only complaint is that it uses the stylus, one of the least comfortable yet effective interfaces I know of, a lot and that keeps me from playing for more than a few hours at a time due to my hand cramping up. Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Dillon's Rolling Western is great, I bet the sequel will make things easier but still favorably challenging. Dillon is the armadillo to get his way into being playable in Super Smash Bros. Great job. Rink Kong and the Ultimogrock were sure challenging. Full Review »