Dillon's Rolling Western 3DS

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 55
    Dillon's Rolling Western is an interesting take on the tower defense genre, but it's just too scattered and plodding to be that entertaining. The look of the world and the characters are charming, but the gameplay is just dreary and repetitive. While the 3DS had an impressive run of great eShop games, it appears that the well has dried up in this desert-ridden title.
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    It's a good game packed with action and fun. A little bit too repetitive or hard for some, but if you don't bother about the high price it's a suggested buy.
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    72
    Dillon's Rolling Western is a mash up between strategic, action and tower defense. The most funny part is the fight against the monsters, cause the research of resources in the map could become boring after two or three times.
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    50
    Balancing real-time action with tactical micro-management proves beyond Vanpool. With arbitrary limitations placed on an already meagre cash supply, and towers and fortifications proving equally flimsy, what little money is available is best poured into single-use items and permanent ability boosts for Dillon.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    Another welcome addition to the eShop's already stellar line-up, The Rolling Western's unique spin on tower defence is as noteworthy as its flaws.
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    Tower defense games usually make the most of an addictive form of gameplay, consisting in increasingly powerful waves of enemies. Dillon's Rolling Western does that greatly, but fails in control, which makes the experience less than pleasant. Anyway, the game is a good and fun one, although not very replayable.
  7. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    The action tower defence experience is relatively compulsive, with the daily structure implementing a combination of strategic thinking, frantic item gathering and action-filled combat. On the downside, the control scheme feels awkward, especially for left-handed gamers, and the lack of alternative options is a surprising oversight.
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    Despite developer Vanpool's best efforts to do something stylish and new, they're unable to deliver fully on their vision in a cohesive way and Dillon's Rolling Western falls just short of being that standout defining game on the eShop.
  9. Nintendo Gamer
    Apr 2, 2012
    62
    A laudably unique twist on tower defence, but strategy soon devolves into a series of repetitive fights. [Apr 2012, p.109]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    After seeing the fairly simplistic - though still good - design of Nintendo's other downloadable games on the 3DS, I was pleasantly surprisedAfter seeing the fairly simplistic - though still good - design of Nintendo's other downloadable games on the 3DS, I was pleasantly surprised at Dillon's cut-to-the-chase attitude and challenge. The game uses an interesting mix of open-world exploring (plays like a mix of Zelda exploration and Sonic the Hedgehog style speed - yes, it's that cool), tower-defense and resource management, and small, arena based fighting. Each 'level' has 3 parts: day, evening, and night. During the day, you need to race around a large field, gathering resources and fortifying defenses. In the evening, you must defend a city from oncoming monsters by both depending on your defenses and fighting them yourself. At night, the only un-timed portion of the game, you can practice pressure-free and buy new upgrades.

    Most complaints I've seen over this game complain about the gameplay types not mixing well, but I believe that this is a smart design move. I would not recommend this game for younger gamers - there is no tutorial to speak of, and you are thrown into the action right away and expected to fight quickly and effectively, as well as consulting your map to see where your help is needed. This is why I think the game is the best release thus far for older gamers - you are always under pressure, and while the game is not THAT difficult (at least at first), you don't have time to dawdle - you need to be acting. The graphics are very catchy, and the character designs are amusing - the wild west is filled with different animals dressed as settlers, and the characters are fun without being overly cutesy. The main character in particular, a down-on-his-luck armadillo, harkens back to 90s gaming, where 'cool' animal mascots were all the rage. The music is VERY catchy, and might be the best part of the presentation.

    I would love to give this game a higher score, but I must agree with most major reviewers on one thing: controls. Your character fights and travels quickly by rolling into a ball, for which you need to use the touch screen to 'slingshot' your character along. This ends up being fun, and its very satisfying to get high-scoring combos, but it also could have been done just using the buttons. Let's face it - the 3DS weighs a ton, and holding it with your left hand while still working the slider pad gets exhausting and awkward. Part of me gets a kick out of the controls, but a lot of me just wishes something simpler had been used.

    All in all, this is EXACTLY the kind of game I want to download. By most measures, it has as much gameplay as a retail release (Nintendo claims 20 hours, and I DEFINITELY can see that), but I would hesitate before dropping 30 bucks on this; as fun as it is, a game needs a lot of meat on it before I throw that much money at it. However, for $10 US, this is a great deal, since it is the first 3DS game to feel like a whole game and not just a phone-style mini game. It feels unfair to me that this game will get compared to cheaper, more phone-like games on the eShop, when it is really better than most 3rd party offerings on the system right now.

    Overall, I would recommend this game to anyone who likes action/adventure style games, especially ones that expect you to learn on your own without overbearing tutorials (I'm looking at you, skyward sword). The controls aren't perfect, but the game is tense and fun, and it looks and sounds great to boot.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    A fun game for a cheap price. It has a weird combination of gameplay styles that actually works. My only complaint is that it uses the stylus,A fun game for a cheap price. It has a weird combination of gameplay styles that actually works. My only complaint is that it uses the stylus, one of the least comfortable yet effective interfaces I know of, a lot and that keeps me from playing for more than a few hours at a time due to my hand cramping up. Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Dillon's Rolling Western is a unique and very well made game. It is very strange that Destructoid's official score for this is 40%. As you canDillon's Rolling Western is a unique and very well made game. It is very strange that Destructoid's official score for this is 40%. As you can see from most of the reviews it is much better. The best feature of Dillon's Rolling Western is the combination of multiple gameplay styles into one game. It is a tower defense game, a beat em up game, and a resource management game. It does well in all three. Controls might need some time to get them right every time because to reach peak efficiency you need to learn how to roll fast every time with the stylus as the enemies who look like some stone based pokemon creatures assault a American style western town populated by cute animal characters. Potential drawback that could lower enjoyment of this game is after 3 or 4 attacks on the town it becomes much more difficult to defend because you, Dillon the Armadillo, have to roll between two directions to defend them little innocent critters and the sheep from the slaughter!

    Another fun thing they added is putting collectibles all over when you roll around, finding mines/dungeons to get some treasures. Yea it is good.

    ps: Main character Dillon resembles Yul Brenner the actor who played the bald cowboy in old Westerns.
    Full Review »