Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    70
    Whilst not the superb Professor Layton competitor that people were expecting, Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights is a pleasant surprise, proving to be an intriguing prospect on its own merits.
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    70
    Though padded somewhat by a repetitive combination of puzzles, strategy and RPG elements, Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights finally gives gamers an adventure of substance on the Nintendo 3DS.
  3. A high quality game that makes a strong start then descends into repetition, sadly.
  4. Games Master UK
    Nov 20, 2011
    68
    A stunning-looking 3DS game but one that gets boring after countless similar missions. [Christmas 2011, p.80]
  5. Nintendo Power
    Oct 6, 2011
    65
    The turn-based battle system--in which you pit your collection of possessed treasures against enemy spirits--is sort of interesting, but not enough to make up for the title's shortcomings. [Oct 2011, p.84]
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    60
    Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights fails to counter the popularity of professor's Layton adventures, presenting a poor charachter design and puzzles.
  7. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    A dull and uninspired Layton clone, with a couple of good ideas ad a lot of repetitive puzzles. Sorry Doctor, but we prefer our Professor!
  8. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    56
    Does an awful lot, but it fails to do any of it well. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  9. Jan 6, 2012
    55
    Professor Layton this is not, but imitation it tries. Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights fails to capture the magic that it is trying to emulate. Repetitive puzzles and a lack of player interaction during gameplay will leave you wanting much more.
  10. Mar 2, 2012
    50
    In the end Doctor Lautrec is really enjoyable when you play it and boring when you're sitting through long cutscenes and dialog exchanges between its bland cast of chracters. It's just too bad the gameplay is spread too far and too thin
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    A game with bad versions of pokemon fights and bad versions of puzzle solving games. There seemed to be a max of 5 different types of puzzles,A game with bad versions of pokemon fights and bad versions of puzzle solving games. There seemed to be a max of 5 different types of puzzles, pathetically easy. The characters looked interesting but the story fell down and overall it just wasn't that great. Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2016
    0
    Forget about this absolute trainwreck of a lovechild between Professor Layton and a clogged toilet? I don't blame you.
    Never heard of it? I
    Forget about this absolute trainwreck of a lovechild between Professor Layton and a clogged toilet? I don't blame you.
    Never heard of it? I don't blame you.
    I never finished it, what I can say is Lautrec is more of a gentleman than Professor Layton, just look at that mustache, sadly that's all his bootlegged ass is good for as he's currently stuck in some cave endlessly trying to sneak past policemen who are down protecting a treasure for eternity for some unexplained reason.
    Not a spoiler.
    First 3 hours.
    Which is as far as you'll get with these **** ass stealth sections, so I just saved you from trying it out to see what the game is about, you're welcome.
    Full Review »