Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D 3DS

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D is a portable 3D makeover of the smash-hit Wii game.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 9, 2013
    100
    An excellent platformer that will test your patience along with your skills in a fair, entertaining and imaginative way. [Issue#231]
  2. May 17, 2013
    90
    Where Rare fell into obscurity, Retro and Monster Games seem to have picked up the pieces and evolved the platforming formula to a new level, streamlining certain features and giving the 3DS yet another must-play game.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 4, 2013
    90
    Still the best 2D platformer in years. [Aug 2013, p.77]
  4. May 28, 2013
    82
    While this game offers the same magnificent platform experience than the original Wii version, it suffers from issues associated with the smaller screen. The new controls are precise, specially now that you don't have to shake the controller. Even though the art direction and the levels where designed with a TV screen in mind, the 3D effect really enhances the backgrounds and environments. Challenging, fun and solid, the game design of this title shines even through its flaws and the patches that where made while adapting it for the 3DS.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Until then, it’s hard to recommend buying this if you’ve beaten the original, but if you loved it, couldn’t beat it, and want to give New mode a shot, it’s easily worth either buying it at a lower price point or simply renting it.
  6. As with any rehash of a great, it's the problems that stand out, but the uninitiated will find a huge amount to love. DK's still playing his second fiddle very nicely.
  7. May 24, 2013
    60
    The Wii version is superior, but Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D has both the simple charms of a gimmick-free 2D platformer and a strong grip on nostalgic heartstrings.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    I just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever playedI just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever played and it sits in the top 10 best games I've ever played. This one is a whole new twist that doesn't take away from the originals. Retro has their own flavor and they respect the Rareware games as well by not using their enemies. Utimately it's a fantastic game that does better on the 3ds with all the entertainment coming at your face from the background. I'm just overly impressed and I hope that Nintendo keeps coming up with rereleases like this. I never got to play Skyward sword and am wondering if they could put that on the 3ds as well. I'm sure that would go over extremely well too. Collapse
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    I grew up playing the SNES DKC's and they were loads of fun and extremely challenging. I can say the same thing about this game. I didn'tI grew up playing the SNES DKC's and they were loads of fun and extremely challenging. I can say the same thing about this game. I didn't play the Wii version when it came out so this game is new for me. The graphics are great, but not perfect. That didn't deter me from the game at all though. The gameplay gets harder as you progress through the level and using power ups is a plus. The new mode is slightly easier, but still pretty damn challenging. There are a ton of collectibles and unlockables. This is a must-have game! Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    This is one if the best games on the 3DS. Got it at Black Friday 2014 for only $15 USD. The graphics are great. WAAAY better than the WiiThis is one if the best games on the 3DS. Got it at Black Friday 2014 for only $15 USD. The graphics are great. WAAAY better than the Wii Version. The gameplay is awesome. The music is cool, especially Gear Getaway. The controls were bad at first because I was used to SSB controlls. Got used to it though. Diddy Kong is awesome. The new 3 heart mode is SO frigging awesome. The stages were cool, and highly designed. If you don't like DKCR, you are silly as JB. This is a great 3DS game and it is worth buying. It is around $30. Expand
  4. May 13, 2016
    9
    El remake para consolas 3DS de "Donkey Kong Country Returns" es tan bueno como la versión de Wii ya que a pesar de que pierde capacidadEl remake para consolas 3DS de "Donkey Kong Country Returns" es tan bueno como la versión de Wii ya que a pesar de que pierde capacidad gráfica gana en comodidad gracias a que todo se maneja con los botones de la portátil.
    El juego es uno de los mejores del género de plataformas del catálogo de 3DS gracias a su desafiante curva de dificultad y los varios coleccionables que le dan mucha rejugabilidad al juego. La historia es simple, un nueva villano robó la reserva de bananas de la familia Kong y es el deber de DK recuperarla con el apoyo de Diddy.
    En general "Donkey Kong Country Returns" es excelente, la animación en 3D se ve bien, los escenarios son vistosos, los bonus son muy del estilo de la serie clásica. Sencillamente un "Must have" si no lo jugaste en Wii.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    I grown up playing DKC series on SNES and for those asking, YES the feeling is the same! they brought it back!
    Pros Graphics Sound Thrill
    I grown up playing DKC series on SNES and for those asking, YES the feeling is the same! they brought it back!
    Pros Graphics Sound Thrill of platforming
    Cons Circle pad response
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2015
    8
    Niiice. DKCR needed a more traditional control scheme to give the player tighter control, and with the 3DS version, it's a far better sightNiiice. DKCR needed a more traditional control scheme to give the player tighter control, and with the 3DS version, it's a far better sight than the Wii version's waggling nonsense. This game takes the formula of the old Donkey Kong Country games (which were the very first games I ever played. In 2004. My folks were broke as hell back then but I didn't mind.) and re-invents it in a shiny next-gen package. It's easy to pick up and play, but tough as ever living f*ck. It does what every "tough" game should ever do - make the player feel as if their failures were their fault - not the game's. There's enough fluidity to make the speedrunners feel at home while giving the more thorough players enough meat to eat and take their time with. I'm all for re-mixing old tracks to next gen standards, but I felt as if the composers got lazy and put in a remix to save time and money. Don't get me wrong - they've still got enough variety to get my energy going or chill out a bit more, but some original tracks would've been nice. They've got it in them, if the more experimental levels are anything to go by. Well done, Retro Studios. You've sure got the folks at Rare back in the Englandland a little hot under their collars. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    All and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playingAll and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playing Zelda, Mario, or Monster hunter currently and playing this game just feels like a choir. I would stay away from it and hope for a more innovative donkey kong country game to be released. Feels like a cheap mobile phone game. If the 3Ds would just release SNES titles on the 3DS already I would just pay for the SNES version of Donkey Kong Country, heck I would even pay $30 for the SNES version on the 3Ds over this garbage. I am rating this a 0 just to bring the score down as many of these reviews of a "10" is over nostalgia and may miss lead others into paying for this title. My honest score is a 5. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.