Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D 3DS

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D is a portable 3D makeover of the smash-hit Wii game.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Donkey Kong Country Returns Rambi Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 9, 2013
    100
    An excellent platformer that will test your patience along with your skills in a fair, entertaining and imaginative way. [Issue#231]
  2. May 17, 2013
    90
    Where Rare fell into obscurity, Retro and Monster Games seem to have picked up the pieces and evolved the platforming formula to a new level, streamlining certain features and giving the 3DS yet another must-play game.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 4, 2013
    90
    Still the best 2D platformer in years. [Aug 2013, p.77]
  4. May 28, 2013
    82
    While this game offers the same magnificent platform experience than the original Wii version, it suffers from issues associated with the smaller screen. The new controls are precise, specially now that you don't have to shake the controller. Even though the art direction and the levels where designed with a TV screen in mind, the 3D effect really enhances the backgrounds and environments. Challenging, fun and solid, the game design of this title shines even through its flaws and the patches that where made while adapting it for the 3DS.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Until then, it’s hard to recommend buying this if you’ve beaten the original, but if you loved it, couldn’t beat it, and want to give New mode a shot, it’s easily worth either buying it at a lower price point or simply renting it.
  6. As with any rehash of a great, it's the problems that stand out, but the uninitiated will find a huge amount to love. DK's still playing his second fiddle very nicely.
  7. May 24, 2013
    60
    The Wii version is superior, but Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D has both the simple charms of a gimmick-free 2D platformer and a strong grip on nostalgic heartstrings.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    I just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever playedI just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever played and it sits in the top 10 best games I've ever played. This one is a whole new twist that doesn't take away from the originals. Retro has their own flavor and they respect the Rareware games as well by not using their enemies. Utimately it's a fantastic game that does better on the 3ds with all the entertainment coming at your face from the background. I'm just overly impressed and I hope that Nintendo keeps coming up with rereleases like this. I never got to play Skyward sword and am wondering if they could put that on the 3ds as well. I'm sure that would go over extremely well too. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    I grew up playing the SNES DKC's and they were loads of fun and extremely challenging. I can say the same thing about this game. I didn'tI grew up playing the SNES DKC's and they were loads of fun and extremely challenging. I can say the same thing about this game. I didn't play the Wii version when it came out so this game is new for me. The graphics are great, but not perfect. That didn't deter me from the game at all though. The gameplay gets harder as you progress through the level and using power ups is a plus. The new mode is slightly easier, but still pretty damn challenging. There are a ton of collectibles and unlockables. This is a must-have game! Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    This is one if the best games on the 3DS. Got it at Black Friday 2014 for only $15 USD. The graphics are great. WAAAY better than the WiiThis is one if the best games on the 3DS. Got it at Black Friday 2014 for only $15 USD. The graphics are great. WAAAY better than the Wii Version. The gameplay is awesome. The music is cool, especially Gear Getaway. The controls were bad at first because I was used to SSB controlls. Got used to it though. Diddy Kong is awesome. The new 3 heart mode is SO frigging awesome. The stages were cool, and highly designed. If you don't like DKCR, you are silly as JB. This is a great 3DS game and it is worth buying. It is around $30. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    Platformers are not my thing, but I was still blown away by how impressive this game is. The level design is fantastic as each level feelsPlatformers are not my thing, but I was still blown away by how impressive this game is. The level design is fantastic as each level feels unique and challenging in its own right. Plus, with only a few game mechanics, I couldn't believe the different number of ways that game designers were able to exploit DK's few moves to make new and exciting obstacles in every level. To beat this game, I died well over 300 times, but I only got frustrated a few times, and I could only be frustrated with myself. The game is challenging, but fair. Plus, if you're really having trouble beating a level, there are all kinds of power ups you can use to help yourself get through it (and I'm not talking about the great white ape who beats the level for you- there's no reason to go there).

    If I were the platforming type, there's no reason not to give this game a 10- it's practically flawless. To me, a more action-oriented gamer, I still found the game to be highly entertaining.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    I grown up playing DKC series on SNES and for those asking, YES the feeling is the same! they brought it back!
    Pros Graphics Sound Thrill
    I grown up playing DKC series on SNES and for those asking, YES the feeling is the same! they brought it back!
    Pros Graphics Sound Thrill of platforming
    Cons Circle pad response
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2016
    8
    Game: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo - Retro Studios System: 3DS Total Score: 87/100
    Game: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo - Retro Studios
    System: 3DS
    Total Score: 87/100
    Value Score: 8.7/10

    • Story: 7/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 9/10

    Pros
    +New Mode features additional hearts, easier way to unlock golden temple levels, etc
    +Game is easier than the original - alongside the decreased prices of banana coins, more hearts, you also get get Super Guide after loss of five lives instead of eight
    +Additional World exclusive to 3DS version

    Cons
    -Game runs at 30 FPS instead of the original's 60 FPS
    -Textures have less quality compared to original
    -More loading screens/time
    -Take a break popup is annoying
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    All and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playingAll and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playing Zelda, Mario, or Monster hunter currently and playing this game just feels like a choir. I would stay away from it and hope for a more innovative donkey kong country game to be released. Feels like a cheap mobile phone game. If the 3Ds would just release SNES titles on the 3DS already I would just pay for the SNES version of Donkey Kong Country, heck I would even pay $30 for the SNES version on the 3Ds over this garbage. I am rating this a 0 just to bring the score down as many of these reviews of a "10" is over nostalgia and may miss lead others into paying for this title. My honest score is a 5. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.