Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dream Trigger 3D is a shooter for the 3DS with a mixture of explosive graphics and nonstop action.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. May 14, 2012
    80
    Dream Trigger 3D is one of those games that would have hugely benefitted from eShop presence, be it a demo or a smaller downloadable version, as while the concept in itself is difficult to grasp initially, the payoff in grasping a higher score and hearing the stage theme in its entirety is more than worth it. As far as effective 3D showcases and unique experiences on Nintendo's newest handheld go, you'll find fewer more so than this.
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    This is a game that is hard to recommend to many players, but those with a taste for the odd and an ability to forgive rather bizarre design flaws will find a good little game hidden under a film of potential inaccessibility.
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    65
    This game is definitely made for the 3DS, it has good graphics and 3D is simply awesome. Unfortunately the game lacks innovation. The concept of the game sounded better than the final product has become.
  4. May 18, 2011
    60
    Unraveling the interwoven game mechanics of Dream Trigger 3D leads to the realization that this shoot-'em-up offers more style than substance.
  5. May 12, 2011
    50
    Basically, Dream Trigger is a shooter that comes off like it was trying to reinvent shooters, but falls pretty flat. And that's probably not the kind of "trip" it was going for.
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Dream Trigger is a novel experiment that starts off refreshing, surreal and unique, but it's too content to regurgitate the same tricks and never evolves past its base mechanics. New coats of paint can only mask so much before it grows tiresome.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    25
    Dream Trigger 3D is off-putting and inaccessible at worst when coupled with the difficulty level and crude production values. If this game had a more casually approachable tone and a greater focus on one core mechanic (or two simple and complementary ones), then there might have been a great game here. As it stands, it's a muddled nightmare, in 3D.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This game is actually really good. It is, however, confusing to learn. The main point people don't understand: YOU DON'T HAVE TO DODGEThis game is actually really good. It is, however, confusing to learn. The main point people don't understand: YOU DON'T HAVE TO DODGE BULLETS. If you are firing, you are invulnerable. This might be expected to make the game easy, but you can only fire for a limited time after uncovering enemies with your sonar. This adds some tension -- you frantically uncover enemies, then blast away, trying to get them all. If you don't, then you might have to dodge for a second or two. But the game is not mainly about dodging -- it's about firing and uncovering enemies. Once this is understood, it becomes a very tense, richly challenging and engrossing game. But not a particularly impossible one -- just strange and unusual. And very appreciated for the 3DS. Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    10
    Let me make it clear. you do NOT need to look at the bottom screen to play the game. I'll glance at it if I need to see where a pesky bogie isLet me make it clear. you do NOT need to look at the bottom screen to play the game. I'll glance at it if I need to see where a pesky bogie is hiding, but otherwise I avoid it and just put down my Sonar Pings with A. I'm really enjoying the game. The gameplay is intense and the levels are just amazingly surreal. Honestly its probably one of the best titles on the 3DS now. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    9
    Here is my disclaimer: this game is certainly not for everybody. However, as an avid player of games in the vein of Gradius and Lumines, thisHere is my disclaimer: this game is certainly not for everybody. However, as an avid player of games in the vein of Gradius and Lumines, this game hit me in a spot I didn't know still existed in my jaded gamer's heart. This is the kind of game that will frustrate the impatient modern gamer (who has been tainted by twitch-shooter FPS games and simple platformers for the past few years), but to those who put in at most 20 minutes of effort to figure out the nuances, this game is a treat.

    What I would call a hybrid of the bullet hell and rhythm puzzle genres, Dream Trigger 3D is an attention demanding, patter recognition necessary game. There is a sweeping bar much in the same realm as the one present in Lumines, and the enemies on screen appear as a one would expect from a game like Yar's Revenge (kicking it old school on you, I know). The graphics are very immersive with the 3D turned on, and the music is organic with the success of the player. In other words, if you are constantly moving, tagging enemies (using your "ping), and taking them out, you will have a steady stream of very energetic electronica music filling your ears. If you are stationary and not doing well, you sit in silence.

    All in all, this is the first game to do something fun and original with the technology present in the 3DS system. While Street Fighter was the most "complete" launch game, and Shadow Wars was the most worthwhile, Dream Trigger 3D looks to be the first in a (hopefully) long and intriguing stream of games pushing Nintendo's system to new heights. I recommend this game to anybody who has the patience and desire to learn something new. This will be in my system from now until Zelda, and beyond.
    Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    9
    Extremely innovative. I can see why people are harping a bit on the "there's too much going on" thing, but if you feel out the mechanics, itsExtremely innovative. I can see why people are harping a bit on the "there's too much going on" thing, but if you feel out the mechanics, its actually quite simple. The tutorial plays on the rhythm side of things, but if you leave the "puzzle" aspect at the door and think of this as more of a shmup, you're in for a treat. While at first I was trying to place my sonar pings in rhythm with the enemies, looking down at the second screen every two seconds, I became quite frustrated. Then I realized you can see your ping placements on the top screen as well, and began drawing shapes and patterns to catch the enemies in. Once you get the hang of it, the mechanics are fluid, and glancing to the bottom screen is no longer necessary. Boss fights are great, pinging to open up the health bar for a blast attack. Exploring Map Mode is also fun, traveling to trippy planets for new beats and enemies. Graphically? Nothing crazy, but this isn't the game to buy for the graphics. This one is for the fans of more arcade style shmups, and brutal, addictive gameplay Expand
  5. May 14, 2011
    8
    Dream Trigger is a clever shooter that becomes pretty fun once you get "in the zone", but don't expect to breeze through it like most of theDream Trigger is a clever shooter that becomes pretty fun once you get "in the zone", but don't expect to breeze through it like most of the launch titles. It is a difficult game, but definitely not the hardest thing I've ever played. There are a ton of things going on on both screens and the gameplay is made even more complex by the "ping" mechanic, but if you're used to fast paced twitch style games, you'll get used to the rhythm of it pretty quickly. Graphically, the game is nice and colorful and has a deep 3D effect which makes it a good showcase for the 3D screen. The soundtrack is decent, if not a bit forgettable.

    I have no doubt that in time there will be better games released- but at this point, Dream Trigger is one of the best 3ds games for core gamers who want a challenge. If you're looking for a standard shooter in 3D, you're going to be disappointed, but if you're open to something more creative and original, this is your game.
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2011
    3
    Sounds like the developers caught wind of the poor review and decided to make their own to up the score, much like what has been done here onSounds like the developers caught wind of the poor review and decided to make their own to up the score, much like what has been done here on metacritic to raise review scores. Devoting entire user reviews to try and discredit a user review is pathetic. If your game sucks, it sucks. And I, as a consumer and a long time gamer (27 years) have the right to voice my opinion, as does everyone on the web. If's sad that developers and publishers come on to metacritic and review their own games. Next time, make a good game and you won't have to defend this garbage..... Stay away, this game is NOT fun... it's more like a chore. There's way better games coming out that will provide a challenge and entertainment. Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    1
    Not fun. A big disappointment. Why was this a $40 game.
    Those are a few things that came to mind after my first play through of this game.
    I
    Not fun. A big disappointment. Why was this a $40 game.
    Those are a few things that came to mind after my first play through of this game.
    I am a 27 year old who started playing Nintendo before I could talk. That being said, this game is stupid difficult. The intro walks you through, at that point you realize that this game is asking you to do a variety of things at the same time, and all I wanted to do was play a bullet hell (CAVE style) in 3D.
    I thought this was a 3D Shmup! That's all I wanted from Dream Trigger, but instead I got a full priced cluster eff of a game. I was one of the few who waited and was upset when the release got pushed back a few weeks. Now I will be posting it on Amazon.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews