Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan has players board their skyship and set out into the clouds in search of treasure, glory, and the answer to Tharsis' oldest mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    But for everyone else, Etrian Odyssey IV offers more of what you already love about the series, just this time it’s a little prettier in action.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    90
    If someone is looking for one of the most entrancing, addictive RPGs on the 3DS, then they should not hesitate to run as quickly as they can to their nearest game store to purchase Legends of the Titan; it’s certainly worth every penny of its price tag, and then some.
  3. 90
    Etrian Odyssey IV’s sense of adventure is ever present as you explore its wide variety of environments. The game’s lackluster story and occasional difficulty may scare some away, but between the amazing dungeons, challenging battles, and great music, this is an accessible and worthwhile chapter in the series.
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    85
    This is a game for those who enjoy what a game used to be: a challenge. If that's not what you're looking for, even the "casual mode" could be too much for you.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to your affinity for JRPGs, but credit falls to Atlus for offering curious newbies that helping hand, a hand that has the strength and power to pull you into the world and become entranced.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Thanks to the all new Casual Mode, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan will finally appeal more than just the hardcore players looking for an extremely deep battle system and a real challenge. However, it's still a retro RPG with a thin plot that won't be easy to overcome. It's not Final Fantasy, but Etrian Odyssey IV is great on its own terms.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Unless you’re a chronic stat-cruncher and menu enthusiast, though, I can’t imagine that this incremental and grind-heavy sequel will resonate with you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Atlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. FuseAtlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. Fuse those concepts with incredibly charming (and adorable) anime art, and a fantastically fitting soundtrack, and you have one of the best time sinks on the 3DS. The 3D effect on the menus is pleasing to look at. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    While I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation isWhile I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation is astounding and the environments you find yourself taking in are dangerous, beautiful, and unique. While the first area suffers from green hill zone syndrome, once you beat the first maze you'll be amazed by the unique colors and orchestrated music of the second area. Going on to the game play, it's more on the traditional side of your modern JRPG but because you have to put so much thought into your party it's not tedious at all. This game is surprisingly easy to jump into because it has an easier difficulty setting, which doesn't detract too much from the overall experience and can always be changed. Try out the demo before you get it, but I believe that this is the best JRPG on the 3DS. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The vibrant DS series classic, Etrian Odyssey, continues on stronger than before in it's 4th installment on the 3DS with beautiful 3D models,The vibrant DS series classic, Etrian Odyssey, continues on stronger than before in it's 4th installment on the 3DS with beautiful 3D models, an exploitative over world traversed via airship, and plenty of dangerous dungeons, forest and ruins to explore full of treasure.

    The difficulty is a bit more forgiving than the prior 3 installments, but the end and post-game content is a true test to your party matching and skill stacking abilities.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game brings an enhanced graphics engine boasting polygonal enemies and new 3D special effects. An exceedingly atmospheric and fullyThis game brings an enhanced graphics engine boasting polygonal enemies and new 3D special effects. An exceedingly atmospheric and fully orchestrated musical score. It also features more immersive 3D dungeons. Collapse
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    This is the fourth in a series that became my favorite on Nintendo's DS, and even though the series is not a graphics powerhouse, the stillThis is the fourth in a series that became my favorite on Nintendo's DS, and even though the series is not a graphics powerhouse, the still artwork put into the characters and the backgrounds is beautiful, and one of the most attractive attributes of the series. But the biggest draw of these dungeon crawler-style games is definitely the mechanic of having to draw a map of the labyrinths on a grid on the bottom screen of the DS and now the 3DS. The point of view of the player is first-person, like the dungeon crawlers of old, and the view is now enhanced with the use of 3D on the upper screen. All in all, if you want a deeply involved role-playing game for your 3DS, this is one of the best! Managing the powers, attacks, and weapons of your characters as you slowly level up is incredibly nuanced, and you will start thinking of these avatars as real people by the time you clock in your 25th hour on the game. This is not a game that will charm everyone, though, as you will need a lot of patience and handle frustration well unless you play it on the new "casual" mode (although I can't imagine the game being much fun on that setting!). The developers also implemented a very clever use of the Street Pass and the use of QR codes for this installment that will give a whole new twist to veterans of the series. Highly recommended, but play the demo first (available on eShop) so you know what you are getting into! Incidentally, this is the first time I have encountered a console game demo that will let you save your progress and then use it towards the full version of the game... clever move! Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Actually, I've been very, very impressed with this game.
    First, the core elements are actually very well executed. You get to build a team
    Actually, I've been very, very impressed with this game.
    First, the core elements are actually very well executed. You get to build a team from a few classes that you think will gel well, and the skill tree gives the opportunity to really play with some combinations in interesting ways. Each class has its own purpose, and a couple different ways of achieving that purpose based on how you build them. There are lots of different items and equipment, many of which offer depth instead of just raw upgrades. Enemies are plentiful too, often offer challenge at a good pace (while showing how much your team has grown as inititally big guys get easier and easier to take down), and have enough interesting traits to keep you on your toes even when dealing with common enemies, instead of just mashing through the attack button.
    Some of the more fringe elements of the game are what made it turn out to be a real gem. Being able to build my own map is surprisingly fun, even though it's a feature that probably could have just been forgone. It has a certain old-school charm to it, like making notes and scrawling down home-made maps in days long gone. The fusion of random battles (re-imagined to make them a not-agonizing mechanic) and set battles (which still move on the map during other battles) adds some real feeling of tension and a sense of urgency that I never thought a turn-based RPG could have. The mechanic to distract big monsters is a nice touch and adds a lot of depth to even navigating the game's maps.

    There are some small quirks. The anime style isn't particularly offensive, but I always hate to see single, static character portraits for dialogues, especially in a game that puts in as much personality as this. It is not hard to add a couple of extra visuals of major characters, so they can change their expressions. In spite of some very small shortcomings, excellent game! Highly recommend to all fans of RPGs.
    Expand
  7. May 8, 2014
    0
    Atlus ripped us off with this installment. The music sounds like it was recorded under a freaking toliet paper tube...! The game itself isAtlus ripped us off with this installment. The music sounds like it was recorded under a freaking toliet paper tube...! The game itself is sooo grindy unlike the original classics for the DS. The 3D models are ugly and are reused and reused with a little color change!

    If you want a brilliant 3DS RPG I recommend getting Braverly Default (Which is just absolutely perfection) or Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater (They removed half of the cutscenes found in the SONY versions of the game and made it into gameplay. You know, WHY YOU BUY VIDEO GAMES IN THE FIRST GAME, SONY?).

    I wanted to like this game, I really did. I even beat it 4 times but it's such a hallow experience.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews