Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan has players board their skyship and set out into the clouds in search of treasure, glory, and the answer to Tharsis' oldest mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    But for everyone else, Etrian Odyssey IV offers more of what you already love about the series, just this time it’s a little prettier in action.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    90
    If someone is looking for one of the most entrancing, addictive RPGs on the 3DS, then they should not hesitate to run as quickly as they can to their nearest game store to purchase Legends of the Titan; it’s certainly worth every penny of its price tag, and then some.
  3. 90
    Etrian Odyssey IV’s sense of adventure is ever present as you explore its wide variety of environments. The game’s lackluster story and occasional difficulty may scare some away, but between the amazing dungeons, challenging battles, and great music, this is an accessible and worthwhile chapter in the series.
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    85
    This is a game for those who enjoy what a game used to be: a challenge. If that's not what you're looking for, even the "casual mode" could be too much for you.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to your affinity for JRPGs, but credit falls to Atlus for offering curious newbies that helping hand, a hand that has the strength and power to pull you into the world and become entranced.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Thanks to the all new Casual Mode, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan will finally appeal more than just the hardcore players looking for an extremely deep battle system and a real challenge. However, it's still a retro RPG with a thin plot that won't be easy to overcome. It's not Final Fantasy, but Etrian Odyssey IV is great on its own terms.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Unless you’re a chronic stat-cruncher and menu enthusiast, though, I can’t imagine that this incremental and grind-heavy sequel will resonate with you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Atlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. FuseAtlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. Fuse those concepts with incredibly charming (and adorable) anime art, and a fantastically fitting soundtrack, and you have one of the best time sinks on the 3DS. The 3D effect on the menus is pleasing to look at. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    While I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation isWhile I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation is astounding and the environments you find yourself taking in are dangerous, beautiful, and unique. While the first area suffers from green hill zone syndrome, once you beat the first maze you'll be amazed by the unique colors and orchestrated music of the second area. Going on to the game play, it's more on the traditional side of your modern JRPG but because you have to put so much thought into your party it's not tedious at all. This game is surprisingly easy to jump into because it has an easier difficulty setting, which doesn't detract too much from the overall experience and can always be changed. Try out the demo before you get it, but I believe that this is the best JRPG on the 3DS. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I finally got the chance to pick the game up in Europe. I played through the 3 other games of the series and I must say, this is a definiteI finally got the chance to pick the game up in Europe. I played through the 3 other games of the series and I must say, this is a definite improvement, while being true to the formula. The game is certainly not for everyone but I think, Atlus has it's way with "Games not for everyone" and that's what's making them so special in comparison to other developers.
    If you know what you're getting into by buying this game, you will get exactly everything you want of it a dungeon-crawling experience with battling monsters, leveling up your characters, managing skillsets etc. And EO does that with a great variety, with the everchanging looks of the dungeons. Even more so with the introducing of a full fledged overworld, that you can discover wih your very on airship.
    The tension that is builduing up in you when you visit a new dungeon is great, because you never know what's exactly waiting for you. But almost as great is the feeling, when you got stronger and can finally beat the Monster which teared you apart only 10 levels ago. When it comes to dungeon-crawling expierences today this is the ultimate game.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game brings an enhanced graphics engine boasting polygonal enemies and new 3D special effects. An exceedingly atmospheric and fullyThis game brings an enhanced graphics engine boasting polygonal enemies and new 3D special effects. An exceedingly atmospheric and fully orchestrated musical score. It also features more immersive 3D dungeons. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a customizable, immersing experience, but first I would recommend playing the demo (free onI would recommend this game to anyone who wants a customizable, immersing experience, but first I would recommend playing the demo (free on eShop). All of your progress from the demo will transfer easily into the full retail version of the game. The uniqueness of this series is from the map drawing, which admittedly I was very wary of in my first Etrian experience (3). I got over it fast. There is a great sense of accomplishment that comes with the map drawing, and it's surprisingly enjoyable and easy to get the hang of. The combat is challenging and evolves throughout the entire game, forcing you to pay attention to your party and skill choices. The game is truly hard, but balances out if you play it skilfully. The music is stunningly composed, and the cutesy-ness of the characters is juxtaposed by the brutality of the game and fate of many soldiers and other adventurer NPCs. The sense of exploration and discovery is palpable. They place enemies that will decimate your party on the map in the first zone and all others, and when one gets sight of your party and chases after you, the tension is thrilling. This ranks in my top three 3DS games. For the time it will keep you hooked, which is at least 60-80 hours, it is a great value. Collapse
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Etrian Odyssey games have always made me nervous when playing them. I like a challenge, but sometimes these games can take it a bit too far,Etrian Odyssey games have always made me nervous when playing them. I like a challenge, but sometimes these games can take it a bit too far, especially if you don't have a lot of time to focus on the game. This is in no way a knock on the game, many people like that aspect, I just never had time. Well, Atlus seemed to focus on solving that issue with Etrian Odyssey 4. There is a casual mode that decreases difficulty, allows you to use items over and over again, and instead of giving you a game over the game sends your party back to town. This is just what I needed to get into the series. The game is beautiful, the 3D is done well, and the characters and story really bring the world to life. There is a lot of game here and it's not for the feint of heart. But, if you like a challenge (even casual is tough by the way, just not as tough as before) and want to experience a game akin to Wizardry of old, then this is your ticket. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    Ever since the SNES era, I've been a huge RPG fan. From Japanese masterpieces like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI, and EarthBound toEver since the SNES era, I've been a huge RPG fan. From Japanese masterpieces like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI, and EarthBound to American franchises like The Elder Scrolls, I'm always enthralled by the epic storylines, memorable characters, and ridiculously immersive gameplay.

    There are, however, plenty of pitfalls in the genre. Sometimes, a game with all of the above qualities will simply force you to grind way too much (hello, Secret of Mana!). Other times, games turn into a slugfest of item and/or stats management that makes it a lot harder to enjoy their other qualities (much like The World Ends With You).

    To be blunt, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan features none of the qualities I mentioned above AND all of the hassles. The game is an endless grind, with no real compelling story and no memorable characters (all of your party are almost-faceless, player-created drones).

    Everything you do in the game, you do in the coldest way possible, through a crapload of menus and submenus. You don't get to wander around towns, approach townsfolk, look for secrets in the back alleys... you simply choose what to do from a list, suffer through boring dialogues, and proceed to grind the next dungeon.

    As if all of this wasn't enough, the game (apparently, the series) forces you to draw your own map as you go along. Words can't describe how aggravating I found that experience. Of course, it's something that real life adventurers would have to do, but it's also the sort of minutia I really don't want to have to deal with in a game. It makes adventuring seem more like a job than, well, an adventure.

    I know there are stat-grinding aficionados out there. For them, this game must be heaven (and the excellent graphics will definitely help). If that's not your case, however, chances are you'll find it a soulless, charmless drag.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews