• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan has players board their skyship and set out into the clouds in search of treasure, glory, and the answer to Tharsis' oldest mystery.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan - The Fortress
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    But for everyone else, Etrian Odyssey IV offers more of what you already love about the series, just this time it’s a little prettier in action.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    90
    If someone is looking for one of the most entrancing, addictive RPGs on the 3DS, then they should not hesitate to run as quickly as they can to their nearest game store to purchase Legends of the Titan; it’s certainly worth every penny of its price tag, and then some.
  3. 90
    Etrian Odyssey IV’s sense of adventure is ever present as you explore its wide variety of environments. The game’s lackluster story and occasional difficulty may scare some away, but between the amazing dungeons, challenging battles, and great music, this is an accessible and worthwhile chapter in the series.
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    85
    This is a game for those who enjoy what a game used to be: a challenge. If that's not what you're looking for, even the "casual mode" could be too much for you.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to your affinity for JRPGs, but credit falls to Atlus for offering curious newbies that helping hand, a hand that has the strength and power to pull you into the world and become entranced.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Thanks to the all new Casual Mode, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan will finally appeal more than just the hardcore players looking for an extremely deep battle system and a real challenge. However, it's still a retro RPG with a thin plot that won't be easy to overcome. It's not Final Fantasy, but Etrian Odyssey IV is great on its own terms.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Unless you’re a chronic stat-cruncher and menu enthusiast, though, I can’t imagine that this incremental and grind-heavy sequel will resonate with you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Atlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. FuseAtlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. Fuse those concepts with incredibly charming (and adorable) anime art, and a fantastically fitting soundtrack, and you have one of the best time sinks on the 3DS. The 3D effect on the menus is pleasing to look at. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    This series has come a long ways from the first entry on the ds. With the added power of the 3ds we now have a better draw distance in theThis series has come a long ways from the first entry on the ds. With the added power of the 3ds we now have a better draw distance in the dungeons as well as visible foes. no longer are forced to run into them to see what we are going to fight. visuals look excellent compared to even the previous entry. this game however is not for the faint of heart as its one of the more challenging games out there! Be prepared to spend upwards of 70+ hours to even get close to the end! With the added casual mode its now accessible to New comers as well as veterans of the series! If anything check out the demo to see if this game's for you! Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    While I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation isWhile I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation is astounding and the environments you find yourself taking in are dangerous, beautiful, and unique. While the first area suffers from green hill zone syndrome, once you beat the first maze you'll be amazed by the unique colors and orchestrated music of the second area. Going on to the game play, it's more on the traditional side of your modern JRPG but because you have to put so much thought into your party it's not tedious at all. This game is surprisingly easy to jump into because it has an easier difficulty setting, which doesn't detract too much from the overall experience and can always be changed. Try out the demo before you get it, but I believe that this is the best JRPG on the 3DS. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2017
    9
    Unlike our sad, salty, and idiotic friend Templar GR, I actually play these games and don't copy and paste reviews. That being said, this wasUnlike our sad, salty, and idiotic friend Templar GR, I actually play these games and don't copy and paste reviews. That being said, this was an excellent addition to the series. The air balloon mini game provided a large overworld that allowed that game to reach this feeling of scope that much of the series has lacked. The gameplay remains almost the same but thats not to say its bad. Its tried and true turn based RPG goodness that will never become boring. A bit on the grindy side, but at this point thats just a staple in the series. Great menagerie of new beasts to fight. Overall a great game. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    The game's main draw is the sense of accomplishments you get from exploring a dungeon drawing it out making notes and successfully completingThe game's main draw is the sense of accomplishments you get from exploring a dungeon drawing it out making notes and successfully completing a dungeon filled with challenging and diverse enemies. The battling is fun making you command several different classes with branching special abilities which you can customize to your play style. Liking this game far more than expected too. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a customizable, immersing experience, but first I would recommend playing the demo (free onI would recommend this game to anyone who wants a customizable, immersing experience, but first I would recommend playing the demo (free on eShop). All of your progress from the demo will transfer easily into the full retail version of the game. The uniqueness of this series is from the map drawing, which admittedly I was very wary of in my first Etrian experience (3). I got over it fast. There is a great sense of accomplishment that comes with the map drawing, and it's surprisingly enjoyable and easy to get the hang of. The combat is challenging and evolves throughout the entire game, forcing you to pay attention to your party and skill choices. The game is truly hard, but balances out if you play it skilfully. The music is stunningly composed, and the cutesy-ness of the characters is juxtaposed by the brutality of the game and fate of many soldiers and other adventurer NPCs. The sense of exploration and discovery is palpable. They place enemies that will decimate your party on the map in the first zone and all others, and when one gets sight of your party and chases after you, the tension is thrilling. This ranks in my top three 3DS games. For the time it will keep you hooked, which is at least 60-80 hours, it is a great value. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    Typical overrated Atlus trash. A game i should have liked, since i am an oldtime hardcore PC RPG fan, but if you think this game has anythingTypical overrated Atlus trash. A game i should have liked, since i am an oldtime hardcore PC RPG fan, but if you think this game has anything to do with the classics, you need to change your hobby and begin stamp collections.

    There is no challenge in this game. The gameplay mechanics are very simple and boring, all you have to do is grind like your life is worth nothing and you can throw hours upon hours in the garbage bin. Grind=win type of game, like most of Atlus trash, with a nice anime/manga presentation to appeal to the kiddies.

    Just avoid if you value your time.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews