Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    91
    Again, there’s absolutely nothing here that’ll derail your enjoyment of the series if you’ve enjoyed Etrian Odyssey for quite some time. And you’re not likely to find a more perfect jumping on point if you have yet to experience the series.
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    90
    Etrian Odyssey Untold is just an amazing remake: thanks to the new Story Mode and three different difficulties it will finally appeal to a wider audience, making both newcomers and veterans happy with tons of items, monsters and exploration.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl is not only a great example of how to remake a classic, it's also a fantastic game in its own right.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    While I wouldn’t consider the game play to top the one present in the excellent EO 4, the addition of the Story Mode with some streamlining of the mapping process in the form of floor jumps makes this the most accessible, easily recommendable EO game release thus far.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    In the end, Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl feels less like a remake and more like a full-fledged sequel.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    89
    As I said before, The Millennium Girl offers a fantastic opportunity for new players to dip their toes into Etrian Odyssey, as it provides the familiar sorts of characters we have grown to love in JRPGs while keeping intact the extremely strong foundations of the original game.
  7. Apr 27, 2014
    88
    A robust, long, flexible and fascinating dungeon crawler and another gem in the huge 3DS catalogue.
  8. Apr 25, 2014
    88
    If you like RPG games, this is a great experience and a wonderful remake, that adds not only improved visuals, but also loads of content.
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    With Etrian Odyssey Untold Millennium Girl, Atlus showed us all how a remake should be done, cramming a lot of quality content in a tiny cartridge and trying to keep happy both veterans of the franchise and newcomers.
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    The Etrian Odyssey series remains the pinnacle of the dungeon crawling series for the current generation. Though the game’s high difficulty and required vigilance will not appeal to more casual gamers, it is exactly those aspects that will keep the cartridge in many an RPG fans’ 3DS for months to come.
  11. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl is a fairly solid game. While the early going can be a bit rough since money might be more spent on healing than buying new weapons and armor, the game’s mechanics and Story Mode’s story elements still make for a fairly sold game. This is one that newcomers and veterans alike should enjoy.
  12. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    On the surface, Etrian Odyssey Untold may look like a retread, but the enhancements made to the 2007 DS original are substantial enough for veteran players to give it a whirl, and the barrier of entry has been lowered so that anyone who calls themselves an RPG fan can find enjoyment.
  13. 85
    In the end, the game’s best feature is how well it respects the player’s time. With some minor options tweaks, even boss battles can be lightning fast. Growing your characters and working out new strategies with Grimoire Stones is incredibly rewarding.
  14. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    The Grimoire Stone system is too random to be consistently useful, and might make you miss out on a good chunk of Millennium Girl’s content. But what’s here is still some of the most difficult and rewarding turn-based battling you can find on the 3DS.
  15. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    82
    As magnificently, defiantly old-school as ever, Millenium Girl introduces enough new elements to come away feeling fresh and rarely compromised. [July 2014, p.81]
  16. Jul 12, 2014
    80
    If you haven't tried the original Etrian Odyssey, this "remake/ re-imagining" is the perfect opportunity to experience the origins of this great franchise.
  17. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold is a successful and well-executed remake which does a superb job at introducing the series to newcomers, as well as to rekindling the interest of its veterans. The game's enormous lifespan, its wide variety of locations and magnificent remastered soundtrack more than make for a rather simple narrative.
  18. May 12, 2014
    80
    Not as good as the fourth part, but aficionados of cartography dungeon crawlers will without a doubt be drawn into the caves of this remake.
  19. May 2, 2014
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl revisits the first chapter in an novel way, adding some meaning to the quests through a story told from the perspective of involved characters. This remake also refreshes exploration with new tricks that venture into uncharted territories, and thus justifies another trip to Yggdrasil.
  20. 80
    An excellent remake that makes the game vastly more accessible for newcomers, while still providing plenty of new features, and updated visuals, for existing fans.
  21. May 1, 2014
    80
    A lengthy, and hugely enjoyable, first person dungeon romp.
  22. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    An impressive remake of the first Etrian Odyseey, that adds a lot to the formula, preparing the franchise to a new story-driven evolution.
  23. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl is the very first remake which looks like a brand new game. Its hardcore mechanics are still there along with a good customization, the great visuals of Etrian Odyssey IV, and an entertaining story.
  24. Feb 20, 2014
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl has a limited audience. It exists for people who want to get into dungeon crawlers but find the mechanics confusing and the plots lacking.
  25. 80
    Millennium Girl serves as an excellent example of how to refresh an old game and introduce it to a new audience. It keeps the basics that give the Etrian Odyssey series its identity, adds in the many improvements that have appeared in that series over its four entries, and provides new content, such as the redone labyrinth and Story Mode, to make the game feel fresh and new even to gamers who played the original.
  26. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    The original Etrian Odyssey is remade with refined customization, enchanting visuals, and an intriguing story.
  27. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Fans of the JRPG genre who are looking for a challenge and aren’t bothered by the facepalm-worthy tropes will be delighted with the experience. This game won’t do much to capture anyone who isn’t already interested in the series with its very confusing mechanics and foreign gameplay structure.
  28. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    A deep and hugely rewarding 3DS RPG that I'm more than happy to recommend.
  29. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    At the end of the day, despite the enhancements, the core gameplay of Etrian Odyssey Untold is still likely to divide players.
  30. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Taken on its own Untold is a quality piece of work. Between its multiple modes and numerous difficulty settings, it really is the most accessible and flexible entry in the series: A great entry point to the series and genre, while offering something interesting for the seasoned player as well.
  31. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold largely succeeds at marrying the series’ gameplay with a more narrative-driven adventure, creating a unique take on the traditional Etrian Odyssey formula, while the Classic mode ensures that longtime fans will not be alienated by the game’s new direction.
  32. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    For me, this is an ideal remake. It keeps all the hardcore mechanics I love, gets rid of the ones I find tiresome, overhauls what needs to be improved, and leaves the right things alone. Any EO fan who isn't burned out should enjoy this game, and even if you're burned out it might be worth a shot thanks to the reduced rote activities.
  33. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    That said, the original Etrian Odyssey was a rough, brutal and vaguely experimental experience that I managed to complete out of sheer tenacity. In contrast, Millennium Girl takes the same content and makes it a thousand times more beautiful, approachable, and enjoyable for an all-new audience.
  34. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    An enjoyable nostalgia trip for Etrian Odyssey veterans. Etrian Odyssey Untold's tedium-reducing improvements elevate it above the original game, and for first-timers, it's the best entry point in the series.
  35. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    No matter how you play it, you'll cherish your time with The Millennium Girl - even if you occasionally find the journey to be more hassle than fun.
  36. Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Millennium Girl won’t change how you feel about Etrian Odyssey, but it may open the door for further improvement.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 95
  2. Negative: 11 out of 95
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    A fantastic retelling of the original Etrian Odyssey. A lot of the newer features from Etrian Odyssey IV return here, and make the experienceA fantastic retelling of the original Etrian Odyssey. A lot of the newer features from Etrian Odyssey IV return here, and make the experience much more enjoyable. The Story mode adds an incentive to replay this journey even if you already have before. Full Review »
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Again, now another one of my top 3DS games. After completing the story in approximately 45 hours over the span of 4 months (march~july) andAgain, now another one of my top 3DS games. After completing the story in approximately 45 hours over the span of 4 months (march~july) and spending a lot more with quests and extra "post-game things" to do (no spoilers~), I have to thoroughly admit that this game is something that all RPG fans should play! Now, is it as good as EOIV? Let's see the goods and bads before comparing the two.

    The Goods: Etrian Odyssey Untold is a freshened, remade version of the first game, which was released around 6/7 years ago (2007). It has a story mode, and the story mode serves as the main mode that etrian players will play. The classic mode is still there for people who want to use their own crew for fighting....and stuff. So, down to the story mode - it's surprisingly great. I found the premise of the story to be a bit niche, but the way they presented it was really spectacular, and the scripting was as good as ever, convincing me to continue to play it until the end. It was really emotional towards the end and I have to applaud Atlus for being able to shake my iron soul. The graphics are as good as ever for a 3DS game, and the 3D effect is really well implemented, as always. The character designs are really nice, and the backgrounds are really detailed and well drawn. The music was something from another planet. Yuzo Koshiro really did a splendid job remastering the songs from the first game into an orchestrated/live version of it for this game. I never turned the volume down or turned off the BGM throughout the whole time, and actually kept it at max volume while keeping the others down. You see, there are FOEs (strong bosses that roam the labyrinth) that cruise around, keeping you scared and alert, and they are really programmed well this game. The puzzles that you have to solve to avoid fighting them is really well designed, and some of the later stratums require a lot of thinking to avoid these nasty fights. The fighting system is as good as ever, with the inclusion of Grimoire Stones, which from what I know..are stones that contain enemy's (or human) skills that can be used if the weapon type is the same as the user......which can be confusing, but you'll learn more about it ingame~. The dungeons are wonderful as ever, the feeling you get from mapping is splendid, and the 3 difficulties you get from the beginning of the game are great for beginners and veterans (I chose the standard diff, fyi). The bosses are really tough, most of the time, and things get really intense, again, towards the end of the game. Definitely worth the effort of grinding~

    The Neutral: It's good that voice acting has been implemented more, but it may be nicer if more things were spoken. I felt that they only spoke 1 or 2 important lines in central parts of the story, and not really talking much in other "branches" of the story that I also felt were somewhat important. Again, although it's something that has never occurred in the franchise, I have always thought that a city hub would be nice (one that you could explore), but it seems you'll be stuck with menus for this game as well, which isn't exactly a problem. Another neutral thing is the grinding at the start of the game. You're really going to have to spend a bit of time (although it's easier in this game) grinding for a while to get a decent load of cash and skills/levels. The game is also a tad bit to the boring side for the first 10-20 hours, and after that - things really get awesome and super intense! (especially the story, but you'll have to wait it out for a while)

    The Bad: There isn't really much here that I can say...though there is one thing I can think of. It'd be nice if the game had more than 1 slot for saving, because after finishing story mode, I wanted to try Classic mode but I didn't want to delete my old file, so it kinda creates a problem for people like me who want to try out everything that's featured in the game without deleting anything.

    VS EOIV and Overall: Compared to EOIV, I'd say this is a better game to start with, but notice that it's definitely more difficult than EOIV - especially with endgame bosses and the last few stratums being very very difficult to beat and navigate through (and map). Although EOIV has the wonderful world system ("Lands") and Untold lacks it, I'd say that Untold still holds pretty well with EOIV. Of the two though, I'd say I like EOIV more by only a small percentage. I truly had a great experience with EO Untold, and hopefully this review can sway you (hopefully and RPG fan) to have the wonderful experience that I had whilst playing this game~

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Music: 10/10
    Presentation: 9/10
    Length/PostGame: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    Typical overrated Atlus trash. A game i should have liked, since i am an oldtime hardcore PC RPG fan, but if you think this game has anythingTypical overrated Atlus trash. A game i should have liked, since i am an oldtime hardcore PC RPG fan, but if you think this game has anything to do with the classics, you need to change your hobby and begin stamp collections.

    There is no challenge in this game. The gameplay mechanics are very simple and boring, all you have to do is grind like your life is worth nothing and you can throw hours upon hours in the garbage bin. Grind=win type of game, like most of Atlus trash, with a nice anime/manga presentation to appeal to the kiddies.

    Just avoid if you value your time.
    Full Review »