Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl is a first-person, map-making dungeon crawler for the Nintendo 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    91
    Again, there’s absolutely nothing here that’ll derail your enjoyment of the series if you’ve enjoyed Etrian Odyssey for quite some time. And you’re not likely to find a more perfect jumping on point if you have yet to experience the series.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    89
    As I said before, The Millennium Girl offers a fantastic opportunity for new players to dip their toes into Etrian Odyssey, as it provides the familiar sorts of characters we have grown to love in JRPGs while keeping intact the extremely strong foundations of the original game.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl is a fairly solid game. While the early going can be a bit rough since money might be more spent on healing than buying new weapons and armor, the game’s mechanics and Story Mode’s story elements still make for a fairly sold game. This is one that newcomers and veterans alike should enjoy.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Untold largely succeeds at marrying the series’ gameplay with a more narrative-driven adventure, creating a unique take on the traditional Etrian Odyssey formula, while the Classic mode ensures that longtime fans will not be alienated by the game’s new direction.
  5. May 1, 2014
    80
    A lengthy, and hugely enjoyable, first person dungeon romp.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    The original Etrian Odyssey is remade with refined customization, enchanting visuals, and an intriguing story.
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    Etrian Odyssey has never needed deeper or more developed plot, and the new parts of Millenium Girl are the least interesting ones. If you've played past games, there's little reason to jump into this latest entry — exploration is a lot less enticing when it's terrain you've already mapped before.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    A fantastic retelling of the original Etrian Odyssey. A lot of the newer features from Etrian Odyssey IV return here, and make the experienceA fantastic retelling of the original Etrian Odyssey. A lot of the newer features from Etrian Odyssey IV return here, and make the experience much more enjoyable. The Story mode adds an incentive to replay this journey even if you already have before. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This game is very similar to EO:4... but that is a good thing! I highly enjoyed this game, and for someone brand new to the series (first gameThis game is very similar to EO:4... but that is a good thing! I highly enjoyed this game, and for someone brand new to the series (first game was EO:4), I was glad to see another game in this series release on the 3DS. First person + RPG + variety of team dynamics = enormous win. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2016
    10
    I am in love with this game. That's, the short part.

    Now to the long one: I have played Etrian Odyssey since its first title came out. I
    I am in love with this game. That's, the short part.

    Now to the long one:

    I have played Etrian Odyssey since its first title came out. I have tried my best beating it, ended up cheating halfway through the game but deleted it as I ran past everything and it wasn't fun at all. Why am I mentioning this? Because Etrian Odyssey is hard. Etrian Odyssey is a game series based on exploration and preparing. One false step, one missed hit and its the end for you.

    The overall game is very much enjoyable. The graphics, mainly Anime-style, are very well drawn and you have a whole variety of them. About 4 for each class and additional ones for specific characters and NPCs.

    As you enter the game you are greeted with a beautiful sounding soundtrack that expands on the whole Labyrinth you will explore. However having played the original, the remakes just don't sound as good. They are still quite good though.

    And now we are already at the part that I love about this game. Everyone who has played this knows about the end of the game. Well "end". The big Twist about this game to be specific. And that is where the two new modes come into play. I myself already know the secrets and know whats coming for me but seeing how the characters in the story mode discover it for them-self makes it even better. It is like a Anime that you have to play along to unlock more and more the further you get. But of course the Story mode has a lot more to offer than the actual old classic mode. New maps, new quests and most importantly: New areas.

    This comes into play as I hear many people moaning about the fact that this game does not have a Over-world map. Correct me if I am wrong but I am pretty sure that the Over-world map came with later installments of the series. And as of right now I am very happy about the fact that they did not make a Over-world map. I see though where an Over-world map could come into play. it just wouldn't fit.

    If you want a challenging and interesting game to play than Etrian Odyssey, the series as a whole (except the Mystery Dungeon Spin-off) is a game you should play.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    While I find the story mode to have annoying characters and an intrusive story, the classic mode is top notch! Maybe it's not as good as EO4,While I find the story mode to have annoying characters and an intrusive story, the classic mode is top notch! Maybe it's not as good as EO4, because of the unnecessary third difficulty setting, but it's a fantastic game in its own right. Now...if only the 6th stratum wasn't so dang scary. Expand
  5. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games. 

    Danganronpa  Fire Emblem Atelier
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games. 

    Danganronpa 
    Fire Emblem
    Atelier Totori

    Firstly, you should know this review is of the story mode, not the classic mode. For those who don't know, this game has two modes to choose from when starting a game. The story mode is the one with a plot and voice acting. The classic mode is choosing your teams jobs from the start, unlike the story mode where you are given a party of five members and can only change their class after reaching level thirty. 

    THE BAD: 

    I found the ending to be disappointing in my opinion. It felt rushed and was very short. 

    Changing your class in story mode does not change the portrait of the character. So, if you change a defender to mage or whatever else, the picture will still show the defender turned mage still holding a shield and sword. Now, this isn't a major gripe of mine but I just wanted to mention it because it was one of the reasons I didn't change classes. 

    THE GOOD:

    MUSIC: The music was awesome. From slow piano to roaring guitar solo, it's in this game. I found myself nodding my head to some of the battle music.

    GRAPHICS: Graphics are good for 3DS. The dungeons are each unique, dessert, sea, forest, jungle, demolished city, it's all there. The dungeons were. nice to look at. Nothing ugly to say the least. 

    GAMEPLAY: The battle system is turn based and quite fun. Also,the level up system is great. Every time you gain a level, you get a point to distribute to a skill or Stat boost. So you can take your character in the direction you want to. Well, no heavy knight combined mage, but still. I felt it was very nicely done. 

    VOICE ACTING: The voice acting is great as well. Even Chie's voice actor from Persona 4 is in this game. 

    STORY: The dialogue wasn't overly childish as many other games I have played have been. The story was good. Just the ending was disappointing because it was too short. 

    CLOSING COMMENTS:

    I would recommend this game to anyone who is a hard core RPG gamer. Bear in mind this is a dungeon crawler and it's not for everyone. There were times when I would get slightly nauseated from the dungeon crawling. This isn't unusual for an RPG though but definently expect it from dungeon crawlers. Also note, if you are an adult and are looking for a more mature dungeon crawler, then check out Demon Gaze and Dungeon Travelers 2 for the PS Vita.

    That wraps it up, hope it helps.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2015
    8
    The remake of the first game in the series improves on many aspects, adds some new elements and areas and adds a story and differentThe remake of the first game in the series improves on many aspects, adds some new elements and areas and adds a story and different difficulties.

    What remains negative, is a bad, uncomfortable dungeon-design, a limited inventory, many craftable items that nobody in the story-party can use and a stupid auto-battle-ai, that attacks randomly and doesnt let the user set up any scripts.

    Speaking in scores, i would haven rated the original game with 70 points, while i rate the remake with 78 points
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Extremely similar to EO:4, which obviously isn't a bad thing, but I'd say this is the weaker of the two. No overworld maps like in 4, and tooExtremely similar to EO:4, which obviously isn't a bad thing, but I'd say this is the weaker of the two. No overworld maps like in 4, and too much of a same old feeling if you've come off finishing EO:4 last year.

    Its a good game. I just don't think I'll ever be compelled to finish it. 20 hours at this price before losing interest for another game isn't bad.
    Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews