Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. An impressive attempt to cram the full F1 season into a Nintendo 3DS.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    73
    The Challenges mode will keep petrolheads busy. [Feb 2012, p.100]
  3. 70
    F1 is definitely not for everyone. I probably won't get too much more play time out of it, since Mario Kart is also on my shelf, and that's more my speed. Still, the serious racing fan will likely get a kick out of this one.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    Its control fails at first, but at least we have plenty of options to customize it and obtain a positive feel. It also lacks more simulation options and a more interesting career mode, but if we forget this we can enjoy fun Formula One races.
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    The Nintendo 3DS version of F1 2011 delivers a good game for fans of the competition. It has some aspects that need to be polished, but overall is a good experience and a great way of enjoying F1 on a handheld system.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    65
    F1 experts have probably already been racing their way through the home console versions of this title since September. With the 3DS version's odd A.I., it's hard to recommend that Formula fans give this edition a go. Codemasters knows racing -- but when they pass off portable development to other teams, you've got to be wary.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    60
    A bad A.I. will keep most of the Formula 1 fans away from an, otherwise, discrete game.
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    60
    a stuttering start for F1 on the 3DS.
  9. Dec 5, 2011
    60
    Sumo Digital unsuccessfully tries to imitate the Codemasters F1 2011's success in a game that wants to be a simulator, but results a mediocre arcade with poor graphics that we can't recommend to fans.
  10. Dec 14, 2011
    55
    An incredible, for all the wrong reasons, AI literarly kills an otherwise surprising conversion.
  11. Jan 14, 2012
    45
    The makings of a great sim let down by terrible AI and scrappy graphics. [Christmas 2011, p.75]
  12. 40
    It's hard to recommend a version with so many problems. Sometimes it works well, but overall, it is a broken experience.
  13. Dec 12, 2011
    40
    Sumo Digital should be commended for its attempts to pack as much as humanely possible into a Nintendo 3DS game. However, despite its wealth of options, game modes and extras, F1 2011 fails where it counts most, on the race track.
  14. Dec 4, 2011
    40
    While its ambition should surely be commended and the time trials and multiplayer admittedly soften the blow somewhat, F1 2011 is, unfortunately, not the game to remedy matters. Unless you're a fan of frustrating ugly racers with brutally unrealistic and aggressive opponent AI, we advise that you steer well clear of it. Maybe next year, Codemasters will release the game that F1 fans deserve.
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    40
    There is some fun to be had from time trial, challenges and the tracks that work properly. And with the penalties switched off, it almost passes as some crazy, incident-filled version of F1. But if you're after an authentic racing sim on 3DS, best wait a little longer, cos this most certainly ain't it.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    This game is great for what is in my opinion it controls great it plays great and is great for a bit, but the season mode gets boring no one plays multiplayer and it feels cramped, this game should have ventured off on its own path but it didn't. The reason this is a 7 is because this wasn't meant to be ground breaking or astounding its a mobile version of a huge title and its great for short game sprees and to just relax with from time to time I say the gameplay is better than the console version Full Review »
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    I can't believe this game is so low-rated !?!?!? I don't give a 10 simply because I couldnt have the opportunity to test the multiplayer, otherwise, if you are a racing and/or Formula one fan, this is THE game to own on a portable system.
    The graphics are stunning, the mix between racing sim and arcade suits perfectly the system, and this game is full loaded of stuff to do. I already played 20 hours and I only completed like 15 % of the game. Please don't listen to these reviews and give F1 2011 a try, it really is worth it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    I don't see anything wrong with this game. It's really good! Even the graphics are nice regarding other racing games like "Ridge Racer 3D". We can feel the sensation of play a F-1 season. It surprised me and I'm very happy! Full Review »