Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    Most importantly, though, Fire Emblem: Awakening resembles a soap opera in how thoroughly addictive it can be. Once you get hooked on the combat and these characters and their stories, you'll feel the overpowering need to keep checking in on them. Instead of an hour a day, though, you can visit Fire Emblem at any time, pulling out your 3DS on the bus or on your lunch break or before dozing off at night.
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    During my time with Awakening, I always had a reaction to what was going on around me. My heart raced as I watched enemies close in on an injured character, and I found myself devastated if I executed an action that cost me the match. Awakening made me scratch and claw for victory, and I savored every moment.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    89
    After many years of stagnant design, the Fire Emblem franchise takes a huge step in sophistication with Awakening, probably the best strategy RPG on the 3DS and maybe in the genre, at least in recent years. Its amazing storytelling is only bested by perfect mechanics that nurture with relevant characters, each one unique in abilities, dialogue and personality. The well-crafted design finds perfect match in beautiful cinematics and orchestral music, everything creating an harmonious and epic experience.
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    85
    One of the best strategy RPG games of recent years, let down by a typically Japanese story and a couple of smaller niggles.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    85
    Once you dive into the campaign, you can’t take your hands off this turn-based tactic gem, despite some downfalls in the story department with its’ sometimes corny dialogues.
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    Fire Emblem Awakening is one of the best chapters in this historical Tactical RPG Saga.
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    85
    The fun, tactical combat, the character-driven relationships, and the greater feeling of freedom combine to make Awakening the best installment of this beloved series in a long time. Anyone looking for a fantastic strategy game or a long, engaging adventure perfect for on-the-go sessions should absolutely not overlook this gaming gem.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    85
    Developer Intelligent Systems has added just enough to the time-tested Fire Emblem formula to bolster its challenges without cutting away its roots.
  9. Jan 30, 2013
    85
    Nintendo has managed to lower the barrier to entry in Awakening while still preserving the core Fire Emblem experience. It takes positive strides forward with new additions like enhancements to the social system and battle mechanics, and the series' established formula is all the better for it. If you've been hard-up for a solid RPG on the 3DS, Awakening is precisely what you've been waiting for.
  10. May 2, 2013
    80
    Fire Emblem: Awakening is the most accessible Fire Emblem game to date, but still manages to stay true to its core. With a wealth of customization options, tons of characters to meet, pair up and develop, and a rock solid strategy RPG foundation, it is easily one of the best games on the 3DS today.
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    Fire Emblem: Awakening manages to be a game for both the die-hard fans of the series as well as a great introduction for new players. A couple of flaws in the story and presentation keeps it away from magnificence, but it’s still a worthy addition to any 3DS library.
  12. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    As a Fire Emblem newbie, then, I’m now a fully-fledged convert. Intelligent Systems has never shown a weakness in its strategical prowess, but the fact it also has strong storytelling and characterisation chops came as a pleasant, if not entirely unexpected, treat.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 857 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 204
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Great graphics with multiple art styles and a voice acting 2nd only to kid icarus It has the same formula as all the fire emblems you come toGreat graphics with multiple art styles and a voice acting 2nd only to kid icarus It has the same formula as all the fire emblems you come to love but gives you the choice to play on easy mode so beginners to the franchise can first get used to it then can play it harder, it even receives some great crafted dlc and wireless co-op mode to make t on of the greatest games in the 3ds library, that's allot to say considering you have mario 3d land and kid icarus. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    Simply amazing. Presentation, menus, graphics, gameplay, music and more, this game has it all. I love the sleek new look that they have givenSimply amazing. Presentation, menus, graphics, gameplay, music and more, this game has it all. I love the sleek new look that they have given everything and the gameplay has gone through a great new reboot. This game is incredibly addicting and doesn't cease to please any hardcore strategy RPG fan. I recommend playing on classic hard mode for your first playthrough, I wouldn't recommend doing casual mode unless that's your thing I guess. All in all, get this game if you have a 3DS. Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Easily a goty contender and it's portable! Get it now... It is everything that is fine in a srpg and so much more. Excelent in every aspect,Easily a goty contender and it's portable! Get it now... It is everything that is fine in a srpg and so much more. Excelent in every aspect, from character development to graphics... Full Review »