Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    90
    A slick physics-based puzzler and gorgeous to boot, Hydroventure: Spin Cycle needs a spot on your Nintendo 3DS.
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    90
    The 3DS eShop is home to some truly amazing titles, and Hydroventure: Spin Cycle is another upstanding addition to that stellar selection. It successfully builds on the foundations laid down by its WiiWare parent and delivers a physics-based puzzle experience which challenges the very best the genre has to offer.
  3. Look past the tilting troubles and Spin Cycle purifies Curve's original idea with its condensed puzzling. Plenty of plop for your buck, too.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    86
    Get your head around 360 degree puzzling and this'll bring a deluge of joy. [March 2013, p.87]
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    85
    Easy to learn and difficult to master, Fluidity: Spin Cycle may be an eShop exclusive, but it looks and plays like a full-fledged retail release. If you have even the slightest interest in physics-based puzzle games, add this one to your download list ASAP.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    85
    Hydroventure Spin Circle maintains the high quality of the original chapter in 60 levels of fun.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    85
    Frustrating at the beginning, after a little while we'll get used to the gameplay mechanics and then, we will be able yo enjoy this puzzle game. It's quite entertaining and challenging, and thus, recommended for those looking for this kind of experiences on 3DS.
  8. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    A physics-based puzzle game that really deserves your attention and room on your 3DS.
  9. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    Fluidity: Spin Cycle offers up hours of uncompromising puzzle fun. The only downside is a control scheme that isn't as comfortable and streamlined as the Wiimote.
  10. 80
    Check it out if you want some straightforward water-platforming action, but if you were expecting layered, explorable worlds, Fluidity: Spin Cycle isn't that.
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    80
    Hydroventure: Spin Cycle is a great physics puzzle game, but the overall value seems a bit reduced by the uncomfortable use of the 3DS hardware. However, fans of the genre should really check it out.
  12. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    Another inspired mix of Metroidvania and traditional puzzler, and certainly one of the best games on the 3DS's eShop.
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    A nice puzzle platformer, which is not as easy as you might imagine looking at its art style. Pricey, but good.
  14. Jan 28, 2013
    75
    Spin Cycle offers a lot of unique and tough puzzles for a low price. Although it has its defects, it manages to entertain you.
  15. Jan 31, 2013
    60
    So Fluidity: Spin Cycle feels like a hardware/gameplay mismatch on the 3DS, and the awkwardness of its controls keep it from ranking as one of the portable eShop's best purchases.
  16. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    Hydroventure: Spin Cycle is a fresh puzzle game, whose many uses of water never ceases to entertain, despite some bad turns from time to time. The game has a steady progression and clever puzzles which keep your mind constantly occupied, while not being overly complex, thus making for an overall rewarding experience.
  17. Dec 20, 2012
    60
    Admittedly, there's little here to quicken the pulse, and some of later objectives are troublingly fiddly, with sensitive motion controls and increasingly intricate level design proving uncomfortable bedfellows. But otherwise this is an unusually clever, polished and robust eShop release that offers several hours' worth of dizzy delights.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    When I first got this, I thought, "Oh, what the hell, I have money to spare. The game'll probably be a piece of crap, but oh well, I'll buy itWhen I first got this, I thought, "Oh, what the hell, I have money to spare. The game'll probably be a piece of crap, but oh well, I'll buy it anyway." Then I played it, and guess what? It was actually super fun! Full Review »