Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The greatest character and planet creation kit ever. If the exploration had been better this would be gold but then you'd probably be paying £30 for it.
  2. 85
    It's charming, especially when you combine that with the bizarre babble voices. I can't get enough of this game, and I doubt you'll be able to either. It's definitely worth the trip to the eShop.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    Creative souls will have a blast with Freakyforms's tools, while those looking for a game may find it a bit too simplistic and repetitive.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Gamers who aren't artistic or don't like the childish aesthetic should stay away, while the repetitive exploration segments and control issues are negatives for anyone.
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    70
    Eccentric enough to make fans imagine if its theme was inspired by a microgame from WarioWare, Freakyforms is the perfect activity to fill those useless minutes in the waiting room or on the bus.
  6. Jan 12, 2012
    66
    Watching creations take their first wobbly steps is a great laugh - lucky, as there's not much else to do. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  7. Jan 14, 2012
    60
    A novel creation tool, which should give rise to any number of inspired (read: terrifying) creations. [Christmas 2011, p.80]
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, Freakyforms is a game of two halves. Playing mad scientist in the creature creator is fun and it's a great reward seeing your monsters come to life. The problem comes from what to do next. I know that when I was a boy, I envisioned my legion of monsters doing a lot more than gathering knick knacks.
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    60
    And so it is that Freakyforms still leaves me scratching my head, even five months later. You're welcome to try it for yourself to see if you have better luck at understanding its madness, but I'd recommend most 3DS owners save the seven bucks to spend on surer bets.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At te beginning, te game is cold. I mean, not THAT cool... but a little time playing and you will understand how addictive it is. I'm 14 and I can't stop playing this on my 3DS! My sister, cousin, my friends... all of them loved the game! And they are all like my age... And the game was made for kids! Now think how KIDS would like the game... Totally recommended! Even if you're not a kid! ^^ Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    freakyforms is fun because you can get coins create new things and make creations come alive it is cool to see how things come from fake to real. I like this game because it is fun to play with. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Am keeping this short and sweet. The creation mode in freakyforms is top-notch easy to use and full of potential. The most creative users will create anything & everything they can imagine. Sadly actual gameplay is less than exciting. But game does use streetpass and has lots of content. Remember this is 3DSware title and its only £5.40 which in my eyes is freaky good download:) Full Review »